LibGuides: TESL 451: Bilingualism and Language Use in Multicultural Settings: Home

EDUCATION STATISTICS

Sage Data A vast collection of statistical data covering U.S. and international topics across multiple disciplines.
Sage Data provides access to billions of datasets from public, private, and nongovernmental sources. Content covers business, economics, sociology, politics, and more. Users can create customized views and visualizations of data. This resource supports quantitative research and data-driven analysis across fields.

Digest of Education Statistics A compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from pre-k through graduate school.
The Condition of Education Educational indicators, assessments for all grade levels, surveys, and much more.
EDSTATS Data from a variety of national and international sources and provides information on key education topics.
Lost Opportunity: A 50 State Report on the Opportunity to Learn A state-by-state comparison of both academic proficiency (as illustrated by the percentage of students scoring at or above proficient on the eighth grade National Assessment of Educational Progress - NAEP reading exam) and access to high-performing schools.
Education at a Glance 2018 Education at a Glance: OECD Indicators is the authoritative source for accurate information on the state of education around the world. It provides data on the output of educational institutions; the impact of learning across countries; the financial and human resources invested in education; access, participation and progression in education; and the learning environment and organisation of schools. The 2015 edition introduces more detailed analysis of participation in early childhood and tertiary levels of education. The report also examines first generation tertiary-educated adults’ educational and social mobility, labour market outcomes for recent graduates, and participation in employer-sponsored formal and/or non-formal education. Readiness to use information and communication technology for problem solving in teaching and learning is also examined. The publication provides indicators on the impact of skills on employment and earnings, gender differences in education and employment, and teacher and school leader appraisal systems. The report covers all 34 OECD countries and a number of partner countries (Argentina, Brazil, China, Colombia, India, Indonesia, Latvia, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia and South Africa, and for the first time, Costa Rica and Lithuania). The Excel™ spreadsheets used to create the tables and charts in Education at a Glance are available via the StatLinks provided throughout the publication.
OECD on Education Resources for pre-k to and beyond plus teacher salary information.
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas. Assessments are conducted periodically in mathematics, reading, science, writing, the arts, civics, economics, geography, and U.S. history.
The School District Demographics System The Education Demographic and Geographic Estimates (EDGE) program develops information resources to identify and understand the social and spatial context of education in the U.S. It uses data from the U.S. Census Bureau’s American Community Survey to create custom indicators of social, economic, and housing conditions for school-age children and their parents. It also uses spatial data collected by NCES and the Census Bureau to create geographic locale indicators, school point locations, school district boundaries, and other types of educational geography to support spatial analysis.

LIBRARY RESOURCES

Kanopy A streaming video platform offering a curated collection of educational films and documentaries.
Kanopy provides access to thousands of films including documentaries, educational content, and classic cinema. The collection includes content from the Criterion Collection and leading educational producers. Videos support curriculum needs across academic disciplines. This platform serves both classroom instruction and independent learning.

Best Practices in ELL Instruction by Guofang Li (Editor); Patricia A. Edwards (Editor); Lee Gunderson (Foreword by)
Call Number: PE1128.A2 B47 2010
ISBN: 9781606236628
Publication Date: 2010-04-24
Effective Instruction for English Language Learners by Julie Jacobson; Kelly Johnson; Diane Lapp
Call Number: PE1128.A2 J34 2011
ISBN: 9781609182526
Publication Date: 2011-04-27
Language, Power and Pedagogy by Jim Cummins
Call Number: LC3719 .C86 2000
ISBN: 1853594733
Publication Date: 2000-10-16
Academic Language for English Language Learners and Struggling Readers by Yvonne Freeman; David E. Freeman; Yvonne S. Freeman
Call Number: PE1128.A2 F743 2009
ISBN: 9780325011363
Publication Date: 2008-10-31
Scaffolding Language, Scaffolding Learning, Second Edition by Pauline Gibbons
Call Number: PE1128.A2 G48 2015
ISBN: 9780325056647
Publication Date: 2014-10-08
Teaching English Language Learners by Michaela Wyman Colombo
Call Number: PE1128.A2 C673 2012
ISBN: 9781412980296
Publication Date: 2011-03-08

Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages "TESOL is a global association for English language teaching professionals." from their website
Center for Applied Linguistics "The Center for Applied Linguistics is dedicated to providing a comprehensive range of research-based information, tools, and resources related to language and culture. CAL is a private, nonprofit organization working to improve communication through better understanding of language and culture." from their website
Linguistics Society of America "The Linguistic Society of America (LSA) was founded in 1924 to advance the scientific study of language. LSA plays a critical role in supporting and disseminating linguistic scholarship both to professional linguists and to the general public." from their website
National Clearinghouse for English Language Acquisition "NCELA collects, analyzes, synthesizes and disseminates information about language instruction educational programs for English language learners and related programs. It is funded by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of English Language Acquisition, Language Enhancement & Academic Achievement for Limited English Proficient Students (OELA) under Title III of the No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act of 2001." from their website
TESL Journal Articles, Research Papers, Lessons Plans, Classroom Handouts, Teaching Ideas & Links from their website
Speech Accent Archive "The speech accent archive uniformly presents a large set of speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds. Native and non-native speakers of English read the same paragraph and are carefully transcribed. The archive is used by people who wish to compare and analyze the accents of different English speakers." from their website
10 Resources for ESL & Foreign Language Students Ten of the better resources for ESL & foreign language students as reviewed by the Free Technology for Teachers website.
Class Base Classbase is an online education database providing information on education systems and academic institutions around the world.

Evaluating Sources
by Lena Kilburn Last Updated Mar 5, 2025 893 views this year

Liaison Librarian

Linda Schuller

Email Me

Contact:

E-111

617.521.2767

Subjects: Africana Studies, Behavior Analysis, Business, Communications, East Asian Studies, Economics, Education, French, Health Care Administration, Health Informatics, History, International Relations, Library & Information Science, Political Science, Psychology, Spanish