Fellowships in Public Service
From Idealist, a guide to deciding whether a fellowship is right for you, and resources for finding fellowships.
Fulbright Public Policy Fellowship
The Fulbright Public Policy Fellowship allows fellows to serve in professional placements as "special assistants" in foreign government ministries or institutions and to gain hands-on public sector experience in participating foreign countries while simultaneously carrying out an academic research/study project.
Fulbright Student Program
The Fulbright Program is an international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government aiming to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. In depth information is provided on the different programs available for students.
NASPAA: Financial Assistance
This section provides an overview of available resources for graduate students, such as information regarding financial aid, scholarships, fellowships and loans for prospective students.
American Public Human Services Association
APHSA pursues excellence in health and human services by supporting state and local agencies, informing policymakers, and working with our partners to drive innovative, integrated and efficient solutions in policy and practice.
American Society for Public Administration
The American Society for Public Administration is the largest and most prominent professional association for public administration. It is dedicated to advancing the art, science, teaching and practice of public and non-profit administration.
DOJ Pride
DOJ Pride is the recognized employee resource organization for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ+) employees and their allies in all U.S. Department of Justice Offices, Boards, and Divisions; the ATF, BOP, DEA, FBI, USMS, OJP, and USAO; and contractors in any of these components.
Federal Employees Association/Government Employees Association
The purpose and objective of the FEA/GEA, which is owned by its members and operated by current and former government employees is to promote the social and financial welfare of all government employees.
Federally Employed Women
Federally Employed Women works to end sex and gender discrimination, to encourage diversity for inclusion and equity in the workplace, and for the advancement and professional growth of women in federal service.
Government Employees Association
GEA was established to provide active and retired federal, state and local government employees (including members of the military and national guard services) with a network of resources.
List of Government Associations
Social networking site for government employees provides a list of of government employee associations around the country.
National Active and Retired Federal Employees Association (NARFE)
The National Active and Retired Federal Employees Association (NARFE) is dedicated to protecting and enhancing the earned pay, retirement and health care benefits of federal employees, retirees and their survivors.
National Association of Government Employees
The National Association of Government Employees (NAGE) is an organization of members united by the belief in the dignity and worth of workers and the services they provide and dedicated to improving the lives of workers and their families and creating a more just and humane society.
The Peace Corps
By far the biggest American volunteer organization overseas, this is a popular choice for many. The Peace Corps provides full travel, living, medical and dental expenses while in-country as well as a settling-in allowance. Volunteers are also granted loan forgiveness for some types of loans. Requires a 27-month commitment.
Teach for America
Commit to two years teaching in an under-resourced urban or rural school.
U.S. Department of State
Find information on work opportunities with the State Department such as a Foreign Service Officer, Foreign Service Specialist, Diplomatic Security, as well as Other Opportunities such as Civilian Response Corps, Employment in U.S. Embassies and Consulates, and U.S. Agency for International Development.
U.S. Department of State Student Programs
From internships, to clerkships, to fellowships, there are all kinds of opportunities for work and learning from the U.S State Department.
UN Careers
Find career opportunities with several UN branches.
USAJOBS
The official job site of the U.S. Federal Government. Search here for Federal jobs and employment information.
USAJOBS: Student Jobs
Under President Obama’s leadership, the Federal Government has taken steps to help students and recent graduates join the Federal service. New opportunities will appear on USAJOBS as agencies post them. We encourage you to visit this site periodically, or set up a saved search.
Careers in Government
Oldest and largest, award-winning site for finding jobs in government, education and other public sector agencies. Includes career advice and trends in industry.
ICMA Career Resources Page
Visit the International City/County Management Association (ICMA) page on careers to find out about working in local government.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Careers in government can cross many occupations. Search the Occupational Outlook Handbook to find out more about these opportunities.
Pathways for Students & Recent Graduates to Federal Careers
The Pathways Programs offer clear paths to Federal internships for students from high school through post-graduate school and to careers for recent graduates, and provide meaningful training and career development opportunities for individuals who are at the beginning of their Federal service. As a student or recent graduate, you can begin your career in the Federal government by choosing the path that best describes you and where you are in your academics.
PublicServiceCareers.org
This job board and career information website is brought to you by the three most prominent groups in professional public service careers and education: NASPAA, ASPA & APPAM. Whether you are a recent MPA graduate, a ‘veteran’ of the public sector, or a Ph.D., this site can help you build and sustain your career. Inside you will discover career advice/articles, profiles of accomplished public servants , and information on graduate degrees (the MPA & MPP) and some of the many career paths recipients pursue.
Congressional Black Caucus Foundation
Provides stipend summer internships for undergraduate students and year-long fellowships for graduate students in the United State Senate and House of Representatives.
Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute
Provides stipend summer internships for undergraduate students and year-long fellowships for graduate students in the United State Senate and House of Representatives
Federal Diversity Internship Initiative
Provides stipend internships for minority undergraduate students in the United States Senate and the House of Representatives.
Federal Internship Program
This program is designed to provide students enrolled in a wide variety of educational institutions, from high school to graduate level, with opportunities to work in agencies and explore Federal careers while still in school and while getting paid for the work performed.
Go Government
Gain experience and make connections within government as an intern with a federal agency. Internships include many areas of interest and industries.
Idealist
Excellent list of paid and unpaid non-profit internship opportunities.
The White House Internship: A Public Service Leadership Program
The White House Internship Program provides a unique opportunity to gain valuable professional experience and build leadership skills. This hands-on program is designed to mentor and cultivate today’s young leaders, strengthen their understanding of the Executive Office and prepare them for future public service opportunities.
WISH: Washington Intern Student Housing
You've landed an internship in Washington, DC. Now what? WISH has been housing interns, students and teachers in Washington, DC for over 20 years, and its founders have been hosting interns since 1990. Its many Capitol Hill housing locations make it easy to walk to the National Mall, the Congress, the Supreme Court, the Library of Congress, and of course, the museums and art monuments. All WISH locations are Metro accessible.
