Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
The database provides information on all federal assistance programs available to state and local governments; federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Provided by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Administration for Children & Families, the Child Welfare Information Gateway offers a library of articles on child welfare and adoption issues. Many but not all articles are available online for free. Some may need to be ordered or requested from your local library using interlibrary loan services.
ERIC - Education Resource Information Center
An excellent freely available bibliographic database sponsored by the Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences. Many of the top social work journals are indexed in ERIC and some articles are available as full-text PDF files. Others can be received by using interlibrary loan services from your local library.
The Green Book
The Green Book is published by the House Ways & Means Committee to provide background information and data on government programs under the jurisdiction of this committee. It includes succinct information on Social Security, Unemployment Insurance, Medicare, Social Services Block Grants and other benefits programs important to social work.
Housing and Urban Development Data at HUD USER
It provides reports, executive summaries, case studies, and guidebooks span the fields of housing and urban development, including the original electronic data sets generated by PD&R sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey Some publications are available for downloading in the Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) which allows the document to be downloaded, viewed, and printed with all of its original formatting and graphics.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
This database contains summaries and citations for more than 200,000 publications on juvenile justice, family violence, drugs and crime, rape, gang crimes and other criminal justice issues. Citations are available from research reports, journal articles, books, and unpublished research.
All research is available from the NCJRS Library, using either interlibrary loan or the library's fee-based photocopying service.
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. .
PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Provides access to citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. Citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
PubMed Central is a subset of PubMed; PubMed Central consists of all open access articles.
SAMHSA Guide to Evidence-Based Practices
Browse lists of web sites which address specific subject areas related to substance abuse and mental health or browse information based on age group or setting.
SAMHSA's National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP)
A searchable online registry of mental health and substance abuse interventions that have been reviewed and rated by independent reviewers. As of July 5, 2010 this registry had 164 interventions reviewed.
US Government Open Data (Data.gov)
Data & Statistics about the USA (stats and maps from several federal & state gov't agencies)
Explore Census Data (US Census Bureau)
HealthData.gov (Data sets from U.S. Health and Human Services agencies)
National Center for Education Statistics
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect
National Institute of Mental Health Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics
Office of Research Evaluation and Statistics (Social Security stats)
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Primary database for federal publications that include descriptive records for historical and current publications made available through the federal depository system since 1994. Many publications currently contain permanent GPO PURL links leading to online full text documents issued by three branches of government.
GAO Report (U.S. Government Accountability Office)
GAO is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress as the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars. With virtually the entire federal government subject to its review, the agency issues over 900 reports and testimonies a year.
USASpending
Searchable database of Federal government spending, with complete annual data beginning with FY 2000. It provides citizens with easy access to government contracts, grants and other award data. Users can search by agencies, competition type, and products/services provided.
