LibGuides: Gender & Cultural Studies: Primary Resources

NEED PRIMARY SOURCES?

Primary sources are original, uninterpreted information, such as firsthand accounts of events in letters, diaries, interviews, or historical news reportage.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 - 2000 A comprehensive collection documenting women's activism and social movements throughout U.S. history.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 - 2000 combines primary sources, books, images, and scholarly commentary on women's social movements. Content covers four centuries of women's social activism and reform activities. Materials include organizational records and personal papers. This resource is valuable for research in women's history and social movements.

Schlesinger Library Find books, manuscripts, photographs, periodicals, and audiovisual materials, and periodicals which reveal the wide range of women's activities in the United States and abroad from the early nineteenth century to the present.
Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement
Discovering American Women's History Online This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. Use this guide to identify digital collections by topic.
North American Slave Narratives UNC Library
Women Working,1800-1930 Part of the Open Collections Program at Harvard University Library, this is a great place to look for primary sources of women working in the late eighteenth, early nineteenth century. The digitized collection includes: books, pamphlets, images and some manuscripts. It is easy to browse or search the collection.
American Memory American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Queer Zine Archive Project The mission of the Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) is to establish a "living history" archive of past and present queer zines and to encourage current and emerging zine publishers to continue to create. In curating such a unique aspect of culture, we value a collectivist approach that respects the diversity of experiences that fall under the heading "queer."
Digital Collections from the Sallie Bingham Center at Duke Collections of materials on the Women's Liberation Movement, African American women's experiences under slavery, and Civil War women. The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture acquires, preserves and makes available to a large population of researchers published and unpublished materials that reflect the public and private lives of women, past and present.

ArchiveGrid ArchiveGrid connects you with primary source material held in archives around the world. You will find historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. ArchiveGrid also helps researchers contact archives to request information, arrange a visit, and order copies.
ArchiveGrid connects researchers with unique historical collections from libraries, museums, and archives. The database provides detailed information about archival repositories, including contact information, access policies, and collection descriptions. Coverage includes personal papers, organizational records, and historical documents. This resource is invaluable for historical research, genealogy, and primary source discovery.

The Victorian Web Primary and secondary texts (including scholarly book reviews) in British Victorian economics, literature, philosophy, political and social history, science, technology, and visual arts.

WOMEN IN WORLD HISTORY PROJECT

Women in World History is a project of The Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University received funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities that presents reviews and evaluations of web resources and primary source collections on women's history. It is a useful guide to students, researchers, and teachers of women's history. Browse by Reviews, Primary Resources, Analyzing, Modules, Case Studies, and Forums, or search for relevant resources, or search below: