Skip to main content

Library Resources to Enhance Learning and Teaching: Communities of Practice

Working with Your Librarians

All of the COF Libraries are working to support teaching and learning throughout their institutions, and many are already actively collaborating with faculty. These are some of the projects happening, and the resources and services available at your libraries.  

Get in touch with your librarians to find out more, or to get started on a new project today!

Emmanuel College Cardinal Cushing Library

Emmanuel College Library has concluded a three-year, IRB-approved study of student learning outcomes in information literacy in a required library component of the First-Year Seminar (FYS) Program. Three teaching librarians (Susan von Daum Tholl, PhD, Director; Diane Zydlewski, Head of Reference; and Anne Hancock, Collection Development Librarian) presented preliminary data in an hour-long session at the Association of College and Research Libraries-New England Chapter’s Conference at Holy Cross on May 18, 2012.

The Library FYS component includes; pre- and post-testing of information literacy skills for all incoming students; an online tutorial; two library-based assignments, which are graded by librarians; and at least one required workshop in the library.  This resulted in 79 data points for 1,459 qualified student participants from fall 2009 to fall 2011.  The data is currently being analyzed using IBM-SPSS and will be written up in detail with the goal of future publication.

The Library is currently conducting a search for a full-time Instructional Librarian, who will coordinate our three-tiered Information Literacy Program; assist with assessment of our teaching; and promote library resources to faculty.

Wheelock

Wheelock Library’s Research Guides are a great place to start for exploring the Library’s resources. We gear the guides toward helping students efficiently find the most relevant sources for their course work. For instance, our guide on Early Childhood Education, takes a handful of the best databases, websites and Wheelock resources and puts them in one place. Also, because the research guides are web based you can easily link to the guides in your learning management system, such as Moodle. The guides are streamlined with our main site so you can easily navigate back to the Library main page or other sections of the website. Contact information and, when available, a live chat box are available if you have any questions or need assistance finding sources.

Contact Adam Williams directly at awilliams@wheelock.edu or 617.879.2279 with research-related questions.

MassArt

Teaching with Technology

The Teaching with Technology Collaborative (TTC) is a one-stop resource for faculty and it helps them identify and effectively use technology resources for teaching. We meet with faculty who are interested in incorporating technology into their instruction. We listen to their needs, suggest web-based or software solutions, and familiarize them with any recommended technologies. Some of the members of our group can even build tools for various pedagogical purposes.

Instruction

The library has an extremely active instruction program. Faculty are invited to schedule one or more of our sessions for their classes. These generally last an hour and take place in the computer lab on the 13th floor although many can also be held in your classroom. We offer a wide range of session types.

Continuing the Conversation - Community of Practice

 

A new Community of Practice group was formed in late May to create an open dialogue between instruction librarians of the Fenway Library Consortium. This group is focusing on creating professional development opportunities including a peer mentor program and an open forum for sharing session ideas and receiving peer feedback.

If you are interested in joining this group, please contact Jeremy Shaw-Munderback at jeremy.shaw-munderback@simmons.edu.

Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

 

The MCPHS Libraries provide comfortable and quiet environments that fosters research, learning and study. There are study carrels and computer terminals providing access to electronic resources.

The Libraries maintain a collection of over 12,426 print books, approximately 40,000 e-journals and 1,660 media items. In addition, access is provided to around 67,500 electronic books and 135 databases. Over 32,800 journals are made available through a combination of owned subscriptions and titles made accessible through the Libraries' full-text databases.

Holdings are further extended through membership in the Fenway Library Consortium (FLC), a group of fifteen libraries that share resources. The Fenway Libraries Online, Inc. (FLO) supports an online public catalog of over 900,000 volumes held by member institutions. Each campus library is also a member of a local library consortium providing access to collections beyond MCPHS.

Taking advantage of Boston 's extensive research universities and colleges, the MCPHS Libraries offer an interlibrary loan program that provides timely delivery of journal articles and books, usually at no cost to our students or faculty. 

Wentworth Institute of Technology Alumni Library

Instruction

Wentworth librarians provide both general and specialized classes in methods of library and internet research. Most instruction sessions incorporate the use of databases, reference materials, the FLO Catalog, and Web resources.

These sessions can be tailored to specific class assignments, and can include a hands-on component that will enable students to get a head-start on their research.

Faculty members are invited to bring their classes to the library classroom for traditional instruction sessions, or we can come to your classroom.

Research & Publishing Support

  • Get customized research assistance from a subject librarian.
  • Use e-resource alerts to keep current. Recommend materials to support your research. 
  • Use citation management tools. 
  • Customized research assistance.
  • Recommend additions to library collections.