LibGuides: Social Welfare Policies & Services: Articles on Your Topic

Searching the Literature

The resources on this page are recommended for when you need to find evidence-based research literature and other types of articles for literature reviews, annotated bibliographies, and other projects. You'll also find search and evaluation strategies to help you find the best articles for your topic.

Databases for Social Work

Recommended Databases for Social Work

APA PsycINFO
A comprehensive international database of psychology covering over 1,900 leading psychological, psychiatric, and related publications. These publications include academic, research and practice literature.
SocINDEX with Full Text
The world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database; provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study, and includes over 10,000 author profiles.
APA PsycARTICLES
Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), users can search this collection of full-text, peer-reviewed articles by psychology-related categories including methodologies, classification codes, and population groups.
PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
Search more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central, publishers, and the Simmons Library Article Now! button.

PDF vs. Find Full-Text

When you're looking at search results in a database you're going to see a few different ways to get to the full article, usually either...

Both of these will take you to the article!

Click the Find Full-Text button and a new tab or window will open. In this tab, your article will load automatically. You will also see a YELLOW ribbon with a link saying "Go To Full Text Finder Results"--click the link if the article doesn't load on its own.

Trust It or Trash It?

Trust It or Trash It? is a free online tool that helps you evaluate health information sources.

Trust It or Trash It? was created by The Genetic Alliance.

Citation Searching

Did you know?

Resources like Web of Science and Google Scholar will show you cited and citing references for any article you find in them.

Link Google Scholar to Simmons Library Resources

Google works with libraries to determine which journals and papers they've subscribed to electronically, and then links to articles from those sources when they're available. Once you configure the Library Links settings in Google Scholar, links to the full text of articles will display in your Google Scholar results when they are available through Simmons Library.

Use Google Scholar From On-Campus

To make these links appear, just access Google Scholar from any Simmons computer and the links will automatically be included.

Configure Google Scholar From Off-Campus

Click on Settings link in the upper right corner of Google Scholar.
Choose "Library Links" on the left, type Simmons University and click the "Search" button.
If prompted, check "Simmons University - Check Simmons Full Text" from the list of results.
Click the blue "Save" button.
Start searching Google Scholar with links to our library's resources (you may need to log in to access these resources).