Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the links below to locate dissertations and theses from the United States in both proprietary and open access collections.
Dissertations and Theses Full-Text Global
ProQUest Dissertations & Theses includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Open Access Theses and Dissertations indexes 5.2 million freely-accessible theses and dissertations from over 1100 academic institutions with links to the full-text originals.
OAIster includes more than 50 million records representing digital resources, including dissertations and theses, from more than 2,000 contributors.
EBSCO Open Dissertations
From EBSCO, this site provides free detailed records for more than 1.2 million electronic theses and dissertations from institutions around the world and in all disciplines.
Search eScholarship for University of California faculty and student publications, including Open Access theses and dissertations.
NDLTD Global ETD Search
Started by Virginia Tech, the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is a searchable global database of almost 4 million electronic theses and dissertations from the NDLTD archive.
OhioLink Electronic Theses & Dissertations Center
Browse electronic theses and dissertations from over 30 participating colleges and universities in the state of Ohio.
With PQDT Open, you can read the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge from ProQuest.
Use the links below to locate international dissertations and theses in open access collections.
British Library EThOS
Individuals may search this database of over 400,000 British theses and dissertations, without a fee. Some theses may be available on an open access basis. For others, individuals may need to request the item through Interlibrary Loan or wait for digitization.
DART-Europe E-theses Portal
DART-Europe provides access to 596,189 open access research theses from 579 Universities in 28 European countries.
National Library of Australia: Trove
Search Trove to find almost a million Australian theses. Via the 'Help on finding Australian theses' section of the Trove website, you can find out: how to browse recently produced theses; how to browse recent Australian theses; how to do a more advanced, specific search for theses; how to find a particular institution’s theses only; and how to follow new research in a particular field.
Over 50,000 electronic theses and dissertations are available from Library and Archives Canada. For full text, check the button next to Electronic Theses in the box labeled "Search For."
More Dissertations & Theses on the Web
More colleges and universities such as the University of Minnesota are setting up digital repositories to make theses and dissertations freely available on the Internet. Try searching for keywords, author, title, or academic institution in Google Scholar, to check for full-text availability.