Skip to Main Content
Library
LibGuides
Archives and Cultural Heritage Informatics
Archival Metadata Standards
Search Research Guides
Search
Archives and Cultural Heritage Informatics: Archival Metadata Standards
This guide is to help guide MLIS students that are concentrating in Archives Management or Cultural Heritage Informatics
Home
The Profession
Finding Books & Articles
Archival Metadata Standards
Preservation & Conservation
Rare Books
Writing & Citing
Careers
International Council on Archives (ICA)
Prinicples of Access to Archives
ISAD(G) General International Standard Archival Description
ISDF:International Standard for Describing Functions
International Efforts Toward Descriptive Standards
History of ICA's Committee on Descriptive Standards (CDS)
Describing Archives A Content Standard (DACS)
Describing Archives A Content Standard (SAA) 2nd ed
SAA Announces DACS 2nd Edition (Library Journal)
Pathways to Provenance: DACS and Creator Descriptions
DACS and RDA Insights and Questions from the New Archival Descriptive Standard
Encoded Archival Description (EAD)
EAD Official Site (Library of Congress)
EAD Tag Library
Development and Structure of the Encoded Archival Description (EAD) Document Type Definition
Encoded Archival Description: Are Finding Aids Boundary Spanners or Barriers for Users?
EAD@10 Proceedings (SAA)
Encoded Archival Content: Corporate Bodies, Person and Families (EAC-CPF)
Encoded Archival Description Roundtable (SAA)
ISAAR (CPF): International Standard Archival Authority Record For Corporate Bodies, Persons and Families (2nd Edition)
Additional Standards
Metadata Encoding and Transmission Standard (METS)
Metadata Object Description Schema (MODS)
Text Encoding Initiative (TEI)
Machine Readable Cataloging (MARC)
MARC Standards
Understanding MARC Bibliographic Machine-Readable Cataloging
Understanding MARC Authority Records: Machine-Readable Cataloging
Bibliographic Standards and Formats (OCLC)
Jess - Ex. 5 - Mind's I: Translation #12, 1965
Extensible Markup Language (XML)
XML in Ten Points (2001)
Introducing XML (2004)
What is XML?
XML Library Guide (for LIS 469 XML course)
TEI: A Gentle Introduction to XML
Anglo-American Cataloging Rules, 2nd edition (AACR2)
Select
Cataloger's Desktop (GSLIS only)
Classification Web (SLIS only)
Connexion (SLIS only)
Web Dewey (use Connexion login)
DACS
WorldCat
Sears Subject Headings
AACR2 (SLIS only)
Complete List of Cataloger's Desktop Resources
Library of Congress (LC)
Archival Description at the Library of Congress
Standards at the Library of Congress
Library of Congress Authorities
Resource Description and Access (RDA)
Resource Description and Access (RDA): Cataloging Rules for the 20th Century
RDA Toolkit Online Access (request login from faculty)
Development of Archival Standards
Thirty Years On: SAA and Descriptive Standards
Archival Description: Content and Context in Search of Structure
Recent Developments in Standards for Archival Description and Metadata
Archival Description Standards: Concepts, Principles, and Methodologies (1989)
Setting the Stage An Introduction to Metadata
Descriptive Standards and the Archival Profession
International Efforts Towards Descriptive Standards
<<
Previous:
Finding Books & Articles
Next:
Preservation & Conservation >>
