Skip to Main Content
- At this link you'll find a thorough overview from the Simmons Career Education Center, including reasons to go to graduate school, how to evaluate programs, the application process, and more.
All About Grad School
College Insight provides statistical data on college cost, class composition, and student success for the college of your choice with an easy to use interface.
Features graduate and professional school profiles, information on programs of study, degree requirements, facilities, faculty research, and more.
Searchable resources for locating graduate schools and programs internationally.
GraduateGuide is a searchable directory of graduate schools in the United States and Canada.
Searchable database of hundreds of graduate programs at top universities across the globe.
This site includes information to help you identify reputable online master's programs, succeed in the program and then land a career that makes the most of your degree.
Peterson's Online Resources
Searchable database of graduate school programs by location, subject, keyword and more.
U.S. News & World Report
Graduate school rankings from U.S. News & World Report.
AcademicKeys.com includes 17 discipline-focused sites that offer comprehensive information about faculty, educational resources, research interests, and professional activities pertinent to institutions of higher education. More than 89% of the top 120 universities (as ranked by US News and World Report) post their available higher ed jobs with AcademicKeys.com.
Career Resources from the MLA
Links to articles and other resources about graduate school and careers from the Modern Language Association.
Chronicle of Higher Education Special Reports
This section of the Chronicle of Higher Education online includes data on average faculty salaries, graduate student stipends, trends in faculty employment, and more. Full access available on-campus only.
The Education of Historians for the Twenty-first Century Revisited
This report from the American Historical Association offers recommendations for improving the state of graduate education. It stands as the first investigation of graduate training for historians in more than four decades.
Graduate Student Resource for Choosing a Postdoc
Thinking about doing a post-doc? Use this guide to decide if it's the right path for you.
The Many Careers of History PhDs: A Study of Job Outcomes, Spring 2013
As part of the American Historical Association’s assessment of careers for history PhDs, the authors of this study undertook a detailed analysis of the current employment held by 2,500 history PhDs, all of whom earned their degrees between 1998 and 2009.
National Association of Graduate-Professional Students
An advocacy and support group for graduate students, this site includes resources on writing a dissertation, insurance information, listservs and more.
Some Modest Advice for Graduate Students
Words of wisdom for the aspiring grad student from Stephen Stearns, Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at Yale.