Skip to main content

Children's Literature and Librarianship: Articles & Book Reviews

Recommended Databases for Library & Information Science

Below is a selection of online resources that include a vast number of articles on topics in Library & Information Science.

Recommended Databases for Reviews of Children's Books

Below is a selection of online resources that include a vast number of reviews of titles in children's and young adult literature.

Developing Search Terms

The first step in picking a topic is to brainstorm by asking yourself a few questions.  What do you already know about this topic from your course readings?  Are there similar ideas that you might want to explore?  What are the key concepts that you're interested in pursuing? Once you've spent a bit of time answering these questions, you can take the concepts you've identified and use the keywords and phrases to start searching for information.

Database Search Strategies

Databases respond best to keyword searching.  To search efficiently, turn your research question into a keyword search:

Research Question:  How do children's librarians choose appropriate titles for public library collections?

Search One: (Search with keywords connected by “and”):
children and public and library and collection

Search Two: (Truncate some of the keywords using *):
child* and public and librar* and collect*

Search Three: (Add alternate words into the search with “(or)”):
public and librar* and (collect* or acqui*) and (child* or young adult or teen* or adolescen*)

Truncate keywords where applicable.  Truncation uses the asterisk (*) to end a word at its core, allowing you to retrieve many more documents containing variations of the search term.  Truncation can also be used to find the singular and plural forms of a term.  Example: educat* will find educate, educates, education, educators, educating and more.

 Librar*

 Collect*

 Teen*

 

 Will Find:

 Library
 Libraries
 Librarians
 Librarian
 Librarianship
 

 Collect
 Collects
 Collection
 Collections
 Collecting

 Teen
 Teens
 Teenage
 Teenager
 Teenagers

From a Citation to Full Text (APA)