1. For sources with four to ten authors, list all authors in the bibliography; in the footnote, list only the first author’s name followed by the phrase et al. (Latin for “and others”)
2. For sources with more than ten authors, list the first seven authors in the bibliography, followed by et al.. In the footnote, list only the first author's name followed by et al..
3. For reference books that provide content in alphabetical order, in the footnote, use s.v. (Latin for “sub verbo) before the title of the entry that you are citing. (If you are citing more than one title, use the plural form, s.vv.). Publisher information does not need to be included in the footnote.
1. For works with more than ten authors Chicago recommends only the first seven should be listed in the Reference List, followed by et al. 14.76:. In the footnote, list only the first author's name followed by et al..
2. All of the In-Text Citations are formatted the same unless listed otherwise: (Author's Last Name(s) Date Published, Page Cited)
Bibliography:
Kling, David William. The Bible in History: How the Texts Have Shaped the Times. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004.
Footnote:
1. David William Kling, The Bible in History: How the Texts Have Shaped the Times (New York: Oxford University Press, 2004), 301.
Bibliography:
Holder, Arthur G. Christian Spirituality: The Classics. New York: Routledge, 2009. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/up/detail.action?docID=446822.
Footnote:
1. Arthur G. Holder, Christian Spirituality: The Classics (New York: Routledge, 2009), 30, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/up/detail.action?docID=446822.
Bibliography:
Deffenbaugh, Daniel G. and David L. Dungan. “The Bible and Ecology.” In The International Bible Commentary, edited by William R. Farmer, 314-323. Collegeville, MN: The Liturgical Press, 1998.
Footnote:
1. Daniel G. Deffenbaugh and David L. Dungan, “The Bible and Ecology,” in The International Bible Commentary, ed. William R. Farmer (Collegeville, MN: The Liturgical Press, 1998), 315.
When citing an introduction, a preface, a foreword, or an afterword, write the name of the author(s) of the piece you are citing. Then give the name of the part being cited, which should not be italicized or enclosed in quotation marks; in italics, provide the name of the work and the page range. Finish the citation with the details of publication.
Bibliography:
Shepard, Paul. Introduction to Nature and Madness, 24-41. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1998.
Footnote:
1. Paul Shepard, introduction to Nature and Madness (Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1998), 35.
If the writer of the piece is different from the author of the complete work, then start the citation with the author of the introduction or foreword, and write the full name of the principal work's author after the title of the work.
Bibliography:
Sacks, Oliver. Foreword to A Man without Words, by Susan Schaller, 9-12. 2nd ed. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2012.
Footnote:
1. Oliver Sacks, foreword to A Man Without Words, by Susan Schaller, 2nd ed. (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2012), 10.
Print Reference Book:
Bibliography:
Camelot, P. T. "Ephesus." In The New Catholic Encyclopedia, edited by William J. McDonald, vol. 5, 457-458. New York: McGraw Hill, 1967.
Footnote:
1. The New Catholic Encyclopedia, s.v. “Ephesus.”
Online Reference Book:
Include a publication date or last updated date if available; otherwise, include an access date.
Bibliography:
Hunt, M. J. "Red Sea." In The New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., vol. 11, 962-963. Detroit, MI: Gale, 2003. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3407709364/GVRL?u=port18814&sid=GVRL&xid=c11723f0.
Footnote:
1. The New Catholic Encyclopedia, s.v. “Red Sea,” https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3407709364/GVRL?u=port18814&sid=GVRL&xid=c11723f0.
Print Book:
Bibliography:
Richard, Lucien, editor. What are They Saying about the Theology of Suffering? New York: Paulist Press, 1992.
Footnote:
1. Lucien Richard, ed., What are They Saying about the Theology of Suffering? (New York: Paulist Press, 1992), 20.
Online Book:
Bibliography:
Kidwell, Jeremy, and Sean Doherty, editors. Theology and Economics: A Christian Vision of the Common Good. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2015. https://login.uportland.idm.oclc.org/login?url= http://link.springer.com/10.1057/9781137536518.
Footnote:
1. Jeremy Kidwell and Sean Doherty, eds., Theology and Economics: A Christian Vision of the Common Good (New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2015), 103, https://login.uportland.idm.oclc.org/login?url= http://link.springer.com/10.1057/9781137536518.
Print Book:
Bibliography:
Boitani, Piero. The Bible and Its Rewritings. Translated by Anita Weston. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.
Footnote:
1. Piero Boitani, The Bible and Its Rewritings, trans. Anita Weston (New York: Oxford University Press, 1999), 89.
Online Book:
Bibliography:
Augustine. The Confessions of St. Augustine. Translated by Edward Bouverie Pusey. Waiheke Island, New Zealand: Floating Press, 1921. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/up/detail.action?docID=349865.
Footnote:
1. Augustine, The Confessions of St. Augustine, trans. by Edward Bouverie Pusey (Waiheke Island, New Zealand: Floating Press, 1921), 65, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/up/detail.action?docID=349865.
Reference List:
First Author's Last Name, First Author's First Name, and Second Author's First Name and Last Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.
Chapter: Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book, edited by Name of Editor, inclusive page numbers. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher. Format of ebook or URL.
Entire Book:Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher. Format of ebook or URL.
Note: When citing an ebook that does not have fixed page numbers, use a chapter number, section heading or another reference marker in the note.
The Entire Collection:
Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Edited by Name of Editor(s). Translated by Name of Translator(s). Place of Publication: Name of Publisher, Date of Publication.
Montaigne, Michel de. 1993. The Complete Essays. Translated and edited by M. A. Screech. London: Penguin Books.
A Specific Section:
Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Section." In Title of Book, edited by Name of Editor(s), translated by Name of Translator(s), inclusive page numbers. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.
Montaigne, Michel de. 1993. "On the Cannibals." In The Complete Essays, translated and edited by M. A. Screech, 228-241. London: Penguin Books.
Note: If the translator and the editor are the same person, the titles can be combined and listed in the same order as on the title page of the original.
Reference List:
Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. Preface (or Foreword or Introduction) to Title of Book, by Book's Author, inclusive page numbers. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.
Print Entry:
Name of Reference Book. Year of Publication. s.v. "Title of Article." Edition. Number of Volumes. Place of Publication: Publisher.
Electronic Entry:
Name of Reference Book. Year of Publication. s.v. "Title of Article". Publisher. Article published Month Day, Year of Publication [if no publication or revision date is available, provide an access date]. DOI or stable URL.
Signed Entry:
Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article." In Title of Reference Book. Publisher. Publication or Revision Date [if no publication or revision date is available, provide an access date]. DOI or stable URL [if electronic].
If No Reference List Is Used:
Print:
(West's Encyclopedia of American Law, 2005, s.v. "North Atlantic Treaty Organization," 2nd ed., 10 vols., Detroit: Thompson Gale)
Electronic:
(Encyclopedia of Global Religion, 2009, s.v. "Kenya," Sage, accessed July 17, 2012, http://libdb.fairfield.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=474348&site=ehost-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_658)
Signed:
(Roger Stalley, 2003, "Clonmacnois Monastery," in Grove Art Online, Oxford Art Online, Oxford University Press, last modified October 2, 2012, https://doi.org/10.1093/gao/9781884446054.article.T018242)
If A Reference List is Used:
Print:
(West's Encyclopedia of American Law 2005)
Electronic:
(Encyclopedia of Global Religion 2009)
Signed:
(Stalley 2003)
Reference List:
Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Edited by Editor's Name. Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.
Reference List:
Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Translated by Name of Translator(s). Place of Publication: Name of Publisher.
In-Text Citation:
(Freud 1999, 28)
