LibGuides: Archives and Primary Sources: Primary Sources on the Web

Web Sources

American Memory - Library of Congress
Includes a plethora of digitized documents, photographs, audiovisuals, sound recordings, pictures, books, maps, and pamphlets in regards to American history.
Avalon Project
Yale Law School database of documents related to law, history, and diplomacy spanning from 4000 BCE to the 21st century
Digital Commonwealth
This site provides access to photographs, manuscripts, books, audio recordings, and other materials of historical interest that have been digitized and made available by members of Digital Commonwealth, a statewide consortium of libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies from across Massachusetts.
Digital Public Library of America
This site includes primary source sets and online exhibitions on topics in American history, as well as the ability to browse for text, video, and sound clippings related to American history.
Eighteenth Century Resources - History
Resources related to 18th century history. Contains many primary documents.
EuroDocs
This site contains transcriptions, facsimiles, and translations to documents relating to European nations, including links to related outside sources
Hanover Historical Text Collection
The Hanover Historical Text Collection makes available digital versions of historical texts for use in history and humanities courses.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world
Historical Museum Guide for the U.S.
Lists museums within the United States
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digital collections made available through the Library of Congress
National Archives
Preserves the records of our Government which includes military records and naturalization records.
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Materials
Describes archival and manuscript collections and individual manuscripts in public, college and university, and special libraries located worldwide.
U.S. State Historical Societies and Archives Directory
List of state websites.
Social Welfare History Image Portal
The Social Welfare History Image Portal brings together photographs, pamphlets, artifacts and documents chronicling the history of the nation's response to human need. This history includes the work of volunteer organizations, reform movements, social workers, and government legislation and systems.
World Digital Library
Includes significant historical documents from around the world, including books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films

ArchiveGrid
- This link opens in a new window
Identify historical collections of primary source materials in archives and repositories throughout the United States.
HistoryMakers
- This link opens in a new window
HistoryMakers is the largest African American video oral history archive

Simmons Library Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Complete is a great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic. It contains a large number of journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed, from numerous subject areas. This resource features mostly full text content, and goes as far back as 1865.

The Simmons College Library Databases are a great resource to search for primary articles, journals, books, and other types of sources.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to a wide variety of scholarly journals and monographs in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Use JSTOR to find historical information rather than current articles. Thousands of full-text scholarly articles, some dating back to the 1800s.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE contains scholarly articles from major journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities.

Subject Guide

Kelsey Kolbet