One of the oldest and best reviewing sources for all levels of public and school libraries. Regular sections include: Books for Older Readers, and Media Reviews: Videos, Audios, and Audiobooks. Special feature columns include: genre profiles, Videos for Kids and Teens, Spotlight on...(best YA romance, historical history, nonfiction, sports, etc.), and Top 10 Lists...Adult books with YA appeal are marked with a YA symbol.
A quarterly supplement to Booklist, Book Links magazine is designed for teachers, youth librarians, school library media specialists, reading specialists, curriculum coordinators, and others interested in connecting children with high-quality literature-based resources.
Book Links articles provide comprehensive information on using books in the classroom, including thematic bibliographies with related discussion questions and activities, author and illustrator interviews and essays, and articles by educators on practical ways to turn children onto reading.
Published by the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at the University of Illinois, this is one of the most respected reviewing sources for children and young adults. There are some YA reviews among the approximately 60 reviews per issue, although they are in the minority.
Noted for its straightforward reviewing style and its ability to review way in advance of publication, YA titles are included in its second part "Children's Books" after the section for adults. Entries include grade level.
LMC is the professional magazine for school library media and technology specialists. Blending the best of The Book Report, Library Talk, and Technology Connection, it delivers proven, real-world practical information, professional development, and book and technology reviews by educators seven times each school year for k-12.
This journal is "dedicated to a better understanding of ethnic, racial, and religious diversity," and presents articles, annotated bibliographies, and great coverage of fiction and nonfiction book reviews for K-12.
An excellent all purpose professional journal for K-12 teachers and school and public librarians. Feature articles, news, current calendar of events and reviews are include. Coverage includes, books, all forms of media, computer software, and Web sites. There is a separate section for books for young adult. Non-book reviews are not separated out by grade level. There are many useful feature sections for collection development.
A video selection guide, there here are nearly 100 reviews in each bimonthly issue, plus news of the video world. Individual issues offer focus articles on particular topics such as a spotlight on videos about Native Americans.
Why search here?
Academic Search Complete is a great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic.
It contains a large number of journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed, from numerous subject areas. This resource features mostly full text content, and goes as far back as 1865.