Skip to Main Content
Helpful Simmons Resources
Background Sources
Academic Search Ultimate
Why search here?
Academic Search Ultimate is a great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic.
What's included?
It contains a large number of journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed, from numerous subject areas. This resource features mostly full text content, and goes as far back as 1865.
America: History & Life plus Full Text
Why search here?
America: History and Life is a user-friendly database that contains abstracts from articles, media and book reviews, and dissertations about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.What's included?
It includes journals that go back to 1964, as well as English abstracts of foreign language articles.
Humanities E-books
Why search here?
Humanities E-Books (HEB) is a fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars. These are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.What's included?
HEB is an online collection of approximately 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities, accessible through institutional and individual subscription. These titles are offered by the ACLS in collaboration with thirty learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and the Michigan Publishing division at the University of Michigan Library.
JSTOR
Why search here?
JSTOR provides access to a wide variety of scholarly journals and monographs in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Use JSTOR to find historical information rather than current articles.What's included?
Thousands of full-text scholarly articles, some dating back to the 1800s.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Why search here?
MLA Bibliography includes two parts: MLA Bibliography and MLA Directory of Periodicals, which are both produced by the Modern Language Association. These sources focus on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism and dramatic arts, but also include other subjects.What's included?
MLA Bibliography provides citations for journal articles, books, essay collections, working papers, dissertations, etc.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Why search here?
Open Access Theses and Dissertations indexes 5.2 million freely-accessible theses and dissertations from over 1100 academic institutions.What's included?
Information about open access theses and dissertations, with links to the full-text originals.
This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers
Index and bibliography of philosophy papers maintained by a community of philosophers.
Project MUSE
Why search here?
Project MUSE contains scholarly articles from major journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities as well as ebooks.What's included?
Full-text scholarly articles and ebooks on literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and more.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Why search here?
This online version of the 10-volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy is regarded as the definitive reference resource in the field and features 2,000 original entries from a team of over 1,300 of the world's most respected scholars and philosophers.What's included?
Covers a wide range of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy, with over 25,000 hot-linked cross-references between articles and links to other editorially reviewed websites.
Open Access Directory: Philosophy
Use this resource to identify electronic journals in the fields of Philosophy and Religion that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full text, and accessible without cost. Includes links and titles to open access journals.
Open Library of the Humanities
The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) publishes open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs). All of its academic articles are subject to rigorous peer review and the scholarship they publish showcases some of the most dynamic research taking place in the humanities disciplines today – from classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history, to political theory, sociology, anthropology, film and new media studies, and digital humanities.
TPM Online: The Philosophers' Magazine
TPM Online, featuring the best in interactive philosophy, is one of the websites of the international philosophy magazine, TPM: The Philosophers' Magazine.
Credo Reference
Why search here?
Credo Reference is a searchable collection of over 500 reference books across a wide variety of subjects from top publishers such as Cambridge University Press, Wiley and Elsevier.What's included?
Use Credo to help define your topic and then use the links on topic pages to discover more in-depth information in books and journals, find thousands of art images and connect your ideas using concept mapping.
Gale eBooks
Why search here?
Gale eBooks (formally Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a searchable online general reference collection. You can search across all the reference books or select a subject area. What's included?
Gale eBooks includes titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science and the social sciences.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Philosophy Bites
Podcasts of top philosophers interviewed on bite-sized topics.
Philosophy Research Base
Philosophy Research Base is categorized by history, subject and author. Integrating text resources with the best online resources, this study guide attempts to aid both academic and general interest in all philosophical genres and their related fields.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.
Voice of the Shuttle: Philosophy
From UC Santa Barbara, an authoritative set of links to philosophy resources on the web.
This link opens in a new window
