Conducting a literature review? Need help organizing your research?
Get a Citation Manager!
Citation managers are online tools that allow you to:
There is a bit of a learning curve with these tools, but they can help you stay organized and save time in the long run. The Library recommends two free citation managers:
To explore these tools and learn how to use them, check out the Library's Citation Managers Guide.
A Note About Online Sources
Online sources can be challenging to cite because they're often missing biographical information.
The first step is to determine what kind of online source you're dealing with.
If it's a book or journal/newspaper/magazine article that you accessed online, cite them as that type of source. See the eBooks, Online Journals, Newspapers, or Magazines tabs on this page for more information and examples.
You'll often find reports published online that don't fall into any of the above categories. You may find these reports on a government agency, organization, or company's website. See the Government Reports and Websites & Other Online Reports tabs in this box to learn how to cite these sources.
Check out the APA Style Guide (7th Edition) for information on citing blog posts, emails, and other types of electronic sources.
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of report (Report No. xxx). Website. http://xxxxx
Haugen, S. E. (2009). Measures of labor underutilization from the current population survey (Working Paper No. 424). Bureau of Labor Statistics. http://www.bls.gov/osmr/pdf/ec090020.pdf
(Haugen, 2009)
For agencies that are part of a hierarchy, you can use the specific agency instead of including the full hierarchy. If you introduce an abbreviation in your first in-text citation, you may use that abbreviation in subsequent citations.
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. (2011). Your guide to anemia (NIH Publication No. 11-7629). http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/public/blood/anemia-yg.pdf
First Time: (National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute [NHLBI], 2011)
All Subsequent Times: (NHLBI, 2011)
Note: if the author and website are the same, omit the website.
Matese, M. A. (1997, March). Accountability-based sanctions (Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Fact Sheet No. 58). National Criminal Justice Reference Service. https://www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles/fs-9758.pdf
(Matese, 1997)
Source: Publication Manual, 10.4 (examples 50-52); Report by a Government Agency References; Report with Individual Authors References [APA Style]
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of page. Website. http://xxxxx
General copyright dates are not sufficient to use as the publication date. If no creation or publication date is given, use n.d. If the author and website are the same, omit the website.
Corcodilos, N. (n.d.). Keep your salary under wraps. Ask the Headhunter. http://www.asktheheadhunter.com/hasalary.htm
(Corcodilos, n.d.)
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. (2010). Facing down PTSD, vet is now soaring high. http://www.mentalhealth.va.gov/featureArticle_Feb.asp
(U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, 2010)
If you are using multiple pages from one website that all have the same author and date, differentiate the dates with letters. Be sure that the citations are listed alphabetically by webpage title.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (2014a). Be safe after a hurricane. http://emergency.cdc.gov/disasters/hurricanes/be-safe-after.asp
(Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2014a)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (2014b). Make a plan. http://emergency.cdc.gov/disasters/hurricanes/plan.asp
(Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2014b)
If both items have n.d. instead of a year, include a hyphen before the differentiating letter:
Santa Fe College. (n.d.-a). Priority admissions dates. http://www.sfcollege.edu/admissions/index.php?section=priority_dates
(Santa Fe College, n.d.-a)
Santa Fe College. (n.d.-b). SF to UF: A true story. http://www.sfcollege.edu/gators/true-story/index
(Santa Fe College, n.d.-b)
Appeal to authority. (n.d.). Logical Fallacies. https://www.logicalfallacies.org/appeal-to-authority.html
When citing as an in-text citation, you may abbreviate the title to the first few words, in quotations, unless the title is short:
("Appeal to Authority," n.d.)
Source: Publication Manual, 10.16 (examples 111-114); Webpage on a Website References [APA Style]
Personal communication can mean letters, memos, emails, interviews, telephone conversations, etc. that your readers will not be able to access. Since these items are not recoverable, it is not necessary to include in a reference list. Use parenthetical citations in the text only.
(D. J. Matthews, personal communication, July 10, 2009)
Source: Publication Manual, 8.9
Only include a full reference to lecture notes or class materials that are behind a login screen (such as Canvas) if you are writing for an audience that will be able to retrieve them. Otherwise, cite it as a personal communication.
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of presentation [Lecture notes or PowerPoint slides]. Website. http://xxxxx
Preskill, J. (n.d.). Chapter 4: Quantum entanglement [Lecture notes]. Caltech Particle Theory Group. http://www.theory.caltech.edu/people/preskill/ph229/notes/chap4.pdf
(Preskill, n.d.)
Matthews, D. (2019). [Lecture notes on evaluating Internet resources]. Canvas at Santa Fe College. https://courses.sfcollege.edu/login
(Matthews, 2019)
Source: Publication Manual, 10.14 (example 102); Classroom or Intranet Resources; PowerPoint Slide or Lecture Note References [APA Style]
Cite conference proceedings based on the format they are published in. If published in a journal, cite as a journal article, if published as a book, cite as a book, etc.
Source: Conference Proceeding References [APA Style]
Author, A. A. (Year, Month Days of Conference). Title of poster session [Poster presentation]. Conference Name, location. http://xxxxx
Rusk, F. (2019, April 10–13). Beyond the research paper: Engaging faculty in alternative information literacy activities and assignments [Poster presentation]. Academic Colleges & Research Libraries, Cleveland, OH, United States.
(Rusk, 2019)
Source: Publication Manual, 10.5 (example 62)
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of doctoral dissertation or master's thesis [Type, Institution]. Database/Archive Name. http://xxxxx
Chang, S. (2009). Relationship between active leisure and active vacations [Doctoral dissertation, University of Florida]. University of Florida Digital Collections. http://ufdc.ufl.edu/UFE0024249/00001
(Chang, 2009)
Njuguna, S. W. (2002). Gender education and development: Women's quest for higher education in Kenya [Master's thesis, Morgan State University]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.
(Njuguna, 2002)
Saba, D. R. (1987). Segmenting the sports market: A benefit analysis [Unpublished Master's thesis]. Florida State University.
(Saba, 1987)
Sources: Publication Manual, 10.6 (examples 64-66); Published Dissertation or Thesis References; Unpublished Dissertation or Thesis References [APA Style]
Use this for videos posted on websites or blogs, such as YouTube, TED, a news website, etc. If you are citing a direct quotation from a video, you can use the time stamp in place of a page number within the in-text citation (see Example 1).
Author, A. A. [username]. (Year, Month Day). Title of video [Video]. Website. http://xxxxx
Jones, P. [patrickJMT]. (2009, October 24). Easily memorize the unit circle [Video]. YouTube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=03McKEg9ASA
(Jones, 2009, 1:15)
Vercamath. (2011, July 25). Parallel universes explained [Video]. YouTube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GWaB3SksOQU
(Vercamath, 2011)
Gavagan, E. (2012, April). A story about knots and surgeons [Video]. TED Conferences. https://www.ted.com/talks/ed_gavagan_a_story_about_knots_and_surgeons
(Gavagan, 2012)
TED. (2016, August 30). Suzanne Simard: How trees talk to each other [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Un2yBgIAxYs
(TED, 2016)
Note: If citing from the TED website, list the speaker as the author. If citing from YouTube, list TED (or the account) as the author and include the speaker's name in the title.
Sources: Publication Manual, 9.8 and 10.12 (examples 88 and 90); YouTube Video References; TED Talk References [APA Style]
For information retrieved from a mobile app (such as an iPhone or Android app), cite as follows:
Wiley. (2015). Psychology spotlight (Version 1.8) [Mobile app]. App Store. https://apps.apple.com/us/app/psychology-spotlight/id503789655
(Wiley, 2015)
Source: Publication Manual, 10.10 (example 79)
Name v. Name, Volume Source Page (Court Date). http://xxxxx
Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973). https://www.oyez.org/cases/1971/70-18
(Roe v. Wade, 1973)
Source: Publication Manual, 11.4 (examples 1-7)
Name of the Statute/Act, Title Number Source § Section number(s) (Year of Code Used). http://xxxx
Mental Health Systems Act, 42 U.S.C. § 9401 (1988). https://www.govinfo.gov/app/details/USCODE-2017-title42/USCODE-2017-title42-chap102-sec9401
(Mental Health Systems Act, 1988)
Florida Patient's Bill of Rights and Responsibilities, Fla. Stat. § 381.026 (1991 & rev. 2017). http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0300-0399/0381/Sections/0381.026.html
(Florida Patient's Bill of Rights and Responsibilities, 1991/2017)
This statute was originally codified in 1991 and was last updated in 2017, so both dates are included.
Source: Publication Manual, 11.5 (examples 8-13)
From the Code of Federal Regulations
Exec. Order No. xxxxx, 3 C.F.R. Page (Year). http://xxxxx
Exec. Order No. 13588, 3 C.F.R. 281–282 (2011). https://www.govinfo.gov/app/details/CFR-2012-title3-vol1/CFR-2012-title3-vol1-eo13588
(Exec. Order No. 13588, 2011)
Source: Publication Manual, 11.7 (example 21)
Refer to the Multiple Authors guidelines, if needed.
Author, A. A., Author B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pages–pages. https://doi.org/XXXXXXXXXXX
Reed, M. J., Kennett, D. J., Lewis, T., Lund-Lucas, E., Stallberg, C., & Newbold, I. L. (2009). The relative effects of university success courses and individualized interventions for students with learning disabilities. Higher Education Research & Development, 28(4), 385–400. https://doi.org/10.1080/07294360903067013
(Reed et al., 2009)
Omit the page numbers and use the article number in its place.
Derry, K. (2018). Myth and monstrosity: Teaching indigenous films. Journal of Religion & Film, 22(3), Article 7. https://digitalcommons.unomaha.edu/jrf/
(Derry, 2018)
Author, A. A., Author B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pages–pages.
Only include a URL if it takes you to the full text of the article without logging in.
Husain, A. N., Colby, T. V., Ordóñez, N. G., Krausz, T., Borczuk, A., Cagle, P. T, Chirieac, L. R., Churg, A., Galeateau-Salle, F., Gibbs, A. R., Gown, A. M., Hammar, S. P., Lizky, A. A., Roggli, V. L., Travis, W. D., & Wick, M. R. (2009). Guidelines for pathologic diagnosis of malignant mesothelioma. Archives of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, 133(8), 1317–1331.
(Husain et al., 2009)
Note: Do not include the name of a database, except for very rare occasions where the content is exclusive to the database. See Other Database Content for more guidance.
Sources: Publication Manual, 10.1 (examples 1-6); Journal Article References [APA Style]
Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Newspaper Title, pages–pages.
Clark, A. (2009, August 9). Apartment glut good for students, bad for owners. The Gainesville Sun, 1A, 9A.
(Clark, 2009)
Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Newspaper Title, pages–pages.
Clark, A. (2009, August 9). Apartment glut good for students, bad for owners. The Gainesville Sun, 1A, 9A.
(Clark, 2009)
Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper. http://xxxxx
Associated Press. (2019, October 7). Unions sue USDA seeking to halt new pork processing rule. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/aponline/2019/10/07/us/ap-us-pork-slaughter-changes.html
(Associated Press, 2019)
Johnson, K. (2017, January 16). Rwanda takes vital baby steps for preschool education. East African. https://www.theeastafrican.co.ke/Rwanda/News/Rwanda-takes-vital-baby-steps-for-pre-school-education/1433218-3519704-bi37kl/index.html
(Johnson, 2017)
Source: Publication Manual, 10.1 (example 16); Newspaper Article References [APA Style]
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine, Volume(Issue, if available), pages–pages.
Erim, K. T. (1967, August). Ancient Aphrodisias and its marble treasures. National Geographic, 132(2), 280–294.
(Erim, 1967)
If you are unable to find the volume/issue, omit that component.
Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine, Volume(Issue). http://xxxxx
Tizon, A. (2017, June). My family's slave. The Atlantic, 319(5). https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2017/06/lolas-story/524490/
(Tizon, 2017)
The supermarket of the future. (2017, May 23). Consumer Reports. https://www.consumerreports.org/grocery-stores-supermarkets/supermarket-of-the-future/
("The Supermarket," 2017)
Source: Publication Manual, 10.1 (example 15); Magazine Article References [APA Style]
The 7th edition of APA does not differentiate between the format of books, print or electronic. Cite both the same way. If you have an open-access eBook, you may provide the URL at the end, provided it directly takes you to the full text without logging in.
Author, A. A. (Year). Title of book. Publisher. https://doi.org/XXXXXX
George, M. W. (2008). The elements of library research: What every student needs to know. Princeton University Press.
(George, 2008)
Kleiser, G. (2008). Fifteen thousand useful phrases. Funk & Wagnalls; Project Gutenberg. http://www.gutenberg.org/etext/18362 (Original work published 1917)
(Kleiser, 1917/2008)
Samanez-Larkin, G. R. (Ed.). (2019). The aging brain: Functional adaptation across adulthood. American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000143-000
(Samanez-Larkin, 2019)
Note: When citing in-text, it can be difficult if your eBook does not have a page number (most PDF books do). In this case, try to get as specific as possible by mentioning chapter, section, and paragraph numbers.
One of the author's main points is that "people don't rise from nothing" (Gladwell, 2008, Chapter 1, Section 2, para. 5).
Source: Publication Manual, 10.2 (examples 20-26); Book References [APA Style]
Author of Chapter, A. A. & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of chapter or entry. In A. Editor, B. Editor, & C. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (pp. xxx–xxx). Publisher.
Shephered, S. (1988). Shakespeare's private drawer: Shakespeare and homosexuality. In G. Holderness (Ed.), The Shakespeare myth (pp. 96–110). Manchester University Press.
(Shephered, 1988).
Source: Publication Manual, 10.3 (examples 38-46); Edited Book Chapter References [APA Style]
Author, A. A. (Year). Foreign title [Translated title]. Publisher.
Paz, O. (1959). El laberinto de la soledad [The labyrinth of solitude]. Fondo de Cultura Económica.
(Paz, 1959)
Source: Publication Manual, 10.2 (examples 27-28)
The Writing Center provides one-on-one tutoring, workshops and presentations to strengthen your academic reading, writing, critical thinking and research skills. Schedule an appointment today!
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy by 
Writing Literature Reviews: A Guide for Students of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by “A review of the literature consists of reading, analyzing, and writing a synthesis of scholarly materials about a specific topic. When the review is of scientific literature, the focus is on the hypotheses, the scientific methods, the strengths and weaknesses of the study, the results, and the authors’ interpretations and conclusions. A review of the scientific literature is fundamental to understanding the accumulated knowledge about the topic being reviewed."
Garrard, J. (2017). Health sciences literature review made easy: The matrix method. Burlington, MA: Jones and Bartlett Learning. p. 4.
Reviewing the literature is how you build on other research in the field and identify best practices. The resources on the page are here to help you structure your literature review.
Take a look at any literature reviews you find as you search for articles. You may discover helpful structural hints and more research articles via citation searching.
Persuasive writing aims to convince people to believe the writer's point of view. This type of writing can help you communicate ideas, gain support for a movement, or write a grant.
Can I Change Your Mind? The Craft and Art of Persuasive Writing by 
Successful Grant Writing: Strategies for Health and Human Service Professionals by An analytical essay is a written exploration of a topic that argues a claim with contextual evidence. Analytical essays are common in academic writing, but can also appear in trade journals, newspapers and other publications.
Qualitative Methods in Public Health: A Field Guide for Applied Research by 
Handbook of Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods by Narrative writing is a style that allows the writer to tell a story. It can include actual events told in chronological order or it may include imagined events told in a timeline that the author creates. Narrative writing can sustain the reader's attention and help them visualize a realistic experience from the words.
Narrative Matters: The Power of Personal Essay in Health Policy by Discover general writing guides and tips.
Writing Skills in Practice: A Practical Guide for Health Professionals by 
