LibGuides: BOS 101: Boston Childhoods: Home

STRUGGLING WITH A TOPIC IDEA?

Use Credo to help define your topic and then use the links on topic pages to discover more in-depth information in books and journals, find thousands of art images and connect your ideas using concept mapping.

Struggling with your topic? Need to know both sides of the issues before you make a decision? Points of View allows you to hear both sides of an issue with resources from academic journals, popular magazines, media, and more.

OTHER AWESOME GUIDES

BOS 101: Introduction to Research
by Simmons University Library Last Updated Jan 22, 2025 35 views this year
SOCI 231: Sociology of Childhood
by Linda Schuller Last Updated Aug 5, 2019 0 views this year
Sociology
by Linda Schuller Last Updated Jan 22, 2025 14 views this year

Newspaper Articles and Debates
by Simmons University Library Last Updated Jan 22, 2025 27 views this year
How to find Statistics and Demographics
by Simmons University Library Last Updated Jan 22, 2025 19 views this year
Zines!
by Simmons University Library Last Updated Jun 17, 2024 116 views this year

Places to Poke Around

Scopus This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive abstract and citation database covering research output across all fields of study.
Scopus Index tracks and analyzes global research across sciences, mathematics, and humanities. The database includes content from thousands of journals and publishers worldwide. Features include citation analysis and author metrics. This tool supports research evaluation and scholarly literature discovery.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering LGBTQ+ studies, gender identity, and sexuality research.
LGBTQ+ Source provides extensive coverage of LGBTQ+ history, culture, and related social movements. Content includes full text from over 140 journals and 160 books. The database features a specialized thesaurus for LGBTQ+ research. This resource supports research in gender studies, sexuality studies, and related social sciences.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A streaming video platform offering a curated collection of educational films and documentaries.
Kanopy provides access to thousands of films including documentaries, educational content, and classic cinema. The collection includes content from the Criterion Collection and leading educational producers. Videos support curriculum needs across academic disciplines. This platform serves both classroom instruction and independent learning.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering nearly all academic subjects, making it an ideal starting point for research in any field.
Academic Search Ultimate is a comprehensive database of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering nearly all academic disciplines. The collection includes both peer-reviewed and general interest publications, with content dating back to 1865. It offers extensive full-text access to academic literature across the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and more. This database serves as an excellent starting point for research projects in any subject area.

Contact Us

Simmons University Library

Email Me

Contact:

Chat with a Librarian

617.521.2780