Academic Search UltimateWhy search here?
Academic Search Ultimate is a great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic.
It contains a large number of journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed, from numerous subject areas. This resource features mostly full text content, and goes as far back as 1865.
America: History & Life plus Full TextWhy search here?
America: History and Life is a user-friendly database that contains abstracts from articles, media and book reviews, and dissertations about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.What's included?
It includes journals that go back to 1964, as well as English abstracts of foreign language articles.
Boston Globe 1980-PresentWhy search here?
Searchable database of the Boston Globe.What's included?
Full text of articles published in the Boston Globe from 1980 to the present.
Available via the MBLC.
Boston Globe HistoricalWhy search here?
This database includes the full text and images from articles published in The Boston Globe from 1872-1988. Use this database to find news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements as well as historical photos, stock photos and advertisements.What's included?
The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, from cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
Credo ReferenceWhy search here?
Credo Reference is a searchable collection of over 500 reference books across a wide variety of subjects from top publishers such as Cambridge University Press, Wiley and Elsevier.What's included?
Use Credo to help define your topic and then use the links on topic pages to discover more in-depth information in books and journals, find thousands of art images and connect your ideas using concept mapping.
Gale eBooksWhy search here?
Gale eBooks (formally Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a searchable online general reference collection. You can search across all the reference books or select a subject area. What's included?
Gale eBooks includes titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science and the social sciences.
Historical Abstracts plus Full TextWhy search here?
Historical Abstracts provides information on world history (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History & Life.) Topics include military, education and women's history from 1450 to the present.What's included?
Indexing of 1,800 academic historical journal articles in over 40 languages dating back to 1955.
HistoryMakersWhy search here?
HistoryMakers is the largest African American video oral history archive.What's included?
With over 9,000 hours (2,800 interviews) of unique content, the HistoryMakers Digital Archive features videotaped first person testimony of both well-known and unsung African Americans recorded across the United States as well as places like Norway, Mexico and the Caribbean. Interviews are housed permanently at the Library of Congress.
JSTORWhy search here?
JSTOR provides access to a wide variety of scholarly journals and monographs in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Use JSTOR to find historical information rather than current articles.What's included?
Thousands of full-text scholarly articles, some dating back to the 1800s.
New York Times (1851 - present)Why search here?
Simmons Library provides complete access to NYTimes.com for all current students, staff, and faculty members through a Group Pass. Individual registration is required annually.What's included?
In addition to current content, access a rich portal, New York Times in Education, with specially curated articles and instructional strategies by faculty consultants.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)Why search here?
The Oxford English Dictionary is the most authoritative dictionary of the English language. What's included?
In both the print and online versions, entries include a history of where a word was first published, alternate spellings, pronunciations and an etymological analysis.
Project MUSEWhy search here?
Project MUSE contains scholarly articles from major journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities as well as ebooks.What's included?
Full-text scholarly articles and ebooks on literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and more.
Scopus IndexWhy search here?
Keep track of what's happening in the research world. Across all research fields—science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities—Scopus is an index that delivers a broad overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information that researchers like you need.What's included?
Scopus has twice as many titles and over 30% more publishers listed than any other A&I database, with interdisciplinary content that covers the research spectrum: timely updates from thousands of peer-reviewed journals; preliminary findings from millions of conference papers; and the thorough analysis in thousands of books.
TimesMachineIncludes scanned copies of over 150 years of New York Times journalism, as it originally appeared. Access to TimesMachine is included with your Simmons Group Pass account.
World History | SmithsonianOrganizes world history articles from the Smithsonian Magazine. Many of the articles in this collection provide useful background information on major events in world history.
Digital SchombergInformation and digital objects on global black experience, including exhibitions, books, articles, print, audio, and more.
National Museum of American HistoryThe National Museum of American History collects artifacts of all kinds—from gowns to locomotives—to preserve for the American people an enduring record of their past. The Museum has more than 3 million artifacts in its collection. Information and photos of selected objects are available in the online collections database. The database is a work-in-progress and new items will be added regularly.
BlackPastReference source that includes primary documents for African and African American people in history.
World History MattersWorld History Matters is a portal to world history websites developed by the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.