Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Work Research Hour
What's In This Guide
Additional topic tabs, as necessitated by the subject area, are welcome.
How to Use This Guide
On each page of this guide you'll find web-based and print resources, plus tips on how to get the most out of them. Many resources and topics overlap, and when you see a resource on multiple pages that means it's a versatile title.
This Getting Started page offers resources for getting to know Social Work topics and concepts.
Need help? Ask a Librarian.
Search articles, journals, books, media, and more
Getting to Know Your Topic
Are you looking for information about the context or history of your topic? Try the resources on this page for background and general information.
Social Work Reference Center
This tool is designed for clinical professionals dedicated to improving patient quality of life. All evidence is rigorously evaluated and topics are updated as evidence changes. This resource includes care sheets, patient information, and images usable in all clinical settings - including hospitals, elder-care centers, and mental healthcare facilities.
Encyclopedia of Social Work Online Database
Contains articles which represent a thoroughly updated and expanded look at the entire field of social work. It covers all aspects of social work from practice/interventions, social environments, social conditions and challenges to social policy and history.
Go here for the DSM-5 and more! This collection covers diagnosis and differential diagnosis, case vignettes to bring abstract concepts to life, multidisciplinary treatment guidelines, the latest research – all within a single search and navigation interface that integrates journals and books.
Helps define your topic and then use the links on topic pages to discover more in-depth information in books and journals, find thousands of art images and connect your ideas using concept mapping.
Points of View Reference Center
Contains articles, reports and more that provide different viewpoints on controversial topics.
Free Evidence-Based Practice Resources
Helpful Simmons Resources