The resources on this page are recommended for when you need to find evidence-based research literature and other types of articles for literature reviews, annotated bibliographies, and other projects. You'll also find search and evaluation strategies to help you find the best articles for your topic.
Not sure where to start? This interactive tutorial will walk you through how to search for articles.
This link opens in a new window
When you're looking at search results in a database you're going to see a few different ways to get to the full article, usually either:
or 
Both of these will take you to the article (if we have access).
If you see the Access Options screen below, it means we don't have full-text access to the article. Try Google Scholar first to see if it's available for free. If not, click Request via Interlibrary Loan. We'll get the article for you from another library, usually within a few days.
Trust It or Trash It? is a free online tool that helps you evaluate health information sources.
Trust It or Trash It? was created by The Genetic Alliance.
1. Open Google Scholar.
2. Click on the Settings link at the top of the Google Scholar page.
3. On the Scholar Settings page, click Library Links in the left sidebar.
4. Enter Simmons University into the search bar and click search.
5. If prompted, check Simmons University - Check Simmons Full Text.
6. Click Save at the bottom of the screen.
If you see a link to the right of the citation that says [PDF] or [HTML], the full-text article is available.
For example, search for How to Read a Scientific Research Paper by Charles Durbin.
Click on the [PDF] rcjournal.com link to open the article. Enter your Simmons username and password if prompted.
If you see a link to the right of the citation that says Check Simmons Full-Text, we may have access to the full-text. Click the link to find out.
If you see the following Access Options page, it means that the library does not have full-text access to that article.
But you can still get the article! Check out the Get Articles that Simmons Doesn't Have tab in this box for more information about Interlibrary Loan.
If you don't see a link to the right of a citation, it means that the full-text article isn't available online or through the library's subscriptions.
But you can still get the article! See the Get Articles that Simmons Doesn't Have tab in this box for more information.
If Simmons doesn't have an article, we can borrow a copy for you from another library (you can also do this for books and other types of resources).
1. Log into your Interlibrary Loan account with your Simmons username and password.
2. Click Create request, then click Articles & Book Chapters.
3. Fill out as much information as you can about the article, including all fields marked with an asterisk.
4. Click Submit request. Within a few business days, you'll get an email with instructions for accessing the article.
Google Scholar also has some tools that can help with your research. Below most references, you'll see several links:
Click on the Cited by... link to see other articles that have cited this one. This can help you find additional articles on the same topic.
Click on the Cite button to get the full citation in five different citation styles (including APA). You can also use this link to export references to EndNote or another citation manager.
Looking for a particular article? You might have a citation for an assigned reading or a reference that you found in another article.
This interactive tutorial will walk you through how to find the article from the citation:
Still have questions? Contact the Library Service Desk!