LibGuides: Library Resources to Enhance Learning and Teaching: Teaching & Learning in the Library

Sample eBooks

Below is a small sample of the eBooks and print books that address issues in teaching and learning, including pedagogy, course design, teaching with technology and more, in the Simmons Library's collection. Ask your librarian to help you find appropriate titles in your library's collection.

Effective Grading: A Tool for Learning and Assessment in College
This book offers a hands-on guide for evaluating student work and examines the link between teaching and grading.
Essentials of E-Learning for Nurse Educators
This comprehensive, user-friendly, text will help you understand the principles behind online learning; show you how to successfully use it in the classroom, in clinical, and for staff development.
Navigating the New Pedagogy: Six Principles that Transform Teaching
The new pedagogy is a synthesis of effective curriculum, big ideas, nurturing relationships, differentiated instruction, appropriate assessment, teaching to standards, use of technology, and solid understanding of the content being taught. This book provides a map of education's new landscape of the current best practices and philosophies.
Online Learning: A User-Friendly Approach for High School and College Students
Whatever a student's age, situation, or lifestyle, everything needed for successfully completing an online class is in this book. Each chapter covers a specific element of online learning and provides the new online student with practical strategies and how-to information so that any student can go into an online classroom prepared to succeed.
Transformative Learning in Practice: Insights from Community, Workplace, and Higher Education
Leading authorities and practitioners working in a variety of national and international settings, including college classrooms, corporate workshops, online and informal groups in rural communities, offer insights and a wealth of strategies for fostering transformative learning in and out of the classroom.

Sample Print Books

Blended Learning in Higher Education: Framework, Principles and Guidelines
This book is a resource for the practical application of blended learning in higher education as well as a comprehensive examination of the topic. The book clearly demonstrates how the blended learning approach embraces the traditional values of face-to-face teaching and integrates the best practices of online learning.
Creating Significant Learning Experiences: An Integrated Approach to Designing College Courses
This book takes important ideas in the literature on college teaching (active learning, educative assessment), adds some new ideas (a taxonomy of significant learning, the concept of a teaching strategy), and shows how to combine them to achieve powerful learning experiences for students.
Discussion-based Online Teaching to Enhance Student Learning: Theory, Practice, and Assessment
This book offers an engaging and practical approach to online teaching that is rooted in the author's experience and enthusiasm for creating a virtual environment that engages students and fosters their deep learning.
McKeachie's Teaching Tips: Strategies, Research, and Theory for College and University Teachers
This indispensable handbook provides helpful strategies for dealing with both the everyday challenges of university teaching and those that arise in efforts to maximize learning for every student. The suggested strategies are supported by research and adaptable to specific classroom situations.
The Advancement of Learning: Building the Teaching Commons
Published by The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, this important resource builds on the work of Carnegie's best-selling books, Scholarship Reconsidered and Scholarship Assessed. The Advancement of Learning explores the premise that the scholarship of teaching and learning holds the key to improving the quality of higher education.
The Professor's Guide to Teaching: Psychological Principles and Practices
This book explores what research has revealed about effective teaching and mines this resource to offer useful suggestions and practical recommendations for both new and seasoned instructors.
What the Best College Teachers Do
What makes a great teacher great? Who are the professors students remember long after graduation? This book, the conclusion of a fifteen-year study of nearly one hundred college teachers in a wide variety of fields and universities, offers valuable answers for all educators.

Streaming Video Resources

Streaming videos can be integrated into online learning platforms such as Blackboard and Moodle, either through linking or by directly embedding the video into the course management system. Embedding a video from this type of resource works much like YouTube and means that students will be able to click and play directly through their course page.

Filmakers Library Online
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning streaming documentaries with relevance across the curriculum, including education. Films included in this collection present points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

Filmakers Library Online provides access to over 1,000 documentary films and educational videos. Content covers topics including social justice, global studies, psychology, and environmental issues. Films represent diverse perspectives and experiences worldwide. This resource supports classroom instruction and research across multiple disciplines.
Kanopy
Kanopy is a leading distributor of online educational videos, and Simmons provides access to over 1,000 videos on the Kanopy platform across a wide variety of subject areas, including Education.

Kanopy provides access to thousands of films including documentaries, educational content, and classic cinema. The collection includes content from the Criterion Collection and leading educational producers. Videos support curriculum needs across academic disciplines. This platform serves both classroom instruction and independent learning.

Online Journals & Collected Essays

The library subscribes to a large number of resources that provide online journal articles and collected essays, including subject-specific databases as well as individual electronic journals. Below is a sample of the resources that include articles on teaching and learning to which Simmons subscribes. Ask your librarian for help finding the most appropriate places to go for this information at your college.

APA PsycInfo

The premier database for psychological research, covering international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences.

PsycINFO provides comprehensive access to psychological literature from over 1,900 journals across 45 countries. The database covers academic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related fields. Content includes sophisticated indexing by psychological concepts and methodology. This resource is essential for in-depth research in psychology and behavioral sciences.
Gale eBooks Education
A specialized collection of electronic reference books focused on education topics and teaching resources.

Gale eBooks Education features education-focused reference works, including many ASCD publications. Content covers teaching methods, classroom management, educational leadership, and assessment. Materials support both theoretical understanding and practical application. This resource is valuable for education students, teachers, and administrators.