LibGuides: POLS 223: Human Rights: Home

You Might Also Like...

Archives and Primary Sources
by Kelsey Kolbet Last Updated Aug 7, 2023 311 views this year
New York Times
by Augusto Consing Last Updated May 16, 2023 986 views this year
International Relations
by Simmons University Library Last Updated Sep 4, 2024 66 views this year
History
by Simmons University Library Last Updated Sep 4, 2024 302 views this year

Helpful Simmons Resources

Department of Political Science & International Relations
Simmons Moodle Get to the online content for your courses, including course reserves, here.
The Writing Center
Get Help Are you stuck? Talk with a librarian to come up with strategies to get unstuck.
Library Services for Online and Distance Students

Background Sources

Academic Search Ultimate
- Why search here?
  Academic Search Ultimate is a great place to start your search for both popular and scholarly articles on almost any topic.
- What's included?
  It contains a large number of journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed, from numerous subject areas. This resource features mostly full text content, and goes as far back as 1865.
Credo Reference
- Why search here?
  Credo Reference is a searchable collection of over 500 reference books across a wide variety of subjects from top publishers such as Cambridge University Press, Wiley and Elsevier.
- What's included?
  Use Credo to help define your topic and then use the links on topic pages to discover more in-depth information in books and journals, find thousands of art images and connect your ideas using concept mapping.

Directory of Open Access Journals: Political Science Click the Political Science subject area to view a wide array of worldwide, peer-reviewed articles published in open access journals.

Gale eBooks
- Why search here?
  Gale eBooks (formally Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a searchable online general reference collection. You can search across all the reference books or select a subject area.
- What's included?
  Gale eBooks includes titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science and the social sciences.
JSTOR
- Why search here?
  JSTOR provides access to a wide variety of scholarly journals and monographs in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Use JSTOR to find historical information rather than current articles.
- What's included?
  Thousands of full-text scholarly articles, some dating back to the 1800s.
Project MUSE
- Why search here?
  Project MUSE contains scholarly articles from major journals in the Social Sciences and Humanities as well as ebooks.
- What's included?
  Full-text scholarly articles and ebooks on literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and more.
Scopus Index
- Why search here?
  Keep track of what's happening in the research world. Across all research fields—science, mathematics, engineering, technology, health and medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities—Scopus is an index that delivers a broad overview of global, interdisciplinary scientific information that researchers like you need.
- What's included?
  Scopus has twice as many titles and over 30% more publishers listed than any other A&I database, with interdisciplinary content that covers the research spectrum: timely updates from thousands of peer-reviewed journals; preliminary findings from millions of conference papers; and the thorough analysis in thousands of books.

Opposing Viewpoints Why search here? Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) contains articles, reports and more that provide different viewpoints on controversial topics.What's included? A list of some of the most hotly-debated topics with links to articles and other resources.

All Sides Unlike regular news services, AllSides exposes bias and provides multiple angles on the same story so you can quickly get the full picture, not just one slant.
ProCon.org "Promoting critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format."

News from the Council on Foreign Relations

Encyclopedia of Associations
Provides contact information and descriptive listings for Human Rights organizations worldwide. Click on Subject and then List of Subjects to find a list of entries of Human Rights organizations.
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)
Provides links to all subsidiary UN human rights bodies. The Brief Guide to Finding UN Human Rights documents. provides tips for finding UN human rights documents, including specific databases and search tips.
United Nations Research Guide: Human Rights
A comprehensive guide to current UN Human Rights activities and historical documents.
United Nations, Human Rights Council
The Human Rights Council is an inter-governmental body within the UN system made up of 47 States responsible for strengthening the promotion and protection of human rights around the globe. The Council was created by the UN General Assembly on 15 March 2006 with the main purpose of addressing situations of human rights violations and make recommendations on them.

Digital Public Library of America The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
HathiTrust HathiTrust provides access to millions of digitized materials from around the world.
LibriVox
LibriVox audiobooks are free for anyone to listen to on their computers, iPods or other mobile device, or to burn onto a CD. Titles on LibriVox are in the public domain and include a wide array of classic literature.
ManyBooks.net
More than 29,000 eBooks available for Kindle, Nook, iPad and most other eReaders, and they're all free!
Open Library Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive, and has been funded in part by a grant from the California State Library and the Kahle/Austin Foundation. It makes over 1,000,000 free ebook versions of classic literature available at your fingertips.
Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 36,000 free ebook versions of titles in the public domain to download to your PC, Kindle, Android, iOS or other portable device. Choose between ePub, Kindle, HTML and simple text formats.

Browse the stacks for political science books.

LC Call Number	Subject
J (1)-981	General legislative and executive papers
JA 1-92	Political science (General)
JC 11-605	Political theory. The state. Theories of the state
JF 20-2112	Political institutions and public administration
JJ 1000-1019	Political institutions and public administration (North America)
JK 1-9993	Political institutions and public administration (United States)
JL 1-3899	Political institutions and public administration (Canada, Latin America, etc.)
JN 1-9689	Political institutions and public administration (Europe)
JQ 21-6651	Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)
JS 39-8500	Local government. Municipal government
JV 1-9480	Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International migration
JZ 5-6530	International relations

Deputy Library Director

Lena Kilburn

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

617-521-2659

Subjects: Children's Literature, Social Work