Large number of peer reviewed journals going back to 1865
Academic Search Ultimate is a comprehensive database of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering nearly all academic disciplines. The collection includes both peer-reviewed and general interest publications, with content dating back to 1865. It offers extensive full-text access to academic literature across the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and more. This database serves as an excellent starting point for research projects in any subject area.
A comprehensive database of over 100,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. Includes abstracts of international conservation literature.
Covers fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture, and much more.
Art Full Text provides international coverage of arts-related publications, including scholarly journals and art magazines. The database offers full-color PDF articles and spans traditional and contemporary art forms. Content includes critical analysis, exhibition reviews, and artistic techniques. This resource supports research in art history, criticism, and practice.
Online database of nearly one million images with a set of tools to view, present, and manage them.
Artstor provides high-quality digital images for educational and scholarly use. The platform includes sophisticated tools for viewing, zooming, and creating image presentations. Users can create personal collections and share them for teaching purposes. This resource is particularly valuable for visual arts education, research, and presentation.
Indexes & abstracts books; conference proceedings and dissertations; exhibition and dealer catalogs; and articles on Western art
The Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts scholarly literature in art history and related fields. Coverage includes books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs from 1975-2007. The database is internationally focused and multi-lingual. This resource is essential for art historical research and scholarship.
Provides access to a wide variety of scholarly journals and monographs in the humanities, social sciences and sciences
JSTOR offers comprehensive coverage of scholarly content in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The platform provides access to complete journal runs, including historical issues dating to the 1800s. Content emphasizes high-quality, peer-reviewed materials. This resource is essential for academic research across multiple disciplines.
Provides access to a wide range of authoritative online art resources
Oxford Art Online provides comprehensive coverage of visual arts from prehistory to present. Content includes scholarly articles, images, and specialist art reference works. The platform features regular updates and commissioned content. This resource is essential for art history research and study.
WorldCat combines the catalogs of thousands of libraries worldwide. Users can locate books, articles, and other materials in local and international collections. The platform facilitates interlibrary loan services and resource sharing. This tool supports comprehensive research and resource discovery across all disciplines.
Index to more than 1,200 sites related to the arts, including links to more than 32,000 works by 7,500 artists. The works can be browsed or searched by artist, title or museum.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art provides chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world. A description and images are included in each entry.
Created by Patrick Young at the University of Michigan, this site includes a vast array of links to research resources, art museums, textual and linguistic resources and much more.
Smarthistory.org is a free, not-for-profit, multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook.
Credo Reference combines hundreds of authoritative reference works from leading publishers. The platform features topic pages, concept mapping tools, and visual resources. Content is interlinked and regularly updated. This resource serves as an excellent starting point for research across academic disciplines.
Gale eBooks provides searchable access to thousands of reference works from leading publishers. Content covers arts, sciences, business, education, and more. The platform enables cross-book searching and features user-friendly navigation. This resource serves as a valuable starting point for research across disciplines.
Art in America is an illustrated magazine that focuses on the contemporary art world in the United States and includes artist and genre profiles, updates about art movements, exhibition reviews, and event schedules.
Use this resource to identify electronic journals in the fields of Arts and Architecture that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full text, and accessible without cost. Includes links and titles to open access journals.
Large number of peer reviewed journals going back to 1865
Academic Search Ultimate is a comprehensive database of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering nearly all academic disciplines. The collection includes both peer-reviewed and general interest publications, with content dating back to 1865. It offers extensive full-text access to academic literature across the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and more. This database serves as an excellent starting point for research projects in any subject area.
Credo Reference combines hundreds of authoritative reference works from leading publishers. The platform features topic pages, concept mapping tools, and visual resources. Content is interlinked and regularly updated. This resource serves as an excellent starting point for research across academic disciplines.
Gale eBooks Education features education-focused reference works, including many ASCD publications. Content covers teaching methods, classroom management, educational leadership, and assessment. Materials support both theoretical understanding and practical application. This resource is valuable for education students, teachers, and administrators.
Provides access to a wide variety of scholarly journals and monographs in the humanities, social sciences and sciences
JSTOR offers comprehensive coverage of scholarly content in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The platform provides access to complete journal runs, including historical issues dating to the 1800s. Content emphasizes high-quality, peer-reviewed materials. This resource is essential for academic research across multiple disciplines.
Oxford Music Online integrates multiple music reference works including The New Grove Dictionary series. Content covers all aspects of music including historical, theoretical, and biographical information. The resource includes regular updates and scholarly contributions. This database is essential for music research and education.
Boston Public Library Music DepartmentRoom use privilege only with a Simmons ID, but as a student in Massachusetts, you are eligible to get a BPL library card, which would afford you borrowing privileges, as well as access to their robust collection of e-resources.
