LibGuides: East Asian Studies: Start Your Research

Articles, Books & Other Sources

Articles
Books

Academic Search Ultimate Why search here? Academic Search Ultimate is a great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic. What's included? It contains a large number of journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed, from numerous subject areas. This resource features mostly full text content, and goes as far back as 1865.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) Why search here? This reference source -- formerly Global Issues In Context -- provides perspectives on national and global current events from international news providers. What's included? Sections: Business and Economy; Health and Medicine; Conflict and Diplomacy; Science and Technology; Environment and Climate Change; Society and Culture; Government, Politics, and Law; and Women, Children, and the Family. Browse by issue or by region.
JSTOR Why search here? JSTOR provides access to a wide variety of scholarly journals and monographs in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Use JSTOR to find historical information rather than current articles.What's included? Thousands of full-text scholarly articles, some dating back to the 1800s.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Why search here? MLA Bibliography includes two parts: MLA Bibliography and MLA Directory of Periodicals, which are both produced by the Modern Language Association. These sources focus on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism and dramatic arts, but also include other subjects.What's included? MLA Bibliography provides citations for journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, dissertations, etc.

Open Access Directory: Languages and Literature Identify electronic journals in the fields of Languages and Literatures that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full text, and accessible without cost.
Open Access Directory: Social Sciences Identify electronic journals in the fields of Social Sciences that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full text, and accessible without cost.
Open Library of the Humanities The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) publishes open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs). All of its academic articles are subject to rigorous peer review and the scholarship they publish showcases some of the most dynamic research taking place in the humanities disciplines today – from classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history, to political theory, sociology, anthropology, film and new media studies, and digital humanities.

Project MUSE Why search here? Project MUSE contains scholarly articles from major journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities as well as ebooks.What's included? Full-text scholarly articles and ebooks on literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and more.

One of the best ways to discover the perfect source for your topic is to browse the library stacks by call number range. Each call number range represents a particular subject and all of the books on a particular topic will be located in the same general area on the shelves.

LC Call Number	Subject
PL 1-8844	Languages of Eastern Asia, Africa Oceania
PL 400-431	Mongolian languages
PL (490)-495	Far Eastern languages and literature
PL 501-889	Japanese language and literature
PL 901-998	Korean language and literature
PL 1001-3208	Chinese language and literature
PL 3301-3311	Non-Chinese languages of China

Digital Public Library of America The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
HathiTrust Digital Library HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Open Library Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive, and has been funded in part by a grant from the California State Library and the Kahle/Austin Foundation. It makes over 1,000,000 free ebook versions of classic literature available at your fingertips.
Project Gutenberg Download the free application to your mobile device to read ebooks on your topic.

Country Information

Dibrary Dibrary is a new name for the digital library of the National Library of Korea, which harmonizes nature, humanity, and information. Dibrary is the world’s first hybrid library combining digital and analogue ideas. Dibrary consists of “Dibrary Portal,” a virtual space, and a physical service space called “Dibrary Information Commons”.
Google Korea Google's Korean-language version allows you to search for websites, images and more in Korean.
KINDS Integrated database for most major newspapers published in Korea 1990-present. Some 50 papers are covered, including two English papers. Older (1960-1989) articles available in PDF (non-searchable) for 경향신문, 동아일보, 서울신문, 한국일보.
Korea.net The official website of the Republic of Korea, includes news as well as political and cultural information.
Korea Institute, Harvard University The Korea Institute is devoted solely to the support and development of Korean Studies at Harvard, as the central hub for Harvard faculty, students, leading scholars in the field, and visitors to join together as a community for the study of Korea.
Korea Maps From the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas, this site includes links to country, city, regional, historic and thematic maps of Korea.
National Library of Korea (NLK--국립중앙도서관) Korea’s largest library, NLK is especially strong in books from the colonial period. The tables of contents of all the holdings have been indexed and are searchable, including books, magazines, dissertations, E-books, and rare books.
RISS (학술연구정보서비스) Gateway to the holdings of all Korean university libraries, including many in full text. Use this resource to find academic books, journal articles, and dissertations.

Google Japan Google's Japanese-language version allows you to search for websites, images and more in Japanese.
Japan Foundation Government-affiliated independent administrative entity with offices worldwide. Promotes arts and cultural exchange, Japanese language education outside Japan, Japanese studies and intellectual exchange.
Japan Information and Culture Center (JICC) Maintained by the Embassy of Japan in Washington, DC, this site includes information on current cultural events, exhibitions, forums and more designed to enhance understanding of Japanese culture and society.
Japan Society Japan Society is the leading U.S. organization committed to deepening mutual understanding between the United States and Japan in a global context. Now in its second century, the Society serves audiences across the United States and abroad through innovative programs in arts and culture, public policy, business, language and education.

The Asia Foundation: Vietnam Two decades of market-based reforms have transformed Vietnam into one of the fastest growing economies in the world, with a remarkable poverty reduction record; but social inequality and environmental degradation remain challenges. The discourse here is on equitable and sustainable development, and the required governance capacity to achieve it.
Google Vietnam Google's Vietnamese-language version has an easy-to-see option below the search bar to either bring up web pages in several languages.
UNdata | Country Profile | Viet Nam From the UN's World Statistics Pocketbook, this site includes statistical information for the nation and society.
The Vietnam Institute The Vietnam Institute is a special initiative by the faculty and administrators of University of Missouri (MU) to promote closer relations between MU and Vietnam.
Vietnam Maps From the Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas, this site includes links to country, city, regional, historic and thematic maps of Vietnam.
The World Factbook: Vietnam Information on Vietnam from the Central Intelligence Agency.

ChinaCulture Chinaculture.org offers broad access to up-to-date cultural news about China with a wealth of information about Chinese history, culture, politics and economy. Under the guidance of the Ministry of Culture, Chinaculture.org was developed and is maintained by Chinadaily.com.cn.
Google Hong Kong Google's Chinese-language version has an easy-to-see option below the search bar to either bring up web pages in several languages.

Japanese Poem for Pronunciation

"Original text is the poem written by Hakushu Kitahara 北原白秋(1885-1942). The title of the poem is 五十音 / go.ju.-(u).o.nn /. Hakushu said that he wanted to give the children this poem, in order to make them naturally learn to pronounce and make them understand the essence of the Japanese sounds of each series of Japanese syllabary-五十音, by singing this poem."