Library Search: Databases Not Included

• Why search here?
  AccessMedicine provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers and other health professionals with access to more than 60 clinical reference and medical education resources.
  
• What's included?
  Content includes thousands of images, interactive self-assessments, case files, diagnostic tools, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.

• Why search here?
  AccessPhysiotherapy is devoted exclusively to the study, instruction, and practice of physical therapy – with groundbreaking content for today’s PT.
  
• What's included?
  Updated regularly, this comprehensive online physiotherapy resource integrates leading physical therapy textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, image galleries, self-assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool –optimized for viewing on any device.

• Why search here?
  The ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) digital library provides access to every article ever published by ACM, in the form of citations and full text.
  
• What's included?
  There are many different documents available, including newsletters, transcripts of meetings and workshops, and company publications.

• Why search here?
  Agricola is a database of materials acquired by the National Agriculture Library and other institutions. These are bibliographic records for books, journals, and audiovisual materials in the areas of agriculture, forestry, and animal science.
• What's included?
  Citations and some full text. If full text is not directly available, search the journals or publication by name in the Simmons Library catalog.

• Why search here?
  Identify historical collections of primary source materials in archives and repositories throughout the United States.
• What's included?
  Repository records provide detailed information including phone and fax numbers, hours of service, materials solicited, email, and home page URLs when available. Each collection record links to its corresponding repository record, simplifying the research process.

• Why search here?
  Artstor is an online database of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images. Faculty in the Art Department may create their own image collections and presentations for class.
• What's included?
  With Artstor you can zoom in on and pan images as well as print, save and organize them.

• Why search here?
  Based on Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, this online guide maintains the evidence-based origins of the text and provides careful attention to clinical accuracy, and to the range of patient types profiled in the series.
• What's included?
  Now in its Fifth Edition and featuring completely reshot content and new clinical skills videos, Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.

• Why search here?
  Bibliography of the History of art indexes and abstracts books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer catalogs as well as articles on the history of Western art.
• What's included?
  The BHA file covers items from 1975-2007.

• Why search here?
  Booklist is a book-review magazine that has been published by the American Library Association for more than 100 years, and is widely viewed as offering the most reliable reviews to help libraries decide what to buy and to help library patrons and students decide what to read, view, or listen to
• What's included?
  More than 160,000 reviews and thousands of features dating back to 1992 and 8,000 new reviews and related features every year.

• Why search here?
  Beatley Library now provides complete access to BostonGlobe.com for all current students, staff, and faculty members.
• What's included?
  Today's headlines and the complete digital edition of the daily newspaper.
• Bookmarking Tip
  To make an easy bookmark for your iOS device, select the above link and hold for a few seconds. You should see an option to Add to your Reading List.

• Why search here?
  Charleston Advisor provides comprehensive, peer-reviewed assessments of electronic resources by the very people who use them the most: information professionals.
• What's included?
  Reviews include basic product information such as pricing, contract provisions and subscriber lists, and more. Resources are assigned a composite score based on content, searchability, price and contract options.

• Why search here?
  Chronicle of Higher Education is a weekly newspaper that features academic-related news articles, information and job listings for college and university faculty and administrators.
• What's included?
  It also includes current and back issues, search features, opinions & ideas, facts & figures, topics, advice, forums and events.

• Why search here?
  HeinOnline’s Civil Rights and Social Justice database brings together publications covering civil rights in the United States, and allows users to educate themselves on the ways our civil rights have been strengthened and expanded over time, as well as how these legal protections can go further still.
• What's included?
  It includes hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, Congressional Research Service and and Government Accountability Office reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights. ​

• Why search here?
  These video collections provide faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. These collections provide a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.
• What's included?
  videos, transcripts, books, and articles

• Why search here?
  This handbook contains extensive tables of physical and chemical properties, molecular structure, nuclear and particle physics, geophysics and astronomy, to name just a few. The information it contains is extremely reliable and a good place to start when unfamiliar with a particular scientific topic.
• What's included?
  Here you can find tables of standard scientific values and formulas, from atomic weights to temperature conversions and much more.

• Why search here?
  D&B Hoovers — which combines the best of the former Hoovers solution, insights-rich Dun & Bradstreet data, and the robust Avention OneSource platform — offers deeper insights on important industries, accounts, and contacts. It offers functionality to help you quickly analyze and understand companies at a granular level. Please log out of D&B Hoovers when you are finished using the database.

• Note: Some users are reporting errors , such as requests for a password pop up, when attempting to access from off-campus. Please try clearing your browser's cookies/cache. Opening a new browser and clearing cache can fix this as well.

• What's included?
  contains information from more than 25,000 data sources, including market research, analyst reports, regulatory filings, news releases and much more.

• Why search here?
  ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses.
  
• What's included?
  PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.

• Why search here?
  Using the Grants.gov system makes it faster, easier and more cost effective for grant applicants to electronically interact with federal grant-making agencies. It also provides the following key benefits, among many others, to the grant community.
• What's included?
  Centralized information on more than 1,000 different grant programs across all 26 federal grant-making agencies awarding more than $500 billion annually.

• Why search here?
  Hathi Trust is a collaborative of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of digitized items from libraries around the world.
• What's included?
  The Hathi Trust Digital Library contains over 17.4 million volumes of digitized items including book and serial titles. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and downloadable to logged in users. Items held in copyright are searchable.

• Why search here?
  HeritageQuest Online is a comprehensive database of American genealogical sources.
• What's included?
  It includes city directories, family and local histories, U.S. Census records from 1790-1940, and military records from the Revolutionary War and other conflicts as well as research aids.

• Why search here?
  HistoryMakers is the largest African American video oral history archive.
• What's included?
  With over 9,000 hours (2,800 interviews) of unique content, the HistoryMakers Digital Archive features videotaped first person testimony of both well-known and unsung African Americans recorded across the United States as well as places like Norway, Mexico and the Caribbean. Interviews are housed permanently at the Library of Congress.

• Why search here?
  Horn Book Guide contains reputable book reviews for children's and young adult literature.
• What's included?
  This periodical is published every six months and reviews the most recent hardcover trade books. The print version is organized alphabetically by author's last name within categories, and each book is rated by the editors on a scale of 1 (outstanding) - 6 (unacceptable). The web site includes reviews rated 1-4 (omitting 5-6), and can be browsed by categories or searched by author, title and ISBN.

• Why search here?
  First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Merck Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the world's most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers.
  
• What's included?
  As the Merck Manual evolved, it continually expanded the reach and depth of its offerings to reflect the mission of providing the best medical knowledge of the day to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers.

• Why search here?
  Simmons Library provides complete access to NYTimes.com for all current students, staff, and faculty members through a Group Pass. Individual registration is required annually.
• What's included?
  In addition to current content, access a rich portal, New York Times in Education, with specially curated articles and instructional strategies by faculty consultants.

• Why search here?
  Open Access Theses and Dissertations indexes 5.2 million freely-accessible theses and dissertations from over 1100 academic institutions.
• What's included?
  Information about open access theses and dissertations, with links to the full-text originals.

• Why search here?
  Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) contains articles, reports and more that provide different viewpoints on controversial topics.
• What's included?
  A list of some of the most hotly-debated topics with links to articles and other resources.

• Why search here?
  The Oxford English Dictionary is the most authoritative dictionary of the English language.
• What's included?
  In both the print and online versions, entries include a history of where a word was first published, alternate spellings, pronunciations and an etymological analysis.

• Why search here?
  Peterson’s Career Prep is an online career platform that provides support for users searching for, building, or changing careers.
• What's included?
  Peterson’s Career Prep includes a tool to build and export resumes and cover letters, a career assessment tool, a job search engine via Indeed, and offers advice from topics ranging from networking to transitioning from the military.
• Create account
  Creating an account is required to use resources .

• Why search here?
  This resource help you to bring readers and picture books together, helping you find the best picture books in one place, without having to consult multiple resources.
• What's included?
  Picture Book Database combines data from dozens of online and print sources, thousands of picture books, and countless publisher, author, and illustrator websites.

• Why search here?
  ProQuest Science Database supports the needs of students studying applied and general sciences.
• What's included?
  Science Database includes 7.3 million full text articles from over 1600 sources, with charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos and other graphical elements.

• Why search here?
  PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books.
• What's included?
  Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. Also included are links to full-text articles available through the Simmons Library. Look for the Find Full-Text button on the upper right side of the screen to see if Simmons has it.

• Why search here?
  This online version of the 10-volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy is regarded as the definitive reference resource in the field and features 2,000 original entries from a team of over 1,300 of the world's most respected scholars and philosophers.
• What's included?
  Covers a wide range of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy, with over 25,000 hot-linked cross-references between articles and links to other editorially reviewed websites.

• Why search here?
  Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) is a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics that allows users to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts, including descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.
• What's included?
  Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) incorporates the content of Sage Stats and US Political Stats Datasets and covers a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.

• Why search here?
  SciFinder Scholar searches the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases, which cover research from many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, material science and agricultural science. You must create an account to use this service.
• What's included?
  References from nearly 9,500 currently published journals and patents from more than 50 active patent issuing authorities.
• Create account
  Creating an account is required. Create an account with your Simmons email address.

• Why search here?
  Keep track of what's happening in the research world. Across all research fields—science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities—Scopus is an index that delivers a broad overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information that researchers like you need.
• What's included?
  Scopus has twice as many titles and over 30% more publishers listed than any other A&I database, with interdisciplinary content that covers the research spectrum: timely updates from thousands of peer-reviewed journals; preliminary findings from millions of conference papers; and the thorough analysis in thousands of books.

• Why search here?
  SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) has all the data you need to answer key research questions, make sound business decisions, and understand the socio-demographic and economic conditions of any geographic area in the United States.
• What's included?
  They currently offer more than 75,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, and public health.

Limited to 5 concurrent users.

• Why search here?
  ​Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together a multitude of essential legal materials, commentary, pamphlets and books on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.
• What's included?
  This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. ​

• Why search here?
  The Storytime Database is an index of material commonly used in a storytime in libraries, schools, or daycare settings. Users can create a unique list of material to make each story hour different from the one before.
• What's included?
  We have indexed over 35,000 poems (all forms), songs (lyrics and CD), rhymes (action, nursery, jump rope), and crafts from over 1,000 titles. In addition, we have added records for over 20,000 picture books.

• Why search here?
  WASG is useful for students and scholars of women's history and world history in general. It explores prominent themes of modern empires since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.
• What's included?
  The site includes a curation of documents with a clear focus of bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront.

• Why search here?
  WASM is useful for students and scholars of U.S women's history and U.S. history in general. It centers around the history of women and social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
• What's included?
  The site brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries and bibliographies that document women’s reform activities.

• Why search here?
  Provided by OCLC, WorldCat is the world's largest network of library catalogs. Use this resource to find books and other materials in the Simmons Library or in other local, national and international libraries.
• What's included?
  If Simmons does not own a book or periodical title, use the libraries icon to determine which libraries in Massachusetts have it or request the item using Interlibrary Loan.