Skip to main content

Library Search: Frequently Asked Questions

An overview of the Library Search tool.

How do I get there?

Where can I get a permalink (permanent URL) for Library Search (EDS)?

This Link requires a Simmons Username and ID

How do I find the Advanced Search page in Library Search (EDS)?

You can find a link to the advanced search page underneath the basic search box within Library Search (EDS). There is no direct link to advanced search from the library website.

How does EDS rank its results?

The results are generated by proprietary algorithms that combine relevancy ranking with value ranking.  

 

Relevancy Ranking

  1. Match on subject headings (from controlled vocabularies)

  2. Match on the article titles

  3. Match on the author keywords

  4. Match on keywords within abstracts

  5. Match on keywords within full text

 

Value Ranking

  • Currency (the more recent, the higher the rank)
  • Document Type
  • Length

 

Source

Tim Heiges- Vice President, Discovery Services US & Canada, EBSCO

Presentation from Dec. 3, 2013   

When I limit to Full Text what will I find?

  • Material from all full-text EBSCOhost databases to which the library subscribes.
  • Items in the library catalog that have been identified as full text.
  • Items from the library’s institutional repository that have been identified as full text.
  • Content from other subscription sources, such as online journals, via the EBSCO LinkSource link resolver.

What will I find when I limit my search to the Simmons Library Collection?

  • Material from all full-text EBSCOhost databases to which the library subscribes.
  • Items contained in the Simmons Library catalog.
  • Items located in the future Simmons institutional repository.
  • Material from other subscription resources that provide full-text access such as Alexander Street Press, JSTOR and many others.
  • Content from online journals and journal collections via the EBSCO LinkSource link resolver.


Please note that limiting your search to the Simmons Library collection will not limit exclusively to full text and will exclude bibliographic records if full text is not available. It also excludes content from partner databases to which the library does not subscribe or provide access to.  If/when it becomes possible to provide a direct link to an interlibrary loan (ILL) form for items where full text is not immediately available, the limiter will also include these items in the result list.