LibGuides: Newspaper Articles and Debates: Commentary & Debate

NEWS COMMENTARY AND DEBATES

Check out these resources to see what others have to say on your topic.

Opposing Viewpoints Why search here? Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) contains articles, reports and more that provide different viewpoints on controversial topics.What's included? A list of some of the most hotly-debated topics with links to articles and other resources.

All Sides Unlike regular news services, AllSides exposes bias and provides multiple angles on the same story so you can quickly get the full picture, not just one slant.
ProCon.org "Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format."
ProPublica ProPublica is an independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest. Our work focuses exclusively on truly important stories, stories with “moral force.”
Slate Magazine Slate is a daily magazine on the Web. Founded in 1996, we are a general-interest publication offering analysis and commentary about politics, news, business, technology, and culture.
Salon.com Salon.com covers breaking news, politics, culture, technology and entertainment through investigative reporting, fearless commentary and criticism, and provocative personal essays.
Arts & Letters Daily From the Chronicle of Higher Education.

PUBLIC OPINION

Pew Research Center The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues.
Gallup Gallup has studied human nature and behavior for more than 75 years. Gallup's reputation for delivering relevant, timely, and visionary research on what people around the world think and feel is the cornerstone of the organization. Gallup employs many of the world's leading scientists in management, economics, psychology, and sociology, and our consultants assist leaders in identifying and monitoring behavioral economic indicators worldwide.
more...less...
Gallup consultants help organizations boost organic growth by increasing customer engagement and maximizing employee productivity through measurement tools, coursework, and strategic advisory services. Gallup's 2,000 professionals deliver services at client organizations, through the Web, at Gallup University's campuses, and in more than 40 offices around the world.
Marist College Institute for Public Opinion MIPO is a survey research center at Marist College and it brings to you The Marist Poll. This online poll bureau covers a wide range of topics including politics, money, family, spirituality, sports, entertainment, and more. It is also a source of expert information resources, helpful to research.
National Opinion Research Center (NORC) The University of Chicago's NORC conducts social science research projects in the area of public interest. The projects span local, regional, national, and international levels.
more...less...
They cover a wide range of topics, such as arts & humanities, criminal justice, education, energy & environment, finances, health, international, labor & employment, organizations, special populations, society & culture, substance abuse, and technology.
RealClearPolitics RealClearPolitics (RCP) is an independent, non-partisan media company that is the trusted source for the best news, analysis and commentary. Founded in 2000 by John McIntyre and Tom Bevan, Chicago-based RealClearPolitics covers all aspects of the U.S. political process including policy, elections and government.
more...less...
RealClearPolitics features the most comprehensive coverage online by selecting the best pieces, publishing columns from top syndicated authors and producing original content. RealClearPolitics editorial staff writes over 30% of the daily content. The site features articles on all the major issues of the day with a deliberate and committed effort to present a wide-range of ideological perspectives. This unique collection of content makes RealClearPolitics the site that policy makers and opinion leaders go to for the most in-depth news coverage.

RealClearPolitics is the essential site for those at the intersection of politics and business. RealClearPolitics influential and important audience, which has come to trust and depend on the site's agenda-setting, extensive and balanced coverage, is what sets RealClearPolitics apart from its competitors.