LibGuides: SOCI 321: Sociology of Food: Start My Research

WEBSITES

The Food and Agriculture Policy Research Institute (FAPRI) A unique, dual-university research program, established in 1984 by a grant from the U.S. Congress, to prepare baseline projections for the U.S. agricultural sector and international commodity markets and to develop capability for policy analysis using comprehensive data and computer modeling systems of the world agricultural market.
National Center for Food and Agricultural Policy Fosters and conducts objective, non-advocacy research, analysis, and education to inform public policy on food, agriculture, natural resources, environmental quality, and rural economics.
The Food Bibliography The Food Bibliography is an on-line resource providing a growing data base of bibliographic materials for researchers in the field of food history and, more generally, food studies.
AGree Seeks to drive positive change in the food and agriculture system by connecting and challenging leaders from diverse communities to catalyze action and elevate food and agriculture as a national priority.

OTHER GUIDES TO CONSIDER

How to find Statistics and Demographics
by Lena Kilburn Last Updated Mar 5, 2025 31 views this year
Sociology
by Linda Schuller Last Updated Jan 22, 2025 40 views this year
Political Science
by Lena Kilburn Last Updated Mar 5, 2025 10 views this year
Environmental Science
by Jen Goldberg Last Updated Jan 22, 2025 32 views this year

STATISTICS

USDA ERS ERS research focuses on food security in U.S. households, food security's impact on the well-being of children, adults, families, and communities, and food security's relationship to public policies, public assistance programs, and the economy.
USDA: Dept. of Agriculture The Economic Research Service provides key indicators, outlook analysis, and a wealth of data on the U.S. food and agricultural system. Along with information on farming practices, structure, and performance, ERS produces data on such diverse topics as farm and rural households, commodity markets, food marketing, agricultural trade, diet and health, food safety, food and nutrition assistance programs, natural resources and the environment, and the rural economy.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
FAO Statistical Yearbook The FAO Statistical Yearbook is the foremost collection of statistical data on world food and agriculture.
Data.gov Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Earth Policy Institute EPI’s goals are (1) to provide a global plan (Plan B) for moving the world onto an environmentally and economically sustainable path, (2) to provide examples demonstrating how the plan would work, and (3) to keep the media, policymakers, academics, environmentalists, and other decision-makers focused on the process of building a Plan B economy.

KEY DATABASES

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive sociology research database, covering all sub-disciplines and related areas.
SocINDEX with Full Text provides extensive coverage of sociology and related social sciences literature. The database includes journals, books, and conference papers with some content dating to 1908. Coverage includes author profiles and specialized sociology indexing. This resource is essential for social science research and education.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive research database covering all aspects of environmental studies and related fields.
Environment Complete provides extensive coverage of environmental issues including ecology, energy, natural resources, and pollution. The database offers full text access to scholarly journals and reference works. Content spans academic research and practical applications. This resource supports environmental science research and policy analysis.
Gale OneFile Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window A specialized database focusing on environmental issues, policy development, and scientific research.
Gale OneFile Environmental Studies and Policy provides comprehensive coverage of environmental topics from scientific, governmental, and corporate perspectives. Content includes over five million articles from magazines and academic journals since 1980. Coverage spans environmental science, policy making, and conservation efforts. This database supports research in environmental studies and policy development.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering nearly all academic subjects, making it an ideal starting point for research in any field.
Academic Search Ultimate is a comprehensive database of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering nearly all academic disciplines. The collection includes both peer-reviewed and general interest publications, with content dating back to 1865. It offers extensive full-text access to academic literature across the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and more. This database serves as an excellent starting point for research projects in any subject area.
Agricola This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database of agricultural research, covering publications in agriculture, nutrition, forestry, animal science, and related fields.
Agricola provides access to bibliographic records from the National Agricultural Library and other institutions. The database covers all aspects of agriculture and related sciences, including forestry, animal science, and environmental topics. Content includes journal articles, books, and audiovisual materials. This resource is valuable for researchers, practitioners, and students in agricultural and environmental sciences.

Liaison Librarian

Linda Schuller

Email Me

Contact:

E-111

617.521.2767

Subjects: Africana Studies, Behavior Analysis, Business, Communications, East Asian Studies, Economics, Education, French, Health Care Administration, Health Informatics, History, International Relations, Library & Information Science, Political Science, Psychology, Spanish