LibGuides: International Relations: Books & International Agreements

Books & Government Documents

ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law: Treaties This guide from the American Society of International Law (ASIL) is designed to be used by students, teachers, practitioners, and researchers as a self-guided tour of relevant, quality, up-to-date online resources covering important areas of international law.
International Treaties & Agreements From the U.S. Department of State, this page includes links to the full text of multi-lateral treaties that make up private international law, which is the body of conventions, model laws, national laws, legal guides, and other documents and instruments that regulate private relationships across national borders.
Organization of American States Treaty Series Includes multilateral treaties concluded within the framework of the OAS, as well as bilateral agreements between the OAS and its member states.
Treaties and Other International Acts Series (T.I.A.S.) Treaties and executive agreements that have entered into force since 1945 are published in this series by the U.S. Department of State.
Treaties and Other International Agreements of the U.S. (Bevans) This compilation includes U.S. treaties and agreements that entered into force prior to 1950. Usually referred to as "Bevans" for the name of its editor.
United Nations Treaty Collection The Secretary-General of the United Nations is the depositary of more than 560 multilateral treaties which cover a broad range of subject matters such as human rights, disarmament and protection of the environment.
United States Statutes at Large The United States Statutes at Large, typically referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. The Statutes at Large is prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

Argentina Digital Treaties Library In Spanish
Australian Treaties Library
Canada Treaty Series
Council of Europe Treaty Series This series includes more than 200 multilateral treaties concluded within the framework of the Council of Europe on a wide variety of subject ranging from cultural heritage to cross-border legal cooperation and human rights.
Irish Treaty Series
Israel Database of Treaties
Netherlands Treaty Database
New Zealand Treaties Online
Poland Treaty Database
UK Treaties Online

One of the best ways to discover the perfect source for your topic is to browse the library stacks by call number range. Each call number range represents a particular subject and all of the books on a particular topic will be located in the same general area on the shelves. So if you want a book on international migration, go to the call number range beginning with JV1 to see what we have!

LC Call Number	Subject
JV 1-9480	Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International migration
JZ 5-6530	International relations

Books with Treaties & International Agreements in the Library

There are many books in the library that provide the complete texts of treaties and international agreements.

Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements
Call Number: Reference JX1977 .O82 2003
Defines every international treaty since the founding of the League of Nations, with lengthy quotations or the full text of many treaties, depending on their importance.
Major International Treaties of the Twentieth Century
Call Number: Reference JX121 .M35 2001
Guide to treaties made between two or several nations during the 20th century. Volume 1 covers treaties made before 1946, and volume 2 covers treaties made between 1946 and 2000.
Major Peace Treaties of Modern History
Call Number: Reference JX121 .I8
This is a six volume reference set that provides full text of significant treaties from 1648 to 2000.