Academic Search UltimateWhy search here?
Academic Search Ultimate is a great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic.
What's included?
It contains a large number of journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed, from numerous subject areas. This resource features mostly full text content, and goes as far back as 1865.
America: History & Life plus Full TextWhy search here?
America: History and Life is a user-friendly database that contains abstracts from articles, media and book reviews, and dissertations about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.What's included?
It includes journals that go back to 1964, as well as English abstracts of foreign language articles.
Boston Globe Daily Digital EditionWhy search here?
Beatley Library now provides complete access to BostonGlobe.com for all current students, staff, and faculty members.What's included?
Today's headlines and the complete digital edition of the daily newspaper.Bookmarking Tip
To make an easy bookmark for your iOS device, select the above link and hold for a few seconds. You should see an option to Add to your Reading List.
Boston Globe HistoricalWhy search here?
This database includes the full text and images from articles published in The Boston Globe from 1872-1988. Use this database to find news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements as well as historical photos, stock photos and advertisements.What's included?
The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, from cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
Global Issues (Gale In Context)Why search here?
This reference source -- formerly Global Issues In Context -- provides perspectives on national and global current events from international news providers.
What's included?
Sections: Business and Economy; Health and Medicine; Conflict and Diplomacy; Science and Technology; Environment and Climate Change; Society and Culture; Government, Politics, and Law; and Women, Children, and the Family. Browse by issue or by region.
GPOWhy search here?
The Government Printing Office (GPO) contains U.S. government resources and covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, records, judiciary materials and documents issued by executive departments such as Defense, State, Labor, the Office of the President and more.What's included?
Government documents in this database date back to 1976 and each record includes a citation.
This link opens in a new window
GreenFILEWhy search here?
GreenFILE offers scholarly, government and general-interest titles on all aspects of the human impact on the environment,including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.What's included?
The database provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of records, and provides Open Access full text for some of these.
This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts plus Full TextWhy search here?
Historical Abstracts provides information on world history (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History & Life.) Topics include military, education and women's history from 1450 to the present.What's included?
Indexing of 1,800 academic historical journal articles in over 40 languages dating back to 1955.
JSTORWhy search here?
JSTOR provides access to a wide variety of scholarly journals and monographs in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Use JSTOR to find historical information rather than current articles.What's included?
Thousands of full-text scholarly articles, some dating back to the 1800s.
New York Times (1851 - present)Why search here?
Simmons Library provides complete access to NYTimes.com for all current students, staff, and faculty members through a Group Pass. Individual registration is required annually.What's included?
In addition to current content, access a rich portal, New York Times in Education, with specially curated articles and instructional strategies by faculty consultants.
Opposing ViewpointsWhy search here?
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) contains articles, reports and more that provide different viewpoints on controversial topics.What's included?
A list of some of the most hotly-debated topics with links to articles and other resources.
Project MUSEWhy search here?
Project MUSE contains scholarly articles from major journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities as well as ebooks.What's included?
Full-text scholarly articles and ebooks on literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and more.
Center for International PolicyThe Center for International Policy promotes cooperation, transparency and accountability in global relations.
Council on Foreign RelationsFrom the publisher: "The Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher."
Foreign Policy MagazineForeign Policy magazine contains quality reporting on international policy and affairs.
IIP DigitalThe latest articles, texts and transcripts from the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of International Information Programs.
This link opens in a new window
