Chicago Style (17th Edition) Citation Guide: How To Cite: Other Notes & Bibliography

Published Conference Proceedings

Bibliography:

Chang, Steve S., et al., editors. Proceedings of the Twenty-Fifth Annual Meeting of the Berkeley Linguistics Society, February 12-15, 1999: General Session and Parasession on Loan Word Phenomena. Berkeley, CA: Berkeley Linguistics Society, 2000.

Footnote:

1. Steve Chang et al., eds, Proceedings of the Twenty-Fifth Annual Meeting of the Berkeley Linguistics Society, February 12-15, 1999: General Session and Parasession on Loan Word Phenomena (Berkeley, CA: Berkeley Linguistics Society, 2000).

Oral Presentation at Conference

Bibliography:

Stein, Bob. “Reading and Writing in the Digital Era.” Paper presented at the Discovering Digital Dimensions, Computers and Writing Conference,  West Lafayette, IN, May 23 2003

Footnote:

1. Bob Stein, “Reading and Writing in the Digital Era.” (presentation, Discovering Digital Dimensions, Computers and Writing Conference, West Lafayette, IN, May 23, 2003).

Bibliography:

Liszt, Franz. Hamlet: Symphonic Poem No. 10 for Full Orchestra. New York: Edition Eulenburg, 1960.

Footnote:

1. Franz Liszt, Hamlet: Symphonic Poem No. 10 for Full Orchestra (New York: Edition Eulenburg, 1960).

Bibliography:

Athar, Sohaib (@ReallyVirtual). "Helicopter hovering above Abbottad at 1AM is a rare event." Twitter, January 4, 2013. URL.

Footnote:

1. Sohaib Athar (@ReallyVirtual), "Helicopter hovering above Abbottad at 1AM is a rare event," Twitter, January 4, 2013, URL.

Bibliography:

Richardson, Dionna D. "Purloined Subjects: Race, Gender, and the Legacies of Colonial Surveillance in the British Caribbean." PhD diss., University of Akron, 2019. URL.

Footnote:

1. Dionna D. Richardson, "Purloined Subjects: Race, Gender, and the Legacies of Colonial Surveillance in the British Caribbean" (PhD diss., University of Akron, 2019), 20, URL.

Bibliography:

Brussat, Frederic. “Beyond Ideas of Wrongdoing and Rightdoing.” Civility & Spirituality (blog). December 11, 2014. URL

Footnote:

1. Frederic Brussat, “Beyond Ideas of Wrongdoing and Rightdoing,” Civility & Spirituality (blog), December 11, 2014, URL

Bibliography:

Pew Research Center. "United States: Believe in God or a Higher Power in 2017, by Age Group." Chart. January 11, 2019. Statista.URL.

Footnote:

1. Pew Research Center, "United States: Believe in God or a Higher Power in 2017, by Age Group," chart, January 11, 2019, Statista, URL.

Bibliography:

Prestwich, Michael. Review of Chivalry in Medieval England by Nigel Saul. The American Historical Review 118, no. 1 (2013): 235-36. https://doi.org/10.1093/ahr/118.1.235.

Footnote:

1. Michael Prestwich, review of Chivalry in Medieval England by Nigel Saul, The American Historical Review 118, no. 1 (2013): 235, https://doi.org/10.1093/ahr/118.1.235.

Image from a Website

Bibliography:

Botticelli, Sandro. Madonna of the Eucharist. 1470. Oil on canvas. Accessed January 6, 2017. http://www.catholictradition.org/

Galleries/gallery2-22.jpg.

Footnote:

1. Sandro Botticelli, Madonna of the Eucharist, 1470, oil on canvas, accessed January 6, 2017, http://www.catholictradition.org/

Galleries/gallery2-22.jpg.

Image from a Book

When citing an image within a book, in your bibliography, cite the book in which you found the image.

In your footnote, cite information about the image as well as the book in which you located the image.

Bibliography:

Pearce, John. American Painting,1560-1913. New York: McGraw, 1964. 

Footnote:

1. Mary Cassatt. "Mother and Child," oil on canvas, 1889 (Wichita Art Museum, Wichita, KS), in American Painting,1560-1913 by John Pearce (New York: McGraw, 1964), slide 22. 

Bibliography:

Flax-Clark, Aidan. “Stonewall 50: The Sound of Memory.” Library Talks. June 23, 2019. Podcast, MP3 audio, 49:24. URL.

Footnote:

1. Aidan Flax-Clark, “Stonewall 50: The Sound of Memory," June 23, 2019 in Library Talks, podcast, MP3 audio, 25:22, URL.