The Garibaldi & the Risorgimento ArchiveThe Garibaldi & the Risorgimento digital archive seeks to provide a comprehensive resource for the interdisciplinary study and teaching of the life and deeds of one of the protagonists of the Italian unification process, Giuseppe Garibaldi (1807-1882).
Kindred BritainKindred Britain is a network of nearly 30,000 individuals — many of them iconic figures in British culture — connected through family relationships of blood, marriage, or affiliation.
Paris: Capital of the 19th CenturyOnline access to pictorial works and texts selected from the collections of three Brown University libraries, which illuminate the political, cultural and social movements of this time period.
Sound Toll RegistersThe Sound Toll Registers (STR) are the accounts of the toll which the king of Denmark levied on the shipping through the Sound, the strait between Sweden and Denmark.
Virtual St. Paul’s Cathedral ProjectThe Virtual St. Paul’s Cathedral Project enables visitors to experience worship and preaching at St. Paul’s Cathedral and in Paul’s Churchyard as events that unfold over time and on particular occasions in London in the early seventeenth century.
Hiroshima ArchiveProvides a panoramic view over Hiroshima to browse survivors’ accounts, photos, maps, and other materials as of 1945, together with aerial photos, 3D topographical data, and building models as of 2010.
Re-Envisioning JapanOnline critical archive of tourism, travel, and educational ephemera that documents changing images of Japan and its place in the world in the early-to-mid-20th century.
Papyri.infoThe Papyrological Navigator (PN) supports searching, browsing, and aggregation of ancient papyrological documents and related materials; the Papyrological Editor (PE) enables multi-author, version controlled, peer reviewed scholarly curation of papyrological texts, translations, commentary, scholarly metadata, institutional catalog records, bibliography, and images.
American Panorama: An Atlas of United States HistoryCreated by the Digital Scholarship Lab at the University of Richmond, American Panorama is an historical atlas of the United States for the twenty-first century. It combines research with interactive mapping techniques.
Chronicling AmericaFrom the Library of Congress, Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages from 1789-1963
Digital ChicagoA digital exhibition of Chicago's history, including images, documents, and archaeological finds.
Digital HistoryThis project was designed and developed to support the teaching of American History in K-12 schools and colleges and includes a U.S. history textbook, over 400 annotated documents from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, supplemented by primary sources on slavery, Mexican American, Asian American, and Native American history, and U.S. political, social, and legal history.
DIY HistoryDIY history allows visitors to annotate and transcribe letters, ephemera, photographs, and other historical objects.
The History EngineParticipants who work with the History Engine project learn the craft of an historian: they examine primary documents, place these documents in a larger historical context using secondary sources, and prepare cogent analysis of their sources for the public eye.
Invasion of AmericaInteractive map that shows the way in which colonizers systematically invaded Native American territory.
Library of Congress Digital CollectionsFind digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress’s vast holdings.
The Living New DealThe Living New Deal is a research project and online public archive documenting the scope and impact of the New Deal on Americans’ lives and landscape.
Our Marathon: The Boston Bombing Digital ArchiveOur Marathon is a crowd-sourced archive of pictures, videos, stories, and even social media related to the Boston Marathon; the bombing on April 15, 2013; the subsequent search, capture, and trial of the individuals who planted the bombs; and the city’s healing process.
PhotogrammarPhotogrammar is a web-based platform for organizing, searching, and visualizing the 170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the United States Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI).
BlackPast.orgOnline reference center showcasing materials on African American history.
Bracero ArchiveThe Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
Digital SchombergInformation and digital objects on global black experience, including exhibitions, books, articles, print, audio, and more.
Documenting the American SouthA digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
Gullah Digital ArchiveThe Kenyon Gullah Digital Archive collects the oral histories of Gullah people who live and work on St. Helena.
Slavery and Abolition PortalThis site is designed to help researchers and students find primary sources related to slavery, abolition, and resistance within Yale University's libraries and galleries.
Steering Committee on Slavery and JusticeThe report of the Brown University Steering Committee on Slavery and Justice draws on a wide array of historical documents, from the records of slaving voyages to personal correspondence to student commencement orations.
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade DatabaseFrom Emory University, the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on almost 36,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Black Abolitionist ArchiveCollection of over 800 speeches by black abolitionists from the Antebellum era, plus 1000 editorials from the same period.
Colored ConventionsDocuments from 1830-1890's from state and national meetings called "Colored Conventions," in which black men, mostly, met to discuss issues of justice. Includes information about their networks, including the black women who did similar work, but remained on the sidelines of these meetings.
Civil War LettersFrom Hamilton College, this is a collection of 456 letters written during the American Civil war and related to regiments mustered out counties in the Central New York region.
Cornell University Library Making of America CollectionThe Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
The Dartmouth Vietnam ProjectThe Dartmouth Vietnam Project (DVP) brings together members of the Dartmouth community to conduct, record, and preserve oral histories about the Vietnam War era (1950–1975).
Decoding the Civil WarDecoding the Civil War's goal is to use the transcription and decoding of Civil War telegrams from The Thomas T. Eckert Papers.
Papers of the War Department: 1740-1800A project of the Center for History & New Media at George Mason University, Papers of the War Department 1784-1800 makes 42,000 documents of the early War Department accessible.
Benjamin Franklin PapersThis Library of Congress collection contains 8,000 items spanning the years 1726 to 1907, with most dating from the 1770s and 1780s.
Burton Holmes Digital ArchiveBurton Holmes was the first person to combine travel stories, slide shows and motion pictures into documentary travel lectures, for which he coined the word “travelogue.” The collection includes more than 16,000 hand-painted 3×4” glass lantern slides made between 1887 and 1937.
Jefferson's Notes on the State of VirginiaThis website allows visitors to inspect, compare, and analyze two different eighteenth-century printings of Thomas Jefferson's Notes on the State of Virginia, and study a third modern annotated reading text.
The Occom CircleThe Occom Circle is a scholarly digital edition of handwritten documents by and about Samson Occom (1727-1792), housed in Dartmouth College.