Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"What does point-of-care mean?"
On this page you'll find resources that are evidence-based clinical reference tools with information that support direct patient care. Search in these resources for information on specific conditions, drugs, practice guidelines, etc. There are many factors to consider when picking a point-of-care resource to use to solve a problem, and these are three good factors to keep in mind: Relevancy to your patient/question. Currency of the information. Supporting evidence.
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination
▸ Online guide has the evidence-based origins of the text and provides careful attention to clinical accuracy, and to the range of patient types profiled in the series.
▸ Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques.
▸ Covers diagnosis and differential diagnosis, case vignettes to bring abstract concepts to life, multidisciplinary treatment guidelines, the latest research.
▸ Contains DSM-5, DSM-IV-TR® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-IV-TR® Casebook and its Treatment Companion, several self-assessments, and 5 APPI journals.
▸ Provides medical textbooks listed in alphabetical order and includes search options that can be filtered by text type as well as searched by discipline.
▸ Includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary, EBMcalc, and PubMed.
The resources on this page will help you develop a nursing care plan: "based on a nursing assessment and a nursing diagnosis" that includes: identification of the problems or diagnoses and the approach to solve those problems; expected benefit to the patient; specific actions that reflect the nursing approach and achieve the goals specified; evaluation of the patient's response to care and readjustment of that care as required. [reference, - Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions]
Our Books on Care Plans
Drug References Online
AHFS Drug Information
Published by the American Society of Health System Pharmacists, it is the only drug compendium published by a non-commercial entity, is updated frequently, and "aims to provide an evidence-based foundation for safe and effective drug therapy."
Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics
Authoritative resource on therapeutics in relation preventing, diagnosing and treating disease also includes video lectures, and animations of drug effects.
This tool from the National Library of Medicine enables rapid identification of unknown solid-dosage medications (tablets/capsules) based on physical characteristics and high-resolution images.
FDA Drug Topics
Find the latest health professionals and consumer news from the FDA here.
Drug Monographs (from AccessMedicine)
Go directly all the drug information in Access Medicine, including generics, trade names, drug classes and patient handouts.
Consumer Health Resources
These resources are designed to be shared with consumers and to answer their questions about a variety of health concerns including mental health and reviews of clinical effectiveness research.
▸ For patients and their families and friends. Find information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.
▸ See Easy-to-Read Materials
Provides one-stop access to U.S. government mental health and mental health problems information.