Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About This Guide
Browse information about careers, jobs, internships, education and networking in Libraries & Archives.
Internship Courses at SLIS
Students in the School Library Teacher Program and Archives Management Concentration complete internships or practica as part of their required coursework. All SLIS students also have the opportunity to complete an internship as part of their course of study by taking LIS 512 -Advanced Field Experience in LIS. Internships may also be posted on the SLIS Jobline.
Find a Job
Academic360.com is a meta-collection of Internet resources that have been gathered for the academic job hunter. It includes links to over 3,000 faculty, staff and administrative announcements and is not restricted to teaching positions.
Against the Grain: Job Bank
Find professional career opportunities around the country posted at Against the Grain, which includes the latest news about libraries, publishers, book jobbers, and subscription agents.
A job bank and resource center maintained by the ALA.
American Association of Law Libraries Career Center
Includes job opportunities in law libraries across the country.
Periodically updated blog of recent archives-related job postings. Contains descriptions for positions in the United States and beyond. Users can also sort postings using the tags attached to each job description.
Association of Research Libraries: Job/Residency/Intership Listings
This page includes current job, residency, and internship opportunities submitted by academic and research libraries and related institutions.
A very useful website that provides all types of librarian job postings, including postings that move beyond traditional librarianship.
Library Journal Job Zone
Job Zone for Library Journal and School Library Journal enables you to locate and apply to jobs, manage your company profile, post and edit your own job listings, and allows job seekers to apply directly via the site.
Library of Congress Opportunities
The Library of Congress offers many exciting opportunities for those seeking employment, internships or fellowships, or volunteer positions. Learn about all of these opportunities and working for the federal government at this site.
Maine Library Jobs
From the Maine State Library, use this tool to search for jobs in Maine by position type, either MLS (Master of Library Science) or non-MLS or by library type (Academic, Public, School, or Special).
Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners (MBLC): Library Jobs
The Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners maintains job listings for library-related jobs in Massachusetts. Professional librarians, paraprofessionals, and those interested in clerical or library assistant work can all find possible job leads here.
Massachusetts School Library Association Job Listings
Job postings around the state for school librarians and media specialists.
Medical Library Association Job Listings
Includes job postings and other career information.
Provides serials-related job announcements and other resources.
New England Higher Education Recruitment Consortium
HERC is a non-profit consortium of over 600 colleges, universities, hospitals, research labs, government agencies, and related non- and for-profit organizations. Consortium members share a commitment to hiring the most diverse and talented faculty, staff, and executives.
New Hampshire Library Jobline
A New Hampshire-based job bank for librarians, updated once a week.
Rhode Island Office of Library & Information Services Jobline
OLIS Jobline posts library jobs in Rhode Island and New England; postings for other states may occasionally be included.
Simmons COCIS Jobline
Your source at Simmons for professional, pre-professional, and internship positions in libraries and archives in New England and around the country.
Society of American Archivists Online Career Center
Provides a free and confidential resume posting service, job listings, job agents to receive updates, and a secure account to preview applications before applying as well as to save job announcements to a personal folder.
Special Libraries Association Job Listings
Job bank and other job hunting assistance.
ACRL Residency Interest Group
This interest group of the Association of College and Research Libraries aims to centralize information and maintain a directory of residency programs.
ARL Job/Residency/Internship Listings
From the Association of Research Libraries, this is a searchable database of job, residency, and internship opportunities submitted by academic and research libraries and related institutions.
Art Libraries Society of North America: Internships Roster
Browse for intership opportunities in Art, Architecture, & Design Libraries and Visual Resource Centers throughout North America.
"The Boston Athenæum is one of the oldest and most distinguished independent libraries and cultural institutions in the United States" and periodically offers internships and fellowships.
John F. Kennedy Library: Jobs, Internships & Volunteers
The John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum and the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation offer numerous opportunities for employment, internships, and volunteering. Job postings are updated regularly.
Library of Congress: Internships and Fellowships
This page includes a searchable database of the many internship, fellowship, and volunteer program opportunities throughout the Library of Congress. Select your interests and qualifications, select the "Search" button, and view the programs at the bottom of the screen.
National Archives: Presidential Libraries Internship Opportunities
Three types of internships may be available at Presidential Libraries located across the country. In some Library internships, elements from two or more of the listed internships may be combined.
National Digital Stewardship Residency
Sponsored by the Library of Congress, residents of the NDSR program have the opportunity to develop, apply, and advance their digital stewardship knowledge and skills in real-world settings.
National Park Service: Jobs for Students
There are thousands of opportunities for high school, college, and graduate school students to work with the National Park Service, including at the Adams National Historical Park in Quincy, MA.
North American Library Residency and Fellowship Programs
A map of active library residency and fellowship programs throughout the U.S. and Canada with links to their respective websites for more information. Please check directly with each institution to confirm program status.
Simmons COCIS Jobline
Your source at Simmons for professional, pre-professional, and internship positions in libraries and archives in New England and around the country.
American Association of Law Libraries (AALL)
The American Association of Law Libraries was founded in 1906 to promote and enhance the value of law libraries to the legal and public communities, to foster the profession of law librarianship, and to provide leadership in the field of legal information. Today, with nearly 5,000 members, the Association represents law librarians and related professionals who are affiliated with a wide range of institutions: law firms; law schools; corporate legal departments; courts; and local, state, and federal government agencies.
American Library Association (ALA)
The American Library Association (ALA) is the oldest and largest library association in the world, providing association information, news, events, and advocacy resources for members, librarians, and library users.
Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA)
ARLIS/NA is a dynamic organization of over 1,000 individuals devoted to fostering excellence in art and design librarianship and image management.
Association for Library and Information Science Education (ALISE)
ALISE's mission is to promote innovation and excellence in research, teaching, and service for educators and scholars in Library and Information Science and cognate disciplines internationally through leadership, collaboration, advocacy, and dissemination of research.
Association of Independent Information Professionals (AIIP)
As a leading voice of the independent information industry, AIIP is an essential resource for its more than 400 info entrepreneur members located in over 20 countries around the world.
Association of Research Libraries (ARL)
The Association of Research Libraries (ARL) is a nonprofit organization of 125 research libraries at comprehensive, research institutions in the US and Canada that share similar research missions, aspirations, and achievements.
Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA)
The Black Caucus of the American Library Association serves as an advocate for the development, promotion, and improvement of library services and resources to the nation's African American community; and provides leadership for the recruitment and professional development of African American librarians.
Connecticut Library Association (CLA)
Connecticut's professional organization of librarians, library staff, friends, and trustees working together: to improve library service to Connecticut, to advance the interests of librarians, library staff, and librarianship, and to increase public awareness of libraries and library services.
International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA) and Institutions Listserv
IFLA-L is an electronic mailing list that brings you: news and information relevant to the international library sector; a forum of general interest to the international library community; congress updates; announcements; newsletters; and new publications.
Library Information Technology Association (LITA)
As the center of expertise about information technology, the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA) leads in exploring and enabling new technologies to empower libraries. LITA members use the promise of technology to deliver dynamic library collections and services.
Maine Library Association
The Maine Library Association was established in 1891 to promote library interest in the State of Maine. Over the years, MLA’s membership has grown to over 400 librarians, support staff and library supporters.
Massachusetts Library Association (MLA)
The MLA was founded in 1890 to advocate for libraries and librarians across the Commonwealth by providing leadership, legislative advocacy, professional development, networking opportunities and the defense of intellectual freedom.
Massachusetts School Library Association
The MSLA is organized for the purpose of providing education, training, information, and assistance to students, teachers, and librarians in the area of library media programs and educational technologies.
Medical Library Association (MLA)
The MLA's mission is to enhance and expand the knowledge and skills of health information professionals; advocate new directions and roles for the profession that respond to changing health needs in society; advance health information research and evidence-based practice; and uphold and promote the Code of Ethics for Health Sciences Librarians.
Music Library Association (MLA)
The MLA encourages and promotes the activities of music libraries, archives and documentation centers in supporting and facilitating the realization of projects in music bibliography, music documentation and music library and information science at national and international levels.
National Association of Government Archives and Records Administrators (NAGARA)
The National Association of Government Archives and Records Administrators is a professional association dedicated to the improvement of federal, state, and local government records and information management and the professional development of government records administrators and archivists.
New England Archivists
New England Archivists is a regional organization of people who organize, describe, preserve, and provide access to historical records in a variety of formats. It offers educational opportunities and provides venues for professional and volunteer archivists to gather and share experiences with colleagues.
New England Library Association (NELA)
The New England Library Association is a regional organization whose membership represents a wide range of library‑related interests. Its objectives are to initiate, plan and support regional activities; to encourage the exchange of ideas; and to cooperate with regional and national agencies having related interests.
New Hampshire Library Association (NHLA)
NHLA is a professional association of library personnel, trustees, and library supporters whose purpose is to advance the interests of its members through advocacy on library issues and increasing public awareness of library service and to support the professional development of its members.
REFORMA: The National Association to Promote Library & Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish Speaking
REFORMA has actively sought to promote the development of library collections to include Spanish-language and Latino oriented materials; the recruitment of more bilingual and bicultural library professionals and support staff; the development of library services and programs that meet the needs of the Latino community; the establishment of a national information and support network among individuals who share our goals; the education of the U.S. Latino population in regards to the availability and types of library services; and lobbying efforts to preserve existing library resource centers serving the interests of Latinos.
Rhode Island Library Association (RILA)
The Rhode Island Library Association is a professional association of Librarians, Library Staff, Trustees, and library supporters whose purpose is to promote the profession of librarianship and to improve the visibility, accessibility, responsiveness and effectiveness of library and information services throughout Rhode Island.
Society of American Archivists (SAA)
The Society of American Archivists is North America's oldest and largest national archival professional association. SAA promotes the values and diversity of archives and archivists. They are the preeminent source of professional resources and the principal communication hub for American archivists.
Special Libraries Association (SLA)
The Special Libraries Association (SLA) is a nonprofit global organization for innovative information professionals and their strategic partners.
Vermont Library Association (VLA)
The Vermont Library Association (VLA) is an educational organization working to develop, promote, and improve library and information services and librarianship in the state of Vermont.
7 Options for Flexible LIS Careers
Create a rewarding career in LIS that fits with your schedule and interests.
ALA: Academic Interview Process
A detailed article by by Nanako Kodaira from American Library Association. Describes what job seekers should do once at the interview, but also the do's and don'ts of before meeting employers, as well as how to professional conclude the interview process.
ALA International Relations Office
Provides information on library employment and foreign credentials, international associations/organizations/conferences, awards/grants/exchanges and more about ALA's international activities.
ALA Library Job Search Tools
This page from the ALA lists specialized associations and groups for job hunting, including placement firms.
Finding a Non-Traditional Career Path
Part of a series of posts from the Special Library Association, this article offers advice to LIS professionals who might be interested in non-traditional career paths.
Getting Started with Placement Agencies
This page from San Jose State University includes a large amount of helpful information, from tips for working with placement agencies to lists and links to library-focused agencies.
Hiring Librarians' Library Interview Question "Database"
Questions and answers from actual librarian interviews for all job levels, position types, and library types.
Hitting the Trifecta: Alternative Career Paths for Those with an MLS
Covers alternate careers for those with MLS degrees; panelists presented the path their careers took after library school.
Library Journal Placements & Salaries
Find information from Library Journal on the salaries and placements of LIS grads in 2017.
Library and Technology Jobs Resume Resources
A very thorough page from Florida State's College of Communication and Information.
Non-Traditional Jobs for Librarians
From the ALA, a list of nontraditional career paths for librarians (e.g. librarians could work in the usability, competitive research, and database administration fields).
Maintained by the School of Information Sciences at the University of Tennessee, this page provides a list of library-related recruitment agencies.
So You Want to Be an Archivist: An Overview of the Archives Profession
An overview of the profession from the Society of American Archivists.
Society of American Archivists Jobs
Keep up with the latest job listings from the Society of American Archivists. Go to the SAA's Online Career Center to search for positions by location, institution type, job category, years of experience and much more.
ALA-APA Salary Survey
Call Number: Reference Z682.3 .A42 2012
Data for public libraries serving populations under 10,000 to more than 500,000 and community college, four-year college, and university libraries.
ARL Annual Salary Survey
Call Number: E-Book
This report analyzes salary data for all professional staff working in the 125 ARL member libraries during FY2014–2015.
SLA Annual Salary Survey
Call Number: Z682.3 .S58 2012
Average salary breakdowns separated by 21 primary job responsibilities, job title, geographic region, company size, years of experience, and more.