LibGuides: Nursing: Get Apps

Point-of-Care Apps

Available for Simmons Students

UpToDate Lexidrug (Nursing grad students)
▸ Consult your advisor or course instructor about the access code.
▸ UpToDate Lexidrug app info

DynaMed
▸ A clinician-focused tool designed to facilitate efficient and evidence-based patient care.
▸ DynaMed app info

1. Go to DynaMed Plus > Set-up a Personal Account
2. Get app - iTunes or Google Play
3. Install & Sign-In

Nursing Reference Center Plus
▸ A comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses, directly at the point-of-care.
▸ NRC app info

1. Get app - iTunes or Google Play
2. Go to NRC > Click "NRC Plus Mobile App Access"
3. Enter email address > Get NCR email > Tap authentication key link (Use WiFi for quick installment; cellular takes 20 minutes)

STAT!Ref
▸ A reputable healthcare e-resource enabling users to intuitively cross-search full-text, evidence-based and authoritative resources.
▸ STAT!Ref app info

1. Go to STAT!Ref > Set-up a Profile > Activate Anywhere Login Account
2. Get app - iTunes or Google Play
3. Install & Sign-In

Other Point-of-Care Apps to be Familiar with (Not at Simmons, but perhaps at your clinical site)

Epocrates
▸ A medical reference app that includes information about drugs, diseases, evidence-based guidelines, and more. Some of the content is available for free, and some requires an annual subscription.
▸ About Epocrates

UpToDate
▸ An evidence-based clinical resource that includes drug information, medical calculators, patient education information, and more. UptoDate requires an annual subscription.
▸ About UpToDate

AccessMedicine
▸ Delivers indispensable support and invaluable point of care solutions for clinical practice.
▸ AccessMedicine app info

Free Clinical Apps

Cochrane Library
▸ The Cochrane Library app is the perfect format for catching up on the latest evidence from the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
▸ iTunes - Google Play

Medscape
▸ Includes multiple drug references guides, disease & condition references, medical news, CE activities, offline access to clinical resources and more. You must create a free MedScape account to use the app.
▸ iTunes - Google Play

Diagnosaurus
▸ Use Diagnosaurus to see some basic differential diagnoses (DDx). You can browse by symptom, disease or organ system and easily search all of Access Medicine with the etiology you find.
▸ iTunes - Google Play

MediCalX
▸ MedCalX is a medical calculator app for iOS that gives you easy access to complicated medical formulas, scores, scales and classifications.
▸ iTunes

MobilePDR
▸ The official drug information app from Prescriber's Digital Reference. Fast and easy to use, mobilePDR employs a simple, but powerful, search tool with access to thousands of drug summaries continually updated by PDR within a week of manufacturers' updates.
▸ iTunes - Google Play

MediBabble
▸ A robust history-taking and examination application designed to improve the safety, efficiency, and overall quality of care for non-English speaking patients.
▸ iTunes

Patient Education Tools

Medline Plus
▸ For patients and their families and friends. Find information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.
▸ See Easy-to-Read Materials

Visual Anatomy Lite
▸ An interactive reference and learning tool. It is designed to teach those with no medical knowledge about anatomy and physiology.
▸ iTunes - Google Play

Fooducate
▸ A free app that helps people understand and compare the nutritional content of different foods. Includes a food tracker, a database of brand name foods graded for nutritional content, recipes, and suggestions for healthy eating.
▸ iTunes - Google Play

Plain Language Medical Dictionary
▸ This free basic app converts medical language into everyday English. It is based on the award-winning Plain Language Medical Dictionary widget designed by Taubman Health Sciences Library, University of Michigan.