LibGuides: Anti-Oppression: Social Justice Zines

Zines Written by Simmons Students

Want to know what your fellow Simmons classmates think about activism, white privilege, oppression, and intimate violence prevention?

Check out the Social Justice Zine Collection written by the Simmons Community.

The collection is located to the right of the library service desk in the new "Zine Zone"

No need to check them out. Take what you need.

To the Front Collection @ Simmons

HOW TO SEARCH FOR ZINES:

You can search under To The Front Collection in the Library Catalog.
Browse the zine collection by subject using the Subject Categories below:

Zine Categories
Zines are cataloged by subject. This guide will help you find the zine of your dreams.

Read Some Zines!

Check out a few of the zines from our Social Justice Zine collection!

Simmons Student Zine Collection Exhibit

This collection consists of zines created by Simmons College undergraduate students as part of their coursework in a variety of disciplines.

Social Justice Zines

Stop by the library and pick up copies of these empowering zines from our current Social Justice Zines collection! These zines are free for the taking and are provided by Beatley Library as educational and informative tools for a wide range of topics.

SOME ZINE CATEGORIES & TITLES

Allies, White Privilege, Oppression, Patriarchy

Everyone calls themselves an ally until it is time to do some real shit
Moral Revolution!
So you want to be an ally!
Dear white people
Understanding patriarchy

Activism, Protests, Bystander Intervention

ATR Activism
(A)BC's mini-guide to protesting
It ain't just drama mama! A zine about bystander intervention

Your Rights, Police

We are all suspects: a guide for people navigating the expanded powers of surveillance in the 21st century
Know your rights! What you need to know

Sexual Assault, Abusive Behavior, Consent

Ask for it! I <3 consent
What to do when someone tells you that you violated their boundaries, made them feel uncomfortable, or committed assault
Supporting a survivor of sexual assault
Sex with a survivor: a guide to being sexually intimate with a survivor of trauma
The relationship spectrum guide

Mental Health, First Aid

An activist's guide to basic first aid
Mapping our madness: a workbook for navigating crisis, extreme states, or just foul moods
Empower yr sexy self: a workbook
Mindful occupation: rising up without burning out

Trans

Sexual health for transgender & nonconforming people

Locating Zine Resources

These zine distributors carry zines you can purchase. You can also send them your zines, and see if they're willing to distribute them (advertise, sell, and mail to buyers) for you.

Quimby's Bookstore Massive collection of zines, running the gamut of possible topics.
Brown Recluse Distro Brown Recluse Zine Distro was created to support and center zines written by people of color. This project was born out of passion for zines and frustration at the lack of representation and meaningful zine material for POC.
Wasted Ink Zine Distro WIZD is a small zine library and store located in Phoenix, Arizona. We serve as a home base for Arizona Zinesters looking for a DIY hub and creative space with vibrant community, events, connections, and ZINES.
Portland Button Works Feminist, DIY, political, and perzines.
Antiquated Future Activism, feminist, mental health, and DIY zines.
Boston Anarchist Black Cross Boston Anarchist Black Cross functions as the defensive arm of local anarchist struggles. We work to forge an organized support network for local activists in need and for folks behind bars. We seek the total abolition of prisons and work on projects in support of this cause.
Neither/Nor Zine Distro

Want to make zine friends? Share your zine with others? Check out the following sites.

MA Feminist Zine Fest Find out when the next zine fest is being held in Boston. Apply to table at the fest with your zines! Or just stop by, meet zinesters, buy and trade zines!
Broken Beautiful Press - Zine Downloads Radical zines, many by women of color, created to support radical self- & collective- growth, transformation, healing, and imagining-together. You can download PDFs of the zines for free from the site.
Papercut Library Boston's own fully-functioning lending library of zines. The collection is over 16,000 punk and early 80's zines but current zines.
P.O.C. Zine Project Get information about the project on the POC Zine Project, or visit their archive of downloadable zines.
Queer Zine Archive Project The mission of the Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) is to establish a "living history" archive of past and present queer zines and to encourage current and emerging zine publishers to continue to create. In curating such a unique aspect of culture, we value a collectivist approach that respects the diversity of experiences that fall under the heading "queer."
Small Science Collective A collaboration of scientists, artists, students, and anyone else interested in science, this project produces small zines and web comics on a variety of topics . Read online, download zines, and share your ideas!
Zine Sites Guide to online zine resources from the Barnard Zine Library.