Academic Search UltimateThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering nearly all academic subjects, making it an ideal starting point for research in any field.
Academic Search Ultimate is a comprehensive database of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering nearly all academic disciplines. The collection includes both peer-reviewed and general interest publications, with content dating back to 1865. It offers extensive full-text access to academic literature across the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and more. This database serves as an excellent starting point for research projects in any subject area.
America: History & Life plus Full TextThis link opens in a new windowThe primary database for research on United States and Canadian history, offering comprehensive coverage from prehistoric times to the present.
America: History & Life provides abstracts and full text for articles, dissertations, and book reviews related to North American history and culture. The database includes content from 1964 forward, with English abstracts for foreign language articles. Coverage spans social, cultural, political, and economic history. This resource is essential for historical research, academic writing, and understanding North American historical developments.
Boston Globe 1980 - PresentThis link opens in a new windowA searchable archive of Boston Globe articles from 1980 to the present, providing comprehensive coverage of local, national, and international news.
Boston Globe 1980 - Present offers full-text access to Boston Globe content published since 1980. Coverage includes news articles, editorials, features, obituaries, and special sections. The archive is updated daily with current content. This resource is invaluable for research in contemporary history, journalism, and local affairs.
Boston Globe HistoricalThis link opens in a new windowA digital archive of Boston Globe content from 1872-1988, offering a comprehensive historical view of Boston and beyond.
The Boston Globe Historical collection provides digital reproductions of every Boston Globe issue from 1872 to 1988. Content includes news articles, editorials, advertisements, photographs, and other historical materials. The archive preserves the original page layouts in downloadable PDF format. This resource is essential for historical research, genealogy, and understanding Boston's past.
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of over 500 online reference books covering multiple academic disciplines.
Credo Reference combines hundreds of authoritative reference works from leading publishers. The platform features topic pages, concept mapping tools, and visual resources. Content is interlinked and regularly updated. This resource serves as an excellent starting point for research across academic disciplines.
Gale eBooksThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of electronic reference books spanning multiple academic disciplines.
Gale eBooks provides searchable access to thousands of reference works from leading publishers. Content covers arts, sciences, business, education, and more. The platform enables cross-book searching and features user-friendly navigation. This resource serves as a valuable starting point for research across disciplines.
Historical Abstracts plus Full TextThis link opens in a new windowThe definitive index for world history research from 1450 to the present, excluding North America.
Historical Abstracts plus Full Text covers the history of the world excluding the United States and Canada. Content includes academic journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1955. Coverage encompasses political, social, economic, and military history. This database is essential for historical research and historiography.
HistoryMakersThis link opens in a new windowThe largest African American video oral history collection, preserving and sharing the life stories of thousands of African Americans.
HistoryMakers contains over 9,000 hours of first-person video interviews with African Americans from various walks of life. Content includes interviews conducted across the United States and internationally. The collection preserves personal narratives and historical perspectives. This resource is invaluable for African American studies, oral history, and social history research.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowA major digital library providing access to academic journals, books, and primary sources across disciplines.
JSTOR offers comprehensive coverage of scholarly content in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The platform provides access to complete journal runs, including historical issues dating to the 1800s. Content emphasizes high-quality, peer-reviewed materials. This resource is essential for academic research across multiple disciplines.
New York Times (1851 - present)This link opens in a new windowComplete digital access to the New York Times, offering current and historical coverage.
New York Times (1851 - present) provides full access to NYTimes.com including current content and historical archives. The platform includes multimedia content and specialized educational resources. Group access includes the New York Times in Education portal. This resource supports research, teaching, and current awareness across disciplines.
Open Access Directory: ArchaeologyIdentify electronic journals on Archaeology that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full text, and accessible without cost.
Open Access Directory: HistoryIdentify electronic journals on History that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full text, and accessible without cost.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)This link opens in a new windowThe definitive historical dictionary of the English language, tracking word evolution and usage through time.
The Oxford English Dictionary provides comprehensive historical documentation of English words and their meanings. Entries include detailed etymologies, variant spellings, and usage examples throughout history. Content is regularly updated with new research and entries. This resource is fundamental for linguistic research and language study.
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowA leading platform for humanities and social sciences content from university presses and scholarly publishers.
Project MUSE provides access to high-quality academic content in humanities and social sciences. The collection includes full-text journals and ebooks from prestigious publishers. Coverage spans literature, history, political science, and cultural studies. This resource supports scholarly research across multiple humanities disciplines.
Scopus IndexThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive abstract and citation database covering research output across all fields of study.
Scopus Index tracks and analyzes global research across sciences, mathematics, and humanities. The database includes content from thousands of journals and publishers worldwide. Features include citation analysis and author metrics. This tool supports research evaluation and scholarly literature discovery.
TimesMachineIncludes scanned copies of over 150 years of New York Times journalism, as it originally appeared. Access to TimesMachine is included with your Simmons Group Pass account.
World History | SmithsonianOrganizes world history articles from the Smithsonian Magazine. Many of the articles in this collection provide useful background information on major events in world history.
Digital SchombergInformation and digital objects on global black experience, including exhibitions, books, articles, print, audio, and more.
National Museum of African American History & CultureThe museum's collection of historical artifacts, documents, photography and media, now numbers close to 37,000. Many of the objects have been digitized and the collection is fully searchable.
National Museum of American HistoryThe National Museum of American History collects artifacts of all kinds—from gowns to locomotives—to preserve for the American people an enduring record of their past. The Museum has more than 3 million artifacts in its collection. Information and photos of selected objects are available in the online collections database. The database is a work-in-progress and new items will be added regularly.
BlackPastReference source that includes primary documents for African and African American people in history.
World History MattersWorld History Matters is a portal to world history websites developed by the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.
