LibGuides: Sociology: Find Resources

WANT TO MAKE A ZINE?

The Simmons Student Zine Collection is an online repository of zines created by the Simmons community in a variety of classes, independent projects, and personal creative achievement. The collection is growing each semester so this is just a sampling of what is available for viewing. If you are interested in creating a zine for your class project, assignment or just for personal fun, please reach out to the Zine Librarian, Dawn Stahura. Workshops and one-on-one consultations are available for learning more about making zines.

LOOKING FOR YOUR CLASS?

If you are in SOCI 239 and/or SOCI 249, then this general guide on SOCIOLOGY is for you!

Here are some other courses in you may be taking:

SOCI 231: Sociology of Childhood
by Linda Schuller Last Updated Aug 5, 2019 2 views this year
SOCI 321: Sociology of Food
by Linda Schuller Last Updated Feb 23, 2024 16 views this year

SOCIOLOGY RESOURCES

Struggling with your topic? Need to know both sides of the issues before you make a decision? Points of View allows you to hear both sides of an issue with resources from academic journals, popular magazines, media, and more.

SocINDEX with Full Text Why search here? SocINDEX is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database.What's included? Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Also features over 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database.
Scopus Index Why search here? Keep track of what's happening in the research world. Across all research fields—science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities—Scopus is an index that delivers a broad overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information that researchers like you need.What's included? Scopus has twice as many titles and over 30% more publishers listed than any other A&I database, with interdisciplinary content that covers the research spectrum: timely updates from thousands of peer-reviewed journals; preliminary findings from millions of conference papers; and the thorough analysis in thousands of books.
LGBTQ+ Source Why search here? This full-text database (formerly LGBT Life with Full Text) contains all of the same content available in LGBT Life, as well as full text resources for the most important and historically significant information regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex, and Ally issues.What's included? More than 600 abstracted and indexed journals and books, 140 full-text journals, 160 full-text books, and the LGBT Thesaurus.
Academic Search Ultimate Why search here? Academic Search Ultimate is a great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic. What's included? It contains a large number of journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed, from numerous subject areas. This resource features mostly full text content, and goes as far back as 1865.
GenderWatch Why search here? GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present.What's included? This well-established and highly reviewed resource offers over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses.
Sage Data Why search here? Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) is a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics that allows users to scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts, including descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.What's included? Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) incorporates the content of Sage Stats and US Political Stats Datasets and covers a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.

SOCARXIV Open Access sociology research made available by the University of Maryland.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, & Law Why search here? Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law brings together a multitude of essential legal materials, commentary, pamphlets and books on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.What's included? This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.

Annual Review of Sociology Covers the significant developments in the field of Sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields. (electronic resource)
American Sociological Review The flagship journal of the American Sociological Association. Publishes original works in general that advance our understanding of fundamental social processes, and important methodological innovations.
Contemporary Sociology
Contexts Contexts, peer-reviewed and published quarterly, offers a smartly written, thought-provoking take on modern life in our communities.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
American FactFinder Find popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
Bureau of Justice Statistics To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
Data.gov List of open-source data on a variety of subjects. Search 'violence'
NCES-National Center for Education Statistics This is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
American Community Survey Find statistics on education, income and benefits, health insurance, and more.
Pew Research Center The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues.

A complete guide to 'hipster racism' by Lindy West
Call Number: Zines RAC .C66 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Zine aims to educate folks on what "hipster racism" or "ironic racism" actually is, which is racism.
Evolution of a Race Riot by Mimi Nguyen
Call Number: Zines RAC .E96 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Nguyen's huge compilation zine features writers of color who are affiliated with the punk and riot grrrl scenes. The essays, comics, art works, and poems analyze racism, and privilege in the largely white populations of activist, feminist, punk and zine communities, and discuss isolation and homogeneity. There are contributions by American Indians, Asian Americans, African Americans, Filipinos, and Latinos
I Was Abducted By White People by Kim So Yung
Call Number: Zines RAC .I93 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Zine discusses what transnational abduction is and what effects it has on the kids adopted by white folks.
POC Solidarity, issue #11 by Muchacha presents
Call Number: Zines ACT .P63 2016
Publication Date: 2016
This collaborative zine includes essays. poems, and photography about intersectional racial justice movements and building solidarity across different marginalized groups. Specific topics include global resistance movements, fighting anti-blackness, trans women of color, incarceration, and police violence.
Toxic Blackberry Manifesto by Zenaida, Marissa, Izzy, Teanna, and Deepa
Call Number: Zines RAC .T69 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Zine discusses race as a social construct, color-blindness, privilege, and internalized racism.
White Noise: A Zine About Race by Dee, Lyra, Amanda, Val, and Jasmine
Call Number: Zines RAC .W44 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Zine highlights the way White people create distracting chatter in conversations about race, through colorblindness, a refusal to speak and derailing comments. The zine is meant to inform about the issues of race.

Zines!
by Simmons University Library Last Updated Jun 17, 2024 845 views this year
Anti-Oppression
by Hannah Gershone Last Updated Jun 17, 2024 15312 views this year

Activism 101
by Hannah Gershone Last Updated Jun 18, 2024 1362 views this year

How to find Statistics and Demographics
by Simmons University Library Last Updated Oct 23, 2023 142 views this year

YOUR LIBRARIAN

Linda Schuller

Email Me

Contact:

E-111

617.521.2767

Subjects: Africana Studies, Behavior Analysis, Business, Communications, East Asian Studies, Economics, Education, French, Health Care Administration, Health Informatics, History, International Relations, Library & Information Science, Political Science, Psychology, Spanish