The Moakley Archive and Institute at Suffolk University has many resources that illustrate the controversy surrounding school degregation in Boston during the 1970s
Boston Globe HistoricalThis link opens in a new windowA digital archive of Boston Globe content from 1872-1988, offering a comprehensive historical view of Boston and beyond.
The Boston Globe Historical collection provides digital reproductions of every Boston Globe issue from 1872 to 1988. Content includes news articles, editorials, advertisements, photographs, and other historical materials. The archive preserves the original page layouts in downloadable PDF format. This resource is essential for historical research, genealogy, and understanding Boston's past.
Historical Abstracts with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowThe definitive index for world history research from 1450 to the present, excluding North America.
Historical Abstracts plus Full Text covers the history of the world excluding the United States and Canada. Content includes academic journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1955. Coverage encompasses political, social, economic, and military history. This database is essential for historical research and historiography.
America: History and Life with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowThe primary database for research on United States and Canadian history, offering comprehensive coverage from prehistoric times to the present.
America: History & Life provides abstracts and full text for articles, dissertations, and book reviews related to North American history and culture. The database includes content from 1964 forward, with English abstracts for foreign language articles. Coverage spans social, cultural, political, and economic history. This resource is essential for historical research, academic writing, and understanding North American historical developments.
ARCHIVES - PRIMARY SOURCES
These resources are digitized and can be accessed from any computer.
The images in this collection document Freedom House's early activities to create an integrated Roxbury, foster citizen participation in the urban renewal of Roxbury, and implement early oversight of Boston Public Schools desegregation.
Both Harvard and Northeastern have collections in their Archives Department. You will need to contact them in order to make an appointment to view the collections below.
