Bookbuilders of Boston
Bookbuilders of Boston is a nonprofit organization dedicated to bringing together people involved in book publishing and manufacturing throughout New England. Along with its publications and activities, this site is designed to provide information and resources for publishing professionals.
Careers for English Majors
This English Advising career page from the University of Washington includes information on potential career paths, graduate school and more.
Employers by Major: English
On this page you'll find links organized by state to employers of English majors, including the name of the employer, location, and industry description. Use this resource to discover the variety of positions open to English majors in your state!
Popular Careers for English Majors
English majors have a great variety of options, from proposal manager to communications director. This website includes a list of the most popular careers for English majors and what they pay.
Publishing Careers
An online "informational interview" for college students, new graduates, and career changers interested in knowing what a job in publishing is like and how they can get one.
JournalismSchools
A list of links to journalism school websites divided by state.
NRC Ranking of U.S. English Ph.D. Programs
From the Chronicle of Higher Education, this page provides data for graduate programs in English from the most recent study conducted by the National Research Council.
American Press Institute
Devoted to training and professional development for the news industry and journalism educators.
American Society of Journalists and Authors
ASJA represents independent nonfiction writers and focuses on professional development, including regular confidential market information, meetings with editors and others in the field, an exclusive referral service, and seminars and workshops.
American Society of Newspaper Editors
Membership organization for newspaper editors. Web site features first amendment information, archives of the society's publications and proceedings.
Association of American Publishers
The AAP's main focus concerns issues regarding: intellectual property; new technology and digital issues of concern to publishers; Freedom to read, censorship and libel; international freedom to publish; funding for education and libraries; postal rates and regulations; tax and trade policy; international copyright enforcement.
Modern Language Association
Founded in 1883 by teachers and scholars, the MLA promotes the study and teaching of language and literature.
National Council of Teachers of English
The National Council of Teachers of English is devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education.
Northeast Modern Language Association
The Northeast Modern Language Association (NeMLA) is a scholarly organization for professionals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and other modern languages. Most members are professors and students at colleges and universities from New England, New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, and eastern Canada.
PEN American Center
PEN American Center is the U.S. branch of the world’s oldest international literary and human rights organization. PEN American Center is comprised of 3,400 Professional Members who represent the most distinguished writers, translators, and editors in the United States. PEN also welcomes Associate Members who come from all parts of the literary community—booksellers, librarians, students, passionate readers—and who share PEN’s ideals.
Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators (SCBWI)
SCBWI is specifically for authors and illustrators of children and young adult books. SCBWI offers networking through online forums, two annual conferences, and regional chapters. Members also receive newsletters about current events, access to databases of authors and illustrators and discounts from various companies and vendors.
AuthorLink
Partners with Monster.com to provide national media and publishing job listings from the larger database. Authorlink also features tips on getting published
BookJobs.com
A comprehensive resource for finding jobs and internships in the publishing industry.
Ed2010
This group of young up-and-coming editors hoping to land their dream magazine jobs by 2010 posts job openings obtained word-of-mouth.
Editor & Publisher
The classifieds from Editor & Publisher Magazine include national newspaper editorial, advertising, and circulation jobs.
FOLIO: Careers
Includes career information and job listings for all aspects of the magazine industry, including print, online and live event.
Mediabistro
Listings for all types of media jobs and internships, including print and web editors, freelance and staff writers, copyeditors, marketing writers, and more. Updated daily.
MPA Job Bank
From the Association of Magazine Media, MPA's Career Center is the only comprehensive online career site for the consumer magazine publishing community.
Publishers Lunch Job Board
Descriptions and job postings for publishing professionals, including access to unique databases.
The Write Jobs
Small database featuring writing and production jobs at large national companies.
Jobs for English Majors
Keep up with the latest job listings from the Publishers Lunch Job Board.
