Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's In This Guide
Use the tabs above or the links below to navigate this guide. And remember, Help! is only a click away!
Recommended Web Resources
There are a lot of great resources on the web where you can find information about Children's Literature as well as online primary texts (children's fiction, nonfiction and more) and recordings of books being read aloud. Hover your mouse over the links to find out what they contain. Have fun exploring!
How to Use This Guide
Welcome to the Simmons Library guide to resources in Children's Literature and Literary Scholarship. Use the links in the table of contents or the tabs at the top of the page to find definitions, topic overviews, books, articles and more that will help you with your research.
If you don't find what you are looking for or need help navigating this guide, don't hesitate to contact the author of this guide or Ask a Librarian.
Good luck with your research!
Getting To Know Your Topic
Reference sources--like dictionaries and subject encyclopedias--provide overviews of topics and descriptions of concepts and ideas. They can also provide definitions, statistics and other details. You can use this type of source to help narrow your research topic, find data to support your thesis and identify keywords and main ideas to use as search terms.
Credo Reference is a searchable collection of over 500 reference books across a wide variety of subjects from top publishers such as Cambridge University Press, Wiley and Elsevier. This resource includes titles such as Keywords for Children's Literature and The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The Oxford English Dictionary is the most authoritative dictionary of the English language. In both the print and online versions, entries include a history of where a word was first published, alternate spellings, pronunciations and an etymological analysis.
Gale Literary Sources
Gale Literary Sources includes resources on literary topics, authors, and their works. Includes scholarly articles, topic overviews, book reviews, biographical essays as well as poems and short stories.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Covers a wide range of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy, with over 25,000 hot-linked cross-references between articles and links to other editorially reviewed websites.
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a searchable online general reference collection. You can search across all the reference books or select a subject area.
Databases on Your Topic: Arts & Humanities
Use the dropdown arrow to choose an online resource to search for more in-depth information on your topic. This list includes resources with a wide variety of content, such as journal articles, topic overviews and definitions from encyclopedias and dictionaries and in-depth information from e-books.
Books: In-depth Information on Your Topic
Books are a great source of in-depth information on a topic. Use a simple keyword search to locate information on a particular topic. You can also look for specific books by title or for books by an individual author or browse the stacks by call number.
- Why search here?
Humanities E-Books (HEB) is a fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars. These are works of major importance that remain vital to both scholars and advanced students, and are frequently cited in the literature.
- What's included?
HEB is an online collection of approximately 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities, accessible through institutional and individual subscription. These titles are offered by the ACLS in collaboration with thirty learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and the Michigan Publishing division at the University of Michigan Library.
Helpful Simmons Resources