1. When citing articles from online databases (such as ATLA Religion Database or JSTOR), include the DOI (preferred) or the URL to assist your reader in connecting to the article online. Access dates are not necessary for articles from library databases. Access dates are only necessary if no date of publication for the source may be located.
2. Notes & Bibliography Style: For sources with more than three authors, list all authors in the bibliography; in the footnote, list only the first author’s name followed by the phrase et al. (Latin for “and others”)
3. All of the Author-Date Style In-Text Citations are formatted the same way: (Author's Last Name Date Published, Page Number Cited)
Bibliography:
Kilgallen, John J. “The Elder Son.” Expository Times 115, no. 6 (2004): 186-89. https://login.uportland.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.co m/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=1201293 5&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Footnote:
1. John J. Kilgallen, “The Elder Son,” Expository Times 115, no. 6 (2004): 187, https://login.uportland.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.co m/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=12012935 &site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Bibliography:
Booij, Thijs. “Psalm 141: A Prayer for Discipline and Protection.” Biblica 86, no. 1 (2005): 97-106. http://www.bsw.org/Biblica/Vol-86-2005/Psalm141-A-Prayer-For-Discipline-AndProtection/130/.
Footnote:
1. Thijs Booij, “Psalm 141: A Prayer for Discipline and Protection,” Biblica 86, no. 1 (2005): 100, http://www.bsw.org/Biblica/Vol-86- 2005/Psalm-141-A-Prayer-For-Discipline-AndProtection/130/.
Bibliography:
Fewell, Danna Nolan, and David M. Gunn. “Boaz, Pillar of Society: Measures of Worth in the Book of Ruth.” Journal for the Study of the Old Testament 45 (1993): 45-59.
Footnote:
1. Danna Nolan Fewell and David M. Gunn, “Boaz, Pillar of Society: Measures of Worth in the Book of Ruth,” Journal for the Study of the Old Testament 45 (1993): 46.
Reference List:
Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, no. issue number (Month or Season): page numbers. DOI or stable URL.
Reference List:
Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, no. issue number (Month or Season if included): page numbers. URL.
Reference List:
Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article." Title of Journal volume number, no. issue number: page numbers.
