Here some some general databases to get started with for your research.
Included on this page:
|
Books & E-Books |
Newspapers | Videos | Historical & Primary |
| Reviews | Google Scholar | Statistics & Demographics | Dissertations & Theses |
| ProQuest | Commentary & Debate | Gale |
For books and e-books search the Simmons University Library Catalog or the Boston Public Library Catalog. Both websites allows you to limit your search to e-books or physical books depending on your preference. Sometimes, you can also find e-books using the Library Search on the Simmons Library website.
Simmons University Archives - The strength of the University Archives lies in documents that show the history or development of Simmons University. A great resource for primary sources related to Simmons University. It also maintains a collection of historical books and charitable organization records.
Boston Primary Sources
- Massachusetts Historical Society
United States Statistics
- Explore Census Data (Formerly American FactFinder)
Age Statistics
- Administration for Families & Children
Gender Statistics
Health Statistics
Educational Statistics
-
Social Work Statistics
Current Newspapers
- Boston Globe Daily Digital Edition
- New York Times (1851 - present)
- Washington Post (2014 - present)
Historical Newspapers
Book Reviews
Film Reviews
- New York Times Movie Reviews
Concert & Exhibition Reviews
There are four main Gale databases that the library provides access to:
Gale eBooks : a searchable online general reference collection that includes titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science and the social sciences.
Gale eBooks Education : formally Gale Education Virtual Reference Library and includes many titles published by the Association for Supervision and Curricular Development (ASCD)
Gale Literary Sources : provides combined access to Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Gale eBooks, and Contemporary Authors Online
Global Issues (Gale In Context) : provides perspectives on national and global current events from international news providers whihc you can browse by issue or by region
Library Streaming Videos
- Kanopy
- Swank Feature Films Database
Library DVDs
- The Simmons Library has a limited DVD collection, most of which are Course Reserves. There are also some media viewing stations in the library where students can view the videos and check out headphones.
Google Scholar is an online search tool that you can use to find articles, books, theses, court decisions, etc. When available, Google Scholar will link to the full-text version of the resource. You can also link Google Scholar to the Library Search so that when you search it shows the full-text options for both interfaces.
There are two ProQuest databases that can be a good starting point depending on your topic:
ProQuest Ebook Central : this source offers access to ProQuest's Academic Complete, University Press Ebook and College Complete collections
ProQuest Science Database : supports students studying applied and general sciences and includes 7.3 million full text articles from over 1600 sources, with charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos and other graphical elements
Online United States Theses & Dissertations
- Dissertations and Theses Full-Text Global
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Theses & Dissertations at Simmons
