Bookbuilders of BostonBookbuilders of Boston is a nonprofit organization dedicated to bringing together people involved in book publishing and manufacturing throughout New England. Along with its publications and activities, this site is designed to provide information and resources for publishing professionals.
An Introduction to Children's Book PublishingChildren's book publishing generally operates very separately from adult publishing, even within the same publishing house and there are unique considerations for those who want a career in the children's publishing industry--whether as an children's author or illustrator, or as a kid's editor, bookseller or librarian.
MFA Day JobInstead of focusing on jobs that use skills imparted specifically by an MFA degree program–those skills vary widely, and some detractors would argue they don’t exist at all–why not dedicate a space to careers and jobs that require the skills, personalities, and passions of the people who happen to get MFAs?
Rachelle Burk's Resources for Children's WritersNew Jersey children's author, Rachelle Burk, provides these Resources for Writers for anyone who wants to write for children and see their work in print. You will find resources to improve your writing, network with other children's writers, and get your work published.
Children's Literature PhD ProgramsA PhD in Children's Literature can provide individuals with an extensive background in the various elements of character, style and plotting that make up children's novels and stories. Graduates of PhD programs in literature often go on to become university professors, although they are also suitable for positions in children's advocacy groups, literacy groups, research organizations or publishing firms specializing in children's books. There are a handful of schools around the country offering PhDs in the subject.
MLA Guide to Doctoral Programs in English and Other Modern LanguagesThis interactive database put out by The Modern Language Association allows you to search for information on PhD programs in English, Comp. Lit, and other languages by numerous categories (focus areas, location, provision of health insurance, masters status, etc.). Includes details on admission, course requirements, tuition, fellowships, and more.
Asian American Arts AllianceThe Asian American Arts Alliance is a nonprofit organization dedicated to ensuring greater representation, equity, and opportunities for Asian American artists and cultural organizations through resource sharing, promotion, and community building.
Association for Library Service to ChildrenThe Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) is the world's largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. From creative programming and best practices to continuing education and professional connections—ALSC members are innovators in the field of children's library service.
Children's Book CouncilThe Children’s Book Council (CBC) is the national nonprofit trade association of children’s book publishers, dedicated to supporting and informing the industry and fostering literacy.
Children's Literature AssemblyCLA is an affiliate of the National Council of Teachers of English and focuses on research use of children's literature in the classroom. CLA publishes a bi-annual journal of research, articles, biographies of authors and illustrators all related to children's literature.
Children's Literature AssociationThe Children’s Literature Association (ChLA) is a non-profit association of scholars, critics, professors, students, librarians, teachers and institutions dedicated to the academic study of literature for children. For our members, children’s literature includes books, films, and other media created for, or adopted by, children.
Modern Language AssociationFounded in 1883 by teachers and scholars, the MLA promotes the study and teaching of language and literature.
Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators (SCBWI)SCBWI is specifically for authors and illustrators of children and young adult books. SCBWI offers networking through online forums, two annual conferences, and regional chapters. Members also receive newsletters about current events, access to databases of authors and illustrators and discounts from various companies and vendors.
Beacon PressBeacon Press is an independent publisher of non-fiction and fiction. Their books aim to change the way readers think about fundamental issues; they promote such values as freedom of speech and thought; diversity, religious pluralism, and anti-racism; and respect for diversity in all areas of life.
Boston BalletBoston Ballet, the fourth-largest dance company in the United States, offers internships for undergraduate and graduate students who are interested in arts administration and nonprofit organizations. Positions are unpaid and are available throughout the academic year or during the summer.
Candlewick PressLocated in Somerville, MA, Candlewick Press is "staunchly independent and single-mindedly focused on one simple aspiration: creating and publishing the very best stories for children and young readers on the market."
CBS Boston Internship ProgramInternships at CBS Boston are offered to college sophomores, juniors and seniors, as well as graduate students who are interested in a career in broadcasting. Typically participants major in communications or journalism, but broadcasting is comprehensive enough to interest students who major in English, History, Political Science, Fine Arts, Marketing, Computer Science, and other studies.
Charlesbridge PublishingLocated in Watertown, MA, Charlesbridge publishes high-quality books for children, with a goal of creating lifelong readers and lifelong learners.
David R. Godine, PublisherGodine's list stands apart by offering original fiction and non-fiction of the highest rank, rediscovered masterworks, translations of outstanding world literature, poetry, art, photography, and beautifully designed books for children. Godine offers general internships designed to expose students and recent graduates to the full range of the operations of an independent publishing house. Interns are hired for Fall, Spring, and Summer terms.
WBUR: Boston's NPR StationThe goal of WBUR is to provide its interns with a substantive, meaningful work experience so that each intern concludes the internship period with demonstrable skills in his/her area of interest, plus a knowledge of public radio, in general. All of WBUR’s internship positions are unpaid. Intern candidates must be a matriculated undergraduate or graduate student, or have earned a higher degree within twelve months of beginning the internship.
WGBH Educational FoundationWGBH informs, inspires, and entertains millions of people throughout New England - at home, at work, in the classroom, in movie theaters, and more. It offers many internships opportunities, all for college credit, and unpaid.
AuthorLinkPartners with Monster.com to provide national media and publishing job listings from the larger database. Authorlink also features tips on getting published
BookJobs.comA comprehensive resource for finding jobs and internships in the publishing industry.
Boston Craigslist: Writing/Editing JobsThis community website posts writing/editing jobs in the Boston area on a daily basis. Can also view similar job postings in other major metropolitan areas.
The Purple CrayonCreated by a children's book editor, this site includes articles and other materials about how to publish a children's book. Over the years, the site has grown and now includes articles contributed by other people, covering writing, illustrating, marketing, and editing.
COCIS JoblineYour source at Simmons for professional, pre-professional, and internship positions in libraries.
Sunoasis JobsSearch engine for writing jobs, broken down into various categories such as by region, freelance or online postings.
UpworkFind work as a freelancer in web development, design, writing, customer service, sales and marketing, and other areas.