LibGuides: Art & Music: Careers

Photography

A Day in the Life of a Photographer Princeton Review’s career website provides an overview of the job, as well as links to information about internships, graduate school, and other job search resources for photography.
Getting Started in Photojournalism An overview of this career path from the National Press Photographers Association.
Occupational Information Network: Photography Excellent site that outlines the skills, abilities, and qualities a person typically must possess as a photographer.
Occupational Outlook Handbook: Photographers From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, includes information on the nature of the work, training, employment, job outlook, salary and more.
Photographer's Salary National average Photographer salary range, job & career education, unemployment, benefits and job search advice for Photographer job seekers.
Photography and Film Career Guide Explore careers in Photography and Film with links to job descriptions, which include information such as daily activities, skill requirements, salary and training required.
Photography Careers Descriptive information outlining potential career paths in photography.

American Society of Media Photographers The American Society of Media Photographers (originally the Society of Magazine Photographers and later the American Society of Magazine Photographers) is the leading trade association for photographers who photograph primarily for publication. ASMP promotes photographers' rights, educates photographers in better business practices, produces business publications for photographers and helps buyers find professional photographers.
American Society of Picture Professionals ASPP is a community of image experts committed to sharing their experience and knowledge throughout the industry. They provide professional networking and educational opportunities.
The Association of Photographers A membership based organisation comprised of Professional Photographers, Agents, Assistants and Students as well as Affiliated Colleges and Affiliated Companies.
National Press Photographers Association The National Press Photographers Association is dedicated to the advancement of visual journalism, its creation, practice, training, editing and distribution, in all news media and works to promote its role as a vital public service.
New Hampshire Society of Photographic Artists The New Hampshire Society of Photographic Artists supports contemporary photography as a means for creative expression and cultural insight. NHSPA focuses on the education and artistic development of its members and the community by providing exhibitions, publications, education, and outreach programs.
North American Nature Photography Association NANPA promotes the art and science of nature photography as a medium of communication, nature appreciation, and environmental protection. They provide information, education, inspiration and opportunity for all persons interested in nature photography.
Photographic Society of America The Photographic Society of America is a worldwide organization founded in 1934 to "Promote the Arts and Sciences of Photography and to further public education therein". There are members in all 50 states as well as 60 other countries of the world. PSA Headquarters are located in Oklahoma City, OK.
Photographic Society of Rhode Island PSRI is the premiere camera and photographic society in Rhode Island, dedicated to excellence in the art and craft of photography.
Professional Photographers Association of Massachusetts The Massachusetts affiliate of the International Photographers Association and Professional Photographers of America.
Professional Photographers Association of New England PPANE seeks to enhance its members' personal and professional growth through educational seminars, monthly newsletters, conventions, print competitions, access to industry-wide resources, and peer to peer socialization.
Professional Photographers Association of Rhode Island PPARI is a nonprofit association dedicated to advance photography in all of its branches, both as an art and as a profession; to educate, to create, foster, promote and maintain cordial relations, cooperation and interchange of thought and opinion freely among its members; to foster the practical benefits to be derived from personal acquaintances and the discussion of subjects having to do with photography.
Professional Photographers of America Professional Photographers of America (PPA) is the world’s largest nonprofit association for professional photographers, with more than 20,000 members in 54 countries. This association seeks to increase its members’ business savvy as well as broaden their creative scope, advancing careers by providing all the tools for success.
Vermont Professional Photographers Professional association for photographers in Vermont.
Wedding Photojournalist Association An organization devoted to serving wedding and portrait photographers.

Boston Globe Newsroom Summer Internship The Boston Globe summer intern program began more than 50 years ago as an opportunity for college students interested in journalism to gain practical experience on a major newspaper. The largest group of interns works in metro on general assignment. Other intern reporters are assigned to sports, living/arts, and business. We also have intern positions in the photography and graphics departments, and on the copy desk.
Boston Magazine Internships Provides internship opportunities in editorial, online, photo and art & design.
DC Photography Internships John Harrington Photography offers a number of paid and unpaid internships in photography.
Museum of Fine Arts Internships Internship opportunities at the Museum are available seasonally in the fall, spring, and summer in a broad range of disciplines including, (but not limited to): curatorial, development, public relations, publications, intellectual property, museum education, retail operations, information services, and human resources.
National Geographic Traveler Photo Internship Traveler magazine seeks interns to assist with office projects related to the visual side of the magazine and photo research.
Simply Hired Photography Internships A list of nationwide openings from Simply Hired.

GetPhotographyJobs Receive free weekly job listings to your inbox every week.
Getty Images Jobs Job listings at Getty Images.
HigherEd Jobs Photography Jobs Search the latest Photography positions at colleges and universities.
Indeed.com Photographer Jobs A thorough listing of job opportunities for photographers.
Monster.com Photographer Jobs Photography job listings from the largest web-based job board.
SimplyHired Photographer Jobs A thorough listing of job opportunities for photographers.

Aaron Siskind Foundation Grant ASF’s Individual Photographer’s Fellowship grant program encourages and celebrates artistic achievement in contemporary photography by supporting the creative endeavors of individual artists working in still photography and related media.
Alexia Foundation for World Peace Each year in February Alexia Foundation provides a $15,000 grant to a professional photographer and five scholarships of varying values to students to study photography at the Syracuse University London Centre in England
Ansel Adams Research Fellowship The Institute for Photographic Research, Center for Creative Photography, University of Arizona, invites proposals for the Ansel Adams Research Fellowship. $2500 awards for research within the Center’s archive, library print collections are available.
Buhl Foundation A biennial grant supporting artists working in photography, within a particular theme. There are three awards to three individual photographers. The theme changes each award cycle
En Foco En Foco is a non-profit organization dedicated to cultural diversity in photography and supports and awards for work by photographers of Africansian, Latino and Native American heritage.
GradSchools.com: Photography Graduate Programs Searchable directory of 112 graduate programs in photography.
Humble Arts Foundation Humble Arts Foundation is a not-for-profit organization that works to advance the careers of emerging fine-art photographers by way of exhibition and publishing opportunities, limited-edition print sales, twice–annual artists grants, and educational programming.
LEF Foundation LEF Foundation awards grants to artists in the visual arts in both New England and California.
National Endowment for the Arts The National Endowment for the Arts was established by Congress in 1965 as an independent agency of the federal government. To date, the NEA has awarded more than $4 billion to support artistic excellence, creativity, and innovation for the benefit of individuals and communities.
The Open Society Institute Documentary Photography Project The Open Society Institute’s Documentary Photography Project offers grants for photographers, in collaboration with a partner, to use innovative, non-traditional methods to present their work to specific audiences to stimulate constructive social change.
Pew Fellowships in the Arts Pew Fellowships in the Arts awards grants of $60,000 to artists working in a wide variety of performing, visual, and literary disciplines. Pew established the program in 1991 and the grants provide financial support directly to the artists so they can dedicate themselves to creative pursuits exclusively.
Photocrati Fund Photocrati Fund offers $5000 grants to non-professional photographers to undertake important humanitarian and environmental photography projects.
U.S. News and World Report Rankings of Photography Graduate Programs The latest rankings of Photography graduate programs from U.S. News and World Report.
W. Eugene Smith Grant in Humanistic Photography W. Eugene Smith Grant in Humanistic Photography is presented annually to a photographer whose past work and proposed projects judged by a panel of experts, follows the tradition of W. Eugene Smith’s compassionate dedication exhibited during his 45-year career as a photographic essayist.
The Women in Photography (WIPNYC) Grant & Mentor Program The Women in Photography (WIPNYC) Grant & Mentor Program will provide one female photographer with a $5000 grant to produce work and a year of mentorship with four art professionals.

Art Administration

Arizona Commission on the Arts Jobs Find arts jobs in Arizona and around the US.
Arts Management Job Opportunities From George Mason University
Association of Arts Administration Educators Jobs
California Arts Council Jobs Find job openings in arts and arts administration in California.
George Mason University: List of Arts Job Sites Peruse the best arts jobs sites for those seeking a career in arts administration.
jobs.art Find jobs in the arts around the world.
Musical Chairs Online resource for classical music professionals and students
New York Foundation for the Arts

Arts Management Network Arts Management Network is an international platform for arts managers, researchers, students, policy makers, journalists and professionals in the arts and creative sector around the globe.
Association of Arts Administration Educators Organization that trains and equips students in arts leadership, management, entrepreneurship, cultural policy, and more

Performing Arts Administration Day in the life of a performing arts administrator
Why Start a Career in Arts and Cultural Management?

Music

American Music Therapy Association A Career in Music Therapy offers challenge, opportunity, and distinctive rewards to those interested in working with people of all ages with various disabilities. Music therapists are employed in many different settings including general and psychiatric hospitals, community mental health agencies, rehabilitation centers, day care facilities, nursing homes, schools and private practice.
Careers in Music (from Berklee College of Music) Provides a wide array of information on career options for music majors.
Music Librarianship: Is it for you? (from MLA) Learn more about pursuing a career in music librarianship.
MajoringinMusic.com There are far more options for what you can do with a music degree than you probably realize. Performing and teaching are the two most common careers in music, but those don’t begin to cover what music majors can pursue once they graduate.
Occupational Outlook Handbook: Music Directors & Composers Overview of the nature of the work, working conditions, job training, and earnings for artists and related workers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook: Musicians & Singers Overview of the nature of the work, working conditions, job training, and earnings for artists and related workers.

American Musicological Society List of Graduate Programs List of graduate programs in musicology.
American Music Therapy Association Education Information The education of a music therapist is unique among college degree programs because it not only allows a thorough study of music, but encourages examination of one's self as well as others.
Music Graduate School Rankings Ranks the top graduate school programs in music in a number of different music-related areas.
Grad Programs in Musicology This guide from the American Musicological Society offers practical suggestions to help musicologists and students of musicology find employment. It is directed not only at those who are already searching for a job, but also at those considering graduate study in musicology and those who are already in graduate school.
Society for Ethnomusicology Guide to Programs in Ethnomusicology Includes entries for schools, archives, and other institutions throughout the world. Each entry contains information on the type of program, degrees offered, areas of focus, curricula, special resources, faculty, financial support, contacts, and websites.
U.S. News & World Report New Media Grad Schools Find top graduate programs in audio, visual and other media arts.

ArtsBoston Includes a directories of arts organizations in the Boston area.
Berklee Internships Page This page from Berklee College of Music lists a wide array of potential internships for music majors in the Boston area.
Blink Music Studios Internship Located in Cambridge, MA, Blink Music offers internship programs that provide an exceptional entry-level opportunity for individuals seeking to gain experience and possibly access to a position within the competitive world of the music industry. Its interns vary from musicians to marketing students to engineers, part-time, between 15 and 25 hours.
Find Music Internships Whether you’re unsure or absolutely certain about what the future holds for you, music internships will help you jumpstart your career. This annual resource from Internships.com will help you to find the music internship that's right for you.
hireCulture A job board for careers in Massachusetts cultural organizations.
National Endowment for the Arts The National Endowment for the Arts was established by Congress in 1965 as an independent agency of the federal government. To date, the NEA has awarded more than $4 billion to support artistic excellence, creativity, and innovation for the benefit of individuals and communities.
Stellar Tips for Music Internships Internships are especially useful if you are majoring in any area of music that also involves business – including arts management, music industry, and music technology.
Warner Music Group An internship with Warner Music Group provides students with the opportunity to obtain real world experience at one of the top music companies in the industry. Our internships provide on-the-job training by allowing interns to shadow industry professionals in a variety of departments. Every intern is assigned a special project that will both assist them in increasing their understanding of how each department operates, and aid the department in addressing a business need. Warner Music Group values its interns, as such we have developed an Intern Bill of Rights which is presented to both interns and supervisors to ensure a mutually rewarding experience.

American Musicological Society's Bulletin Boards The AMS forwards job vacancy notices, fellowship announcements, conference announcements, calls for papers for conferences, contents of new journal issues, and other similar announcements to its "AMS-Announce" (or "Musicology-announce") bulletin boards.
American Music Therapy Association Careers Page AMTA is committed to the advancement of education, training, professional standards, credentials, and research in support of the music therapy profession. Explore their careers page to find job opportunities and more information about music therapy.
ASCAP (American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers): Career Development This page includes a regularly updated selection of tips, advice and opportunities from ASCAP to boost your music career.
Chronicle of Higher Education Jobs
Academic postings updated weekly.
College Music Society The College Music Society promotes music teaching and learning, musical creativity and expression, research and dialogue, and diversity and interdisciplinary interaction. A consortium of college, conservatory, university, and independent musicians and scholars interested in all disciplines of music, the Society provides leadership and serves as an agent of change by addressing concerns facing music in higher education.
Entertainers Worldwide Find gigs and auditions
hireCulture A job board for careers in Massachusetts cultural organizations.
Musical Chairs Online resource for classical music professionals and students
Music Jobs Includes listings for jobs at record labels, music production, music management, and music festivals.
Music Library Association Jobs and Careers The Placement Service assists individuals seeking employment in music librarianship. To this end, the Placement Officer lists positions available in academic, public, performing arts, orchestra, conservatory, media, and radio libraries.
Music Theory Online: Job Listings Music Theory Online is a peer-reviewed online journal that publishes music-related job listings in higher education.
National Association for Music Education Jobs Posts job listings for music teachers across the country.

American Musicological Society The American Musicological Society was founded in 1934 to advance scholarship in the various fields of music through research, learning, and teaching. 3,400 individuals and 1,000 institutional subscribers from over forty nations participate in the Society.
American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) ASCAP, an organization owned and run by its members, is the leading U.S. Performing Rights Organization representing over 500,000 songwriters, composers and music publishers.
College Music Society The College Music Society promotes music teaching and learning, musical creativity and expression, research and dialogue, and diversity and interdisciplinary interaction. A consortium of college, conservatory, university, and independent musicians and scholars interested in all disciplines of music, the Society provides leadership and serves as an agent of change by addressing concerns facing music in higher education.
International Association for the Study of Popular Music The International Association for the Study of Popular Music (IASPM) is an international organization established to promote inquiry, scholarship and analysis in the area of popular music.
Music-Related Associations: A-M This page from the Berklee College of Music provides a comprehensive list of professional associations in alphabetical order.
Music-Related Associations: N-Z This page from the Berklee College of Music provides a comprehensive list of professional associations in alphabetical order.
Music Library Association (MLA) The MLA encourages and promotes the activities of music libraries, archives and documentation centers in supporting and facilitating the realization of projects in music bibliography, music documentation and music library and information science at national and international levels.
National Association for Music Education National Association for Music Education (NAfME), among the world’s largest arts education organizations, is the only association that addresses all aspects of music education. NAfME advocates at the local, state, and national levels; provides resources for teachers, parents, and administrators; hosts professional development events; and offers a variety of opportunities for students and teachers.
National Association of Record Industry Professional (NARIP) The National Association of Record Industry Professional (NARIP) is the biggest music business network in the world, now reaching over 100,000+ around the world. Formed in 1998, NARIP brings together the brightest minds and leading innovators in the global record and music industries.
Society for American Music The Society for American Music is dedicated to the study, teaching, creation and dissemination of all musics in the Americas. As a scholarly, collegial, and inclusive organization, we serve a wide and diverse array of academics, librarians, composers, performers and members of the general public.

General Art

American Alliance of Museums Professional organization for professional and volunteer museum employees has job seeker information.
American Institute of Graphic Designers (AIGA) Survey of Design Salaries The Salary Calculator provides information on design positions in a variety of organizations nationwide.
The Art Career Project Search resources, classes and hone skills to help you succeed as an artist.
Art Directors Provides information about work activities, skills, preparation, wages, employment and outlook for this career from the Minnesota Department of Education and Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development.
Explore Careers General information from collegeboard.com.
Occupational Outlook Handbook - Artists and Related Workers Overview of nature of the work, working conditions, job training, and earnings for artists and related workers.

College Art Association Professional association for students interested in college teaching of the arts and humanities. Searchable career center database and job listings.
Film Study Center Fellowships The Film Study Center (FSC) offers fellowships to both internationally eminent and emerging filmmakers, video artists, sound artists, and photographers whose creative projects seek to interpret the world, especially the fabric of human existence and cultural difference, through moving and still images and sounds.
Getty Foundation Residential Grants and Fellowships Getty Scholar Grants are for established scholars, artists, or writers who have attained distinction in their fields. Pre- and Postdoctoral Fellowships are intended for emerging scholars who are working on projects related to the Getty Research Institute's annual theme. Library Research Grants provide partial, short-term support for scholars whose research requires use of collections housed in the Getty Research Institute.
National Endowment for the Arts
The National Endowment for the Arts was established by Congress in 1965 as an independent agency of the federal government. To date, the NEA has awarded more than $4 billion to support artistic excellence, creativity, and innovation for the benefit of individuals and communities.
Pew Fellowships in the Arts Pew Fellowships in the Arts awards grants of $60,000 to artists working in a wide variety of performing, visual, and literary disciplines. Pew established the program in 1991 and the grants provide financial support directly to the artists so they can dedicate themselves to creative pursuits exclusively.
United States Artists United States Artists' Fellowship program invests in America’s finest artists and illuminates the value of artists to society. USA Fellowship grants of $50,000 each are awarded to 50 outstanding performing, visual, media, and literary artists every year.
GradSchools.com: Art and Architecture Graduate Programs Searchable directory of nearly 4,000 graduate programs in art and architecture.
NRC Ranking of U.S. Art History Ph.D. Programs From the Chronicle of Higher Education, this page provides data for graduate programs in Art History from the most recent study conducted by the National Research Council.
U.S. News Rankings of Fine Arts Graduate Programs
The latest rankings of Fine Arts graduate programs from U.S. News and World Report.

Museum of Fine Arts Boston Find information on specific works of art, periods, and more.
NEMA Jobs From the New England Museum Association. Search for various types of positions including administrative, collections, security, and visitor services. Also posts internships and volunteer positions.

Alliance of Artists Communities Search for a residency or artist community.
American Alliance of Museums Professional organization for professional and volunteer museum employees has job seeker information.
American Federation of the Arts Professional organization for the arts.
Americans for the Arts Membership services include access to a field directory, conferences and events, newsletters, job resources, etc.
Asian American Arts Alliance The Asian American Arts Alliance is a nonprofit organization dedicated to ensuring greater representation, equity, and opportunities for Asian American artists and cultural organizations through resource sharing, promotion, and community building.
Association of Art Museum Directors The Association of Art Museum Directors is to support its members in increasing the contribution of art museums to society.
Association of Performing Arts Presenters An association that promotes arts presenters, and explores the roles and opportunities for them and for artist managers, and artists.
Boston Society of Architects BSA's website has classified job advertisements, news and events, architect directories and a resume postings.
College Art Association Professional association for students interested in college teaching of the arts and humanities. Searchable career center database and job listings.
International Council of Museums Membership benefits include free admission to museums worldwide, professional conferences and events, newsletters and email listserv subscription.
List of Museums in the USA Lists of museums in the United States.
Massachusetts Cultural Council The Massachusetts Cultural Council (MCC) is a state agency that promotes excellence, access, education and diversity in the arts, humanities, and interpretive sciences to improve the quality of life for all Massachusetts residents and contribute to the economic vitality of our communities.
New England Museum Association Professional organization that requires membership to access most resources, but students and job hunters can join at a reduced rate, to have access to job listings.
New York City Museum Educators Roundtable Fee-based networking group for museum educators in the New York area.

Art Deadlines List Lists of art contests and their deadlines.
ARTINFO Jobs Lists jobs in the arts, including museums, foundations and galleries, in the US and around the world.
College Art Association Professional association for students interested in college teaching of the arts and humanities. Searchable career center database and job listings.
hireCulture A job board for careers in Massachusetts cultural organizations.
Museum Discussion listservs A directory of listservs for students and professionals in the museum field.
Museum Jobs Online This site was created to provide free employment listings, a discussion forum and other resources for museum and heritage students and professionals.
Museum of Fine Arts Employment Job listings at the MFA.
NEMA Jobs From the New England Museum Association. Search for various types of positions including administrative, collections, security, and visitor services. Also posts internships and volunteer positions.
NYFA Classifieds Nationwide job listings and more from the New York Foundation for the Arts.

Career Center

Career Education Center

Email Me

Contact:

617.521.2488

Graphic Design

American Institute of Graphic Designers (AIGA) Survey of Design Salaries The Salary Calculator provides information on design positions in a variety of organizations nationwide.
Career: Digital Artist Read about a day in the life of a digital artist from Princeton Review.
Career: Graphic Designer Read about a day in the life of a graphic designer from Princeton Review.
Graphic Designer Salaries Average salary as reported by the registered users of Glassdoor.com (employers and employees). Register for free to search jobs, review employers, research salaries, and more.
Occupational Outlook Handbook - Artists and Related Workers Overview of nature of the work, working conditions, job training, and earnings for artists and related workers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook - Graphic Designers Overview of the profession from the U.S. Department of Labor. Includes information about: General nature of the work, working conditions, employment, training and qualifications, job outlook, earnings, and related occupations.

AIGA, the professional association for design Worldstudio AIGA Scholarships allow college students from disadvantaged backgrounds to realize their artistic dreams.
Americans for the Arts Membership services include access to a field directory, conferences and events, newsletters, job resources, etc.
Cambridge Arts Council CAC's Grant Program awards funding to artistic projects directly benefiting the citizens of Cambridge.
GradSchools.com: Design Graduate Programs Searchable directory of over 300 graduate programs in design.
New England Foundation for the Arts This Foundation offers grants that support a wide range of artists from those in performing arts to Native arts to public art. The "grant programs provide artists with funding and other resources necessary for creating and presenting successful work."
New York Foundation for the Arts "The largest provider of grants, services, and information to artists working in all disciplines in the United States."
U.S. News Rankings of Fine Arts Graduate Programs
The latest rankings of Fine Arts graduate programs from U.S. News and World Report.

American Institute of Graphic Art (AIGA) - Boston Chapter Membership in AIGA provides special access to several online publications, job listings, ability to post portfolios online, discounts to conferences, and professional development resources
ArtYears.com ArtYears is a cyber alumnus of art students & creative professionals. We aim to draw the creative community together by reaching out to like-minded professionals worldwide.
Cambridge Arts Council
CAC's Grant Program awards funding to artistic projects directly benefiting the citizens of Cambridge.
Color Marketing Group Color Marketing Group, founded in 1962, is a not-for-profit, international Association of 1,000 Color Designers involved in the use of color as it applies to the profitable marketing of goods and services. CMG provides a forum for the exchange of non-competitive information on all phases of color marketing: color trends and combinations; design influences; merchandising and sales; and education and industry contacts.
Design Management Institute The Design Management Institute (DMI) is an international nonprofit organization that seeks to heighten awareness of design as an essential part of business strategy. Founded in 1975, DMI has become the leading resource and international authority on design management. DMI has earned a reputation worldwide as a multifaceted resource, providing invaluable know-how, tools and training through its conferences, seminars, membership program, and publications.
Graphic Artist Guild (GAG) - New England The website for the New England chapter of the Graphic Artist Guild provides information on upcoming events, a directory of designers/illustrators, a directory of local art supply stores, information on local schools with design and illustration programs, and a directory of local arts organizations.
The Grolier Club Founded in1884, the Grolier Club of New York is America's oldest and largest society for bibliophiles and enthusiasts in the graphic arts. Named for Jean Grolier, the Renaissance collector renowned for sharing his library with friends, the Club's objective is to foster "the literary study and promotion of the arts pertaining to the production of books."
Icograda The International Council of Graphic Design Associations (Icograda) is the world body for professional graphic design and visual communication. Founded in 1963, it is a voluntary assembly of associations concerned with graphic design, visual communication, design management, design promotion and design education. Icograda promotes graphic designers' vital role in society and commerce and unifies the voices of graphic designers and visual communicators worldwide
International Color Consortium Founded 1993, Reston, USA. For international color designers. Membership organization established by industry vendors for the purpose of creating, promoting and encouraging the standardization and evolution of a cross-platform color management system architecture and components. Developed the ICC profile specification.
Letter Exchange The Letter Exchange, founded in 1988, is a society for professionals involved in the whole spectrum of the lettering arts and crafts, from calligraphy and letter-cutting, through design for print, publishing and typography, to signage and architectural lettering.
National Association of Photoshop Professionals The National Association of Photoshop Professionals (NAPP) is a dynamic trade association and the world’s leading resource for Adobe® Photoshop® education, training, and news. It is led by a world-class team of Photoshop experts, authors, consultants, trainers, and educators whose focus is to ensure that NAPP members stay on the cutting edge of Adobe Photoshop techniques and ahead of their competition.
New England Foundation for the Arts
This Foundation offers grants that support a wide range of artists from those in performing arts to Native arts to public art. The "grant programs provide artists with funding and other resources necessary for creating and presenting successful work."
Organization of Black Designers The Organization of Black Designers (OBD) is a multicultural, multidisciplinary professional association of more than 10,000 members located throughout the United States and world committed to the increased visibility, empowerment and support of its membership.
Society for Environmental Graphic Design Society for Environmental Graphic Design (SEGD) is an international non-profit educational organization providing resources for design specialists in the field of environmental graphic design, architecture, and landscape, interior, and industrial design. SEGD members are leading designers of directional and attraction sign systems, destination graphics, identity programs, exhibits, and themed environments.
Society for News Design The Society for News Design encourages high standards of journalism through design. An international forum and resource for all those interested in news design, SND works to recognize excellence and strengthen visual journalism as a profession.
Society of Illustrators, Artists and Designers The Society of Illustrators, Artists and Designers (SIAD) is an international web-based organisation. Membership of the Society is open to all practising illustrators, artists and designers involved in any visual media. Membership requirements and an application form are available from our membership page.
Society of Publication Designers For over a quarter of a century, the Society of Publication Designers has been a driving force for quality and innovation in publication design. It is the one venue in which the best of the best continually strive.
Type Directors Club The Type Directors Club is the leading international organization whose purpose is to support excellence in typography, both in print and on screen.

24/7 Talent Freelance and full-time jobs talent for marketing and creative service positions with the most prestigious brands and the biggest advertising agencies nationwide.
AIGA Design Jobs The AIGA’s design jobs section is a great place to find job opportunities. Many large and well-respected companies look for new and/or experienced designers here.
Americans for the Arts Membership services include access to a field directory, conferences and events, newsletters, job resources, etc.
Animation World Network Job postings and career tips.
Aquent Listings of marketing jobs, including a section for creative staffing and services. Under creative staffing section, access to portfolios and free tools including educational videos and guides.
Authentic Jobs Authentic jobs lists hot new graphic design jobs every week, both full-time and part-time.
Behance Jobs posted on Behance are also displayed throughout the web, on top sites such as Fast Company, HOW Design, I.D. Magazine, Print Magazine, the 99%, the Served sites, and more.
Coroflot Corflot hosts over 80,000 graphic design portfolios and currently has over 700 job listings. Jobs are organized into a variety of design-related categories. You can even subscribe to their job listing rss feed and get personalized job alerts.
CreativeHotlist Lists jobs in visual arts, especially graphic arts.
Graphic Artists Guild Graphic Artists Guild's career page is a source for "high-quality creative employment opportunities".
Krop Krop is one of the largest and most well known websites to find graphic design jobs. It is well established and new jobs are listed often by top agencies and design studios.
Smashing Magazine Smashing Magazine a large design-related blog and includes a job board with design and development jobs. The listings are organized into full-time and freelance positions for easier navigation.
UpWork UpWork allows you to build a profile, search and bid for consultancy jobs, however, free member option only allows so many bids per month. Once you've found a job, UpWork allows you to track your work and provides payment security.

Boston Independent Film Festival The Independent Film Festival of Boston (IFFBoston), launched in 2003, is the East Coast's premiere event for showcasing emerging filmmakers. Produced over six days in venues across Greater Boston, with over 75 films, panels, celebrity attendees, tribute events, exclusive parties, and an audience of over 20,000. The festival is, of course, heavily reliant on volunteers each Spring
Brattle Film Foundation Volunteers needed to assist as theater ushers, concessions assistants, and street teamers, as well as design, development/fundraising, photography, and marketing interns.