Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's In This Guide
Use the tabs above or the links below to navigate this guide. And remember, Help! is only a click away!
Recommended Web Resources
There are a lot of great resources on the web where you can find information about Children's Literature. Hover your mouse over the links to find out what they contain. Have fun exploring!
How to Use This Guide
Welcome to the Simmons Library guide to resources for Children's Literature and Librarianship. Use the links in the table of contents or the tabs at the top of the page to find definitions, topic overviews, books, articles and more that will help you with your research.
If you don't find what you are looking for or need help navigating this guide, don't hesitate to contact the author of this guide or Ask a Librarian.
Good luck with your research!
Getting to Know Your Topic
Reference sources--like dictionaries and subject encyclopedias--provide overviews of topics and descriptions of concepts and ideas. They can also provide definitions, statistics and other details. You can use this type of source to help narrow your research topic, find data to support your thesis and identify keywords and main ideas to use as search terms. Below is a selection of online reference resources in Children's Literature, but keep in mind that the library also has a wide array of relevant titles in the print collection. Search the library catalog to find more!
Credo Reference is a searchable collection of over 500 reference books across a wide variety of subjects from top publishers, including relevant titles such as The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature, The Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English, Keywords for Children's Literature and more.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
This collection aims to document and interpret the books read by children in the English-speaking world and includes brief biographies of major authors and illustrators and essays on genres, themes, trends and traditions in children's literature.
Picture Book Database
This resource help you to bring readers and picture books together, helping you find the best picture books in one place, without having to consult multiple resources. Picture Book Database combines data from dozens of online and print sources, thousands of picture books, and countless publisher, author, and illustrator websites.
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Sciences
This encyclopedia reflects the growing convergence among the several disciplines that concern themselves with information and the cultural record and covers archives, museum studies, informatics, information systems, knowledge management, records management, document and genre theory, bibliography, and social studies of information, in addition to library and information science.
Databases on Your Topic: Library and Information Science
Books: In-depth Information on Your Topic
Books are a great source of in-depth information on a topic. Use a simple keyword search to locate information on a particular topic. You can also look for specific books by title or for books by an individual author or browse the stacks by call number.
Helpful Simmons Resources