Occupational Outlook Handbook - Political Scientists
Overview of the profession from the U.S. Department of Labor. Includes information about: General nature of the work, working conditions, employment, training and qualifications, job outlook, earnings, and related occupations.
Occupation Profile: Political Scientists, Massachusetts
The CareerOneStop website provides national and state data for wages and employment trends. Use this website to search for other career profiles or to look at data for other states.
What Can I Do with This Degree?
Portland State University breaks down some of the areas a polisci major might work in, who will hire them, and what strategies are needed to get into those jobs.
American Foreign Policy Council (AFPC)
AFPC is a non-profit organization recognized as a source insightful analysis on issues of foreign policy, and works closely with members of Congress, the Executive Branch and the policymaking community.
American Society for Public Administration
The American Society for Public Administration is the largest and most prominent professional association for public administration. It is dedicated to advancing the art, science, teaching and practice of public and non-profit administration.
Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM)
APPAM holds an annual research conference, publishes a multi-disciplinary journal, advocates for greater diversity, and sponsors programs to encourage youth to participate in public policy and management.
Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP)
CAWP is a source of scholarly research and current data about American women’s political participation. They aim to promote greater understanding about women's participation in politics and government and to enhance women's influence and leadership in public life.
Careers in Government
Oldest and largest, award-winning site for finding jobs in government, education and other public sector agencies. Includes career advice and trends in industry.
Idealist
Excellent list of paid and unpaid non-profit internship opportunities.
List of Think Tanks
A custom Google Search set up by Harvard lists over 700 Think Tanks where you can look for jobs.
U.S. Department of State
Careers with the U.S. Department of State, including Foreign Service and Civil Service positions, and student employment programs.
The World Bank Careers
Lists positions open in D.C. headquarters and field offices, including a Young Professionals program and a Junior Professional Associates program, geared to recent graduates, and internships.
Ford Foundation
The Ford Foundation aims to support visionary leaders and organizations on the front lines of social change. The site hosts a grant database with 1900 grants to consider.
Fulbright Public Policy Fellowship
The Fulbright Public Policy Fellowship allows fellows to serve in professional placements as "special assistants" in foreign government ministries or institutions and to gain hands-on public sector experience in participating foreign countries while simultaneously carrying out an academic research/study project.
Fulbright Student Program
The Fulbright Program is an international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government aiming to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. In depth information is provided on the different programs available for students.
NRC Ranking of U.S. Political Science Ph.D. Programs
From the Chronicle of Higher Education, this page provides data for graduate programs in Political Science from the most recent study conducted by the National Research Council.
Congressional Black Caucus Foundation
Provides stipend summer internships for undergraduate students and year-long fellowships for graduate students in the United State Senate and House of Representatives.
Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute
Provides stipend summer internships for undergraduate students and year-long fellowships for graduate students in the United State Senate and House of Representatives
International Institute of New England
The Institute provides newcomers with direct and practical assistance in the form of English & literacy courses, Refugee Resettlement services, Citizenship Education, Economic Development, Employment Training & Placement, Legal Aid and Social Services (e.g. crisis intervention, mental health counseling, human trafficking prevention).
The White House Internship: A Public Service Leadership Program
The White House Internship Program provides a unique opportunity to gain valuable professional experience and build leadership skills. This hands-on program is designed to mentor and cultivate today’s young leaders, strengthen their understanding of the Executive Office and prepare them for future public service opportunities.
WISH: Washington Intern Student Housing
You've landed an internship in Washington, DC. Now what? WISH has been housing interns, students and teachers in Washington, DC for over 20 years, and its founders have been hosting interns since 1990. Its many Capitol Hill housing locations make it easy to walk to the National Mall, the Congress, the Supreme Court, the Library of Congress, and of course, the museums and art monuments. All WISH locations are Metro accessible.
What's going on in Political Science?
Keep up with the latest research news and issues in political science from Science Daily.
