Open Access Social Work Resources: Databases & Online Resources

The CEBC provides child welfare professionals with easy access to vital information about selected child welfare related programs.

The Campbell Library of Systematic Reviews provides free online access to systematic reviews in the areas of education, criminal justice and social welfare. The library is a peer-reviewed source of reliable evidence of the effects of interventions.

The Guide to Community Preventive Services (Community Guide) serves as a filter for scientific literature on specific health problems that can be large, inconsistent, uneven in quality, and even inaccessible.

Blueprints for Violence Prevention has identified 11 prevention and intervention programs that meet a strict scientific standard of program effectiveness.

Contains abstracts of quality assessed and critically appraised systematic reviews. Focuses primarily on systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health care interventions, and the delivery and organization of health services.

The EBP Substance Abuse Database is a small, but growing, database of evidence-based interventions for treating substance use disorders. Interventions were selected according to criteria described on the About EBP page.

Evidence-based Practice Centers (EPC) Program of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) review all relevant scientific literature on a wide spectrum of clinical topics to produce various types of evidence reports intended to inform health care decisions by patients, providers, policymakers, and other stakeholders.

Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Coordinating (EPPI) Centre is part of the Social Science Research Unit at the Institute of Education, University of London. Offers resources related to health, education, and welfare.

List of behavioral health projects by the Human Services Resource Institute.

This site is sponsored and maintained by the National Health Service (UK).

NAHIC: The National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center. Resources for Evidence-Based Programs by Topic Area

MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.

This website allows the user to find research-tested intervention programs and products, review summary information and usefulness/integrity scores for each program, order or download materials to adapt for use in your own program, and obtain readability scores for products distributed to the public.

A comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents produced by the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.

NREPP is a searchable database of interventions for the prevention and treatment of mental and substance use disorders. SAMHSA has developed this resource to help people, agencies, and organizations implement programs and practices in their communities.

The Model Programs Guide MPG database of evidence-based programs covers the entire continuum of youth services from prevention through sanctions to reentry.

To help those working in drug abuse prevention, NIDA, in cooperation with the prevention scientists, presents examples of research-based programs and resources for parents and educators that feature a variety of strategies proven to be effective.

This new Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center aims to provide communities, clinicians, policy-makers and others in the field with the information and tools they need to incorporate evidence-based practices into their communities or clinical settings.

SAMHSA provides this web guide to assist the public with simple and direct connections to web sites that contain information about interventions to prevent and/or treat mental and substance use disorders.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) provides access to several evidence-based practice resources on a range of topics.

This site summarizes the findings from well-designed randomized controlled trials that, in their view, have particularly important policy implications — because they show, for example, that a social intervention has a major effect, or that a widely-used intervention has little or no effect.

The purpose of the Best Practice Registry is to identify, review, and disseminate information about best practices that address specific objectives of the National Strategy for Suicide Prevention.

From the Oregon Dept. of Human Services. Information on evidence-based services and processes approved as evidence-based.

Provides detailed information on anxiety disorders and treatment options.

Raises the awareness and implementation of positive, evidence-based practices and to build an enhanced and more accessible database to support those practices.

Studies children at every stage of development to improve outcomes for children by providing research, data, and analysis to the people and institutions whose decisions and actions affect children.

Promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families by connecting child welfare, adoption and related professionals to essential information.

Provides patients, family members, health care professionals, and members of the public easy access to information on clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions.

LJAF develops and supports initiatives that encourage governments and nonprofit organizations to help build the evidence base for social interventions and to consider reliable evidence as one of the primary factors in their decisions. The goal is to ensure that limited resources are spent wisely on programs that produce meaningful, lasting improvements in people’s lives.

CSWE recognizes that teaching social work students how to access, analyze, interpret, and appropriately employ evidence is critical to effective social work practice.

HSRI team of professionals provides research, support and guidance to clients looking to develop more efficient and responsive service systems, combining rigorous quantitative research with community-based participatory research.

Creates training resources to help bridge the gap between behavioral health research and practice.

Interventions for treating substance use disorders.

The National Academies provide independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation.

Helps State Lead Agencies work with their funded programs to facilitate appropriate conversations when considering implementing evidence-based programs and practices.

Has a directory of resources and information about the implementation of evidence-based mental health practices.

The only national association to represent state mental health commissioners/directors and their agencies.

The mission of the National Implementation Research Network (NIRN) is to contribute to the best practices and science of implementation, organization change, and system reinvention to improve outcomes across the spectrum of human services.

Contains information on many mental disorders as well as information on NIMH research, publications, and activities.

Represents practitioners, and researchers committed to promoting evidence-based policies and practices that improve the quality of health care services in the United States.

An umbrella entity for three Center of Excellence initiatives: Assertive Community Treatment (ACT), Substance Abuse and Mental Illness (SAMI) & Supported Employment (SE).

Provides free access to MEDLINE, NLM’s database of citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, health care systems, etc.

Disseminates knowledge-based good practice guidance for service users, carers, practitioners, providers, and policymakers.

VA’s Quality Enhancement Research Initiative (QUERI), translates research discoveries and innovations into better patient care and systems improvements.