American Association for State and Local HistoryThe American Association for State and Local History (AASLH) is a national association that provides leadership and support for its members who preserve and interpret state and local history in order to make the past more meaningful to all people.
American Historical AssociationFounded in 1889, AHA is an advocate for the field of history and preservation. AHA awards more than 100 scholarships, provides online resources for teachers, and provides support for numerous academic journals.
Massachusetts Historical SocietyFounded in 1791, the Massachusetts Historical Society is an invaluable resource for American history, life, and culture. Its extraordinary collections tell the story of America through millions of rare and unique documents, artifacts, and irreplaceable national treasures.
Oral History AssociationSince 1966, the Oral History Association has served as the principal membership organization for people committed to the value of oral history. OHA engages with policy makers, educators, and others to help foster best practices and encourage support for oral history and oral historians.
Organization of American HistoriansMembership in OAH includes subscriptions to journals, newsletters and magazines, discounted subscription to JSTOR, online teaching materials, and scholarships.
Urban History AssociationThe Urban History Association supports and encourages the historical study and teaching of cities, suburbs and metropolitan regions in all time periods throughout the world.
World History AssociationThe WHA is the foremost organization for the promotion of world history through the encouragement of teaching, research, and publication.
Archivists, Curators, and Museum Technicians Career InformationOverview from the Occupational Outlook Handbook of the U.S. Department of Labor. Includes information about the general nature of the work, working conditions, employment, training and qualifications, job outlook, earnings, and related occupations.
AHA Career CenterGuide to the many possible careers paths for history majors from the American Historical Association.
Social Scientists Career InformationOverview from the Occupational Outlook Handbook of the U.S. Department of Labor. Includes information about the general nature of the work, working conditions, employment, training and qualifications, job outlook, earnings, and related occupations. Click on an occupation to learn more.
AASLH Career CenterIncludes jobs around the country for history majors posted by the American Association for State and Local History.
American Historical Society Jobs & Careers PageFrom the AHA site: "As the primary professional association for historians in the United States, the AHA serves as the main clearinghouse for information about jobs, careers, and employment for the historical profession. These services range from advice for the history major pondering their first job out of college to advice, information, and job listings for history PhDs."
Note: To search the job listings, you will need to register on the AHA site as a nonmember.
History Jobs from IndeedProvides a list of the latest job postings in Boston that might be of interest to history majors.
Boston by FootBoston by Foot volunteers lead history enthusiasts throughout the city.
Boston National Historic ParksThe U.S. National Park Service seeks volunteers to work in visitor services, research, administration, stewardship, and more.
Bostonian SocietyThe Bostonian Society operates the Old State House Museum and a library of Boston's history, seeking volunteers to work in museum, library, and visitor services.
NRC Ranking of U.S. History Ph.D. ProgramsFrom the Chronicle of Higher Education, this page provides data for graduate programs in History from the most recent study conducted by the National Research Council.
