Skip to main content

Archives and Primary Sources: The Simmons University Archives

A guide to to using primary sources within the Simmons University Archives and on the Web.

The Simmons University Archives

The Simmons University Archives collects and makes available materials that document and reflect the history and development of Simmons University .  The Simmons University  Archives was established in 1974 and, in 1980, dedicated to the memory of Colonel Miriam E. Perry Goll ('30).  The Archives welcomes Simmons students, faculty, alumnae, and administrators, as well as other interested researchers.

The University Archives collects official University administrative and committee records, publications, photographs, audio-visual materials, memorabilia, student theses and dissertations, and manuscript collections of alumnae/i and current and former members of the faculty and administration . The University Archives also maintains a historical book collection and a collection of the records of charitable organizations.  More information on all these materials can be found on the University  Archives' Web site.

The University Archives also invites users to learn about the history of Simmons University  through visiting the on-line exhibits of the University's presidents, traditions, student life, buildings, and more.

Primary Sources in the Simmons University Archives

In addition to the links below, the archives also has many materials onsite for research and use. These include many administrative records of the University, including the Office of the President records, Board of Trustees, Offices of the Provost, Deans, Academic Departments, Faculty Council, Office of Student Activities, University and student publications, University events, athletics, and the Alumnae Association. The Simmons University Archives can be reached by e-mail at: archives@simmons.edu.

Subject Guide